ENTREPRENEURIAL SERIES – Day 7

~Day 7 of the ENTREPRENEURIAL SERIES!!  PLEASE make sure you READ, COMMENT, TAKE NOTES, and SHOW SOME LOVE to the fabulous folks doing awesome things! ~ 
Be Inspired!!!~
Petula Wright, Stockbridge, Georgia – “Express Editing & Writing Services”
TWITTER: @Petula1968
LINKEDIN: Petula Wright
FACEBOOK: Petula.Wright
GOOGLE+PetulaWright
Tell the readers a little bit about yourself.
I’m a writer, editor and journalist with about 18 years experience as well as the blogger behind “It’s a woman’s world,” which I’ve been writing for about five years. I’ve written for CampusTalkBlog.com as the first-time college mom for Parents’ Perspective as well as contributing to other sites. When I’m not writing (or reading, which I love!), I’m being mommy to 5-year-old Anna, 7-year-old Amareah and Andre, who’s 8 as well as mom to almost 21-year-old Amber. And, in a few months, I’ll be a grandmother to a baby girl.
Explain what type of business you operate?
My “official” business is Express Editing & Writing Services. I began my career as a newspaper journalist then began working as an editor and writer for magazines. That transitioned into freelance magazine article writing and I began freelancing while still working at a publication full time. Eventually, I became a full-time contractor and freelancer who wrote magazine articles, consulted with editorial teams and edit magazine articles, edit manuscripts, served as a ghostwriter for professionals and authors as well as a myriad of other editorial duties.
Everything I do falls under that business, but I consider my blog as my main venture now since most things are done as the blogger from “It’s a woman’s world!” J

How long have you been in business?
I’ve been in the industry 18 years, but the business was established 16 years ago.
How did you get the name for your business?
The only thing I remember about coming up with a name was trying to express exactly what I do. I guess it didn’t work to well because people still ask me if I write resumes, which actually don’t have to be done by a writer.
With my blog, I had one that was really narrow in focus and I wanted one that expressed who I am and what I like to talk about as well as include the laziness of covering topics I love without being so newsy and journalistic. You know, more creative.
What motivated you to start this type of business?
At the time, I didn’t make much money at the magazine I was working for and it was a very high-stress environment. I knew I could still do what I love without having the stress of that particular work environment. I love the written word and doing this as a business seems natural.
What are your top 5 must have business tools/aids?
As long as I have my laptop with Internet connection and my cell phone then all is right with the world. Seriously, some other things I find invaluable are the 4-in-1 printer (printer, scanner, copier, fax) and scale for postage.
Where do you see your business in 5 years?
This is a great question and something I’ve considered a lot. Although I continue to offer editorial services and maintain my blog, I really want to evolve into an author. Blogger and author. I envision continuing editorial consultations, but my blog will go from mommy blog to author’s blog (or maybe the mommy author blog!). There are several book projects in the works and balancing life and work to complete them is a top goal.
What inspires you?
Things I love and enjoy inspire me. My children… nature: sun, clouds, stars, breeze…
Emotions often inspire my creative works…
Who is your business icon or who’s business ethic do you admire?
Business ethic? That’s a tough one. I actually don’t know anyone personally whose business ethic I admire, but I truly respect the empires, so to speak, that different celebrities have built. For instance, Oprah Winfrey (I remember watching her as a newscaster in the 80s), Mary Kate & Ashley (we all know how they started), Will and Jada, Raven Symone, … Those people who have worked in the entertainment industry, but have built businesses that are much bigger than what they started out as. (Regina: YES, I LOVE Raven Symone’s work ethic! Great business mind to be so young!)
If you were standing in front of a room full of hopeful, promising, entrepreneurs what would you say to them?
Think about this: What do you have a passion for? Something that moves you and that you’re skilled at… Something that you would do for free. If you don’t have that feeling about your current entrepreneurial idea then, if I were you, I would reconsider. We all have gifts that we’re meant to share with the world – the people around us – when we operate within those gifts and concentrate on our purpose everything we want will ultimately (and eventually!) result in success.
Is there anything you would like to add?
Keep in mind that even if you’re doing something you love it’s going to take hard work. Envision yourself rock climbing – using belays and everything – that’s how much strength you’ll need to make your thing a success.

ABSOLUTELY!!!!!
Thanks, Petula!


Smooches,
Regina

Please visit my other spots:
http://reginathinks.wordpress.com/
http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mema
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:07:34

    Ms. Wright's perspective is spot on. Maybe you should host an editorial and writing seminar featuring Ms. Wright, Selena, Zack and any other editorialist you know. They could teach budding writers a lot, all from different perspectives but leading to the same point – success with the written word. I love it.

  2. Petula Wright
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 21:05:17

    This looks fabulous, Regina, thanks!I really appreciate you posting this and showing love. You rock!Love mema's comment. (Thanks, mema!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

