ENTREPRENEURIAL SERIES – Day 12

Day 12 of the ENTREPRENEURIAL SERIES!!  PLEASE make sure you READ, COMMENT, TAKE NOTES, and SHOW SOME LOVE to the fabulous folks doing awesome things! ~ 
Be Inspired!!!~

Chari Twitty-Hawkins – Houston, TX. – ChariTs Inspirational Creations  
Tell the readers a little bit about yourself
I am a first and foremost a blessed woman of God.  I am blessed to be a stay at home mom of twins with a passion for inspiring others!  I love learning, the arts, rocking my natural hair, being green, being a wife and so much more!
Explain what type of business you operate?  I create handmade inspirational jewelry! Religious jewelry, natural hair earrings, cause awareness, going green, motherhood, the arts, sorority jewelry…anything that promotes positivity, I can make it for you! You can find my inspirational creations at www.cicinspireme.com.
How long have you been in business? Almost 2 years right after I had my babies.
How did you get the name for your business? I was raised volunteering and helping others in my younger years and have a heart for charity. I took the word charity and spelled it with my nickname (Chari) and added my then last initial (T) to the end. Then I added Inspirational Creations to become ChariT’s Inspirational Creations because my jewelry is made to inspire! (Regina: VERY Creative!)
What motivated you to start this type of business?
After the birth of my twins, I was laid off which some would consider a bad thing. I consider it a blessing in disguise. During those first CRAZY months of taking care of my twins I said God I need to do something for me. I asked Him Lord what do you want me to do? Then one day I was on Etsy looking at all of the unique handmade things and thought hmm I could make my own jewelry. But what kind? Then it came to me, I love to inspire people so why not make jewelry with an inspirational theme? And the idea was born!
What are your top 5 must have business tools/aids? A great support system! I have learned the importance of this as a business owner. I am currently a member of the National Association of Christian Women Entrepreneurs and ibloom. Also a great marketing strategy, determination, a willingness to learn ALWAYS, and great customer service! (Regina: ALL Awesome tools, You can do nothing without support, determination, and good customer service!!)
Where do you see your business in 5 years? I see my business branching out into motivational speaking and performing. I am a lover of poetry, dance, theatre, and music and plan to get back into those areas of my life to inspire others!
Okay, so speaking of inspiration, what inspires you?
God inspires me, living my purpose, and seeing others live their passion and purpose in life thus giving others permission to do the same!
Who is your business icon or who’s business ethic do you admire?
My business icon is Oprah Winfrey. She has a superb team, helps others, and has her hands in so many business ventures. I love it!
If you were standing in front of a room full of hopeful, promising, entrepreneurs what would you say to them?
I would tell them to live their passion and purpose! To never give up, always be willing to learn, have a great support system personally and professionally and a great mentor too! God is behind them so there is nothing they can’t do!
FABULOUS!! I am definitely a fan of your work! You are indeed very inspiring!

Smooches,
Regina

Please visit my other spots:
http://reginathinks.wordpress.com/
http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mema
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 11:29:22

    This interview was interesting and inspiring. I live the jewelry. Do you make anything in clip ons?Thanks Regina for building up my awareness of small businesses available to me, just by networking with you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

