ENTREPRENEURIAL SERIES – Day 10

~Day 10 of the ENTREPRENEURIAL SERIES!!  PLEASE make sure you READ, COMMENT, TAKE NOTES, and SHOW SOME LOVE to the fabulous folks doing awesome things! ~ 
Be Inspired!!!~
Davida Green-Norris writing as Dicey Grenor, Houston, Texas – Published Author
TWITTER: @DiceyGrenor
Tell the readers a little bit about yourself.
I have a twenty-two-month-old son and a four-year-old daughter. I have been married for five years to a man I met my last year of law school. I want what most parents do, to provide a happy, safe environment for my children, and be a good example for them to follow. I love reading, writing, and watching movies.
Explain what type of business you operate?
My husband and I have a law practice: Norris & Norris LLP (http://norrislawyers.com). He primarily focuses on intellectual property (patents, copyrights, trademarks), while I primarily draft, review, and negotiate contracts. I also do business formations and parole board revocation hearings a few times a month. Together, we also operate Dicey Grenor Books (http://diceygrenorbooks.com), which means we sell books that I’ve written. (Regina: LOL! Way to maximize exposure!)
How long have you been in business?
We’ve had our law partnership since 2007. We’ve been selling my books for eight months.
How did you get the name for your business?
Naming our law practice was easy. We just used our last name. Naming our book business required a little more thought, but once I came up with my pen, there was no other name that would fit. “Dicey” alerts folks to the type of books I write: unpredictable, risky. (Regina: Yes! They are VERY Risque!!)
What motivated you to start this type of business?
My husband and I are entrepreneurs at heart, I believe. Perhaps we inherited that attitude from our parents since both sets are successful in real estate and my husband’s family has owned and operated a successful soul food restaurant in Chicago for many years. We learned early on that running a business takes dedication, passion, and skills. The first two came easy. The latter we acquired over the years and applied without hesitation.
What are your top 5 must have business tools/aids?
1. Laptop 2. Internet/Email account 3. Cell phone 4. Business Cards 5. Reliable transportation
Where do you see your business in 5 years?
With residual income that requires us to work less than fifteen to twenty hours a day. Hopefully.
What inspires you?
My children’s futures.
Who is your business icon or who’s business ethic do you admire?
I like rags to riches stories and admire anyone who has overcome severe obstacles to become successful in his or her respective career. There are many who fit this description. However, as a wife, mother, attorney, and author, I’m more interested in watching and learning from someone who strikes a balance with several roles and appears successful in each. That’s harder to find. Jada Pinkett Smith seems to have found a way to make it work. I admire that. (Regina: Yes, Ma’am, she is a hard working woman!)
If you were standing in front of a room full of hopeful, promising, entrepreneurs what would you say to them?
You can work anywhere and make money to pay bills. So if all you want is to make money, get a job. If you’re going to start a business, make sure it’s doing something you LOVE to do. You’ll continue to do it. You’ll continue to improve. And eventually the money will come. In the end, you will be much more fulfilled.
Is there anything you would like to add?
Thank you so much for thinking of me. I enjoyed doing this interview and wish much success to any of your readers interested in starting their own business. (Regina: Aww, aren’t you sweet! I enjoyed having you!)

Mrs. Davida Green-Norris AND Her Alter-Ego Dicey Grenor Ladies & Gentlemen!!


Smooches,
Regina

Please visit my other spots:
http://reginathinks.wordpress.com/
http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mema
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 09:35:38

    A family business, that's awesome. I also love the fact that they both share the same profession; they will always have something to talk about. Great interview, very informative. It's good to have a lawyer or two in your network. Too many businesses fail because they don't know the laws pertaining to their business income.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

