Halloween… Yes or No?

Should Christians celebrate Halloween? If you do not celebrate Halloween is it OK to have another celebration on the same night but call it something else? For example on October 31st some churches have a Hallelujah Night, or a Harvest celebration. Does changing the name of your celebration change the impact of Halloween?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 05:44:00

    My opinion is that it is okay to celebrate Halloween. As a child I was allowed to go trick-or-treating but my parents had strict rules about what I could dress up as (no devil or witch costumes for example). And, I’m not sure about having a different celebration on the same day- to me it seems like you’re really just celebrating Halloween and calling it something else. (Kind of like the “pajama parties” and “caring and sharing parties” we used to have at work- we all knew what we were really celebrating)Anyways, I’ve been quite long winded. I found an article online that kind of sums up the opinion I agree with. http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2000/october2/29.79.html

  2. lady-t
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 12:21:00

    Ok Halloween…. yes or no? I’m going to half to say no. In my house we were raised not to believe in Halloween for obvious reasons. But being young I do understand why you would went to call it something else, so you don’t feel left out but that doesn’t make it right. “If you’re going to walk then walk don’t try to side step.”

  3. Pam
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 18:32:00

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting! I love meeting new bloggers! My opinion is that Halloween is okay as long as their are some rules….I don’t let my kids do the scarey/goulish/etc costumes, but the princesses, etc are okay with me. Funny you ask this…I am having a party for family and there are mixed feelings about it. I am really trying to convey that this can be a fun time for Christians as well. I actually have a “flyer” I made up and a saying we are going to attach to the pumpkins the kids are doing to make at the party. It basically is about how we can share the light of Jesus during this time. Anyway, sorry to go on and on…

  4. Anonymous
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 03:08:00

    No my children had a hard time with it in the early years, but now their over it. Often their teachers want to talk to me about my youngest he sees things so black and white and to him it is a devil day. I just tell the teacher that he’l be over it soon.

  5. Regina
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 22:26:00

    why does rhe teacher want to talk to you? Your children have a right to their own opinions. If you don’t have a problem with it then why should they?Children often see things in very direct terms, I think adults are more prone to compromise.

Leave a Reply

