Happy Veteran’s Day…

In a perfect world there would be no need for such a day, but in our world there is. This is a day to honor all those who have fought, are presently fighting, or will one day in the future fight for Freedoms, Justice, Equality, Civil, and Human rights in our country and in other countries. Happy Veteran’s Day to all Former, Present, and Future Military Personnel because what you do is extraordinary!

Veteran’s Day is such a mixture of emotions for me because my Father fought in the Vietnam war when I was a baby. Though my dad came home from that war with his life, all his limbs intact, and his body virtually unscathed he lost something over there. He was not the same emotionally and mentally upon his return. He was still a loving father, and still functioned normally on a daily basis but something deep inside of him was changed…damaged. Something that could not be fixed. I’ve often wondered over the years exactly what it was during that war that caused a shift in my dad. Was it the long nights of sitting in the makeshift morgue watching your recently dead friends still move and jerk as their bodies slowly adjusted to being dead? Was it the need to drink in order to numb the pain of senseless death? Or was it actually knowing that you would never be the same? These things I will never in this lifetime get to ask my dad, because my dad went home to be with the Lord on June 6, 1999. Prior to his death I was not at a place where I was ready to ask these questions and I don’t think he was at a place where he was ready to answer them.
I am proud of my dad for what he was able to accomplish in this lifetime (mainly my sister & I); I am sad for what he was not able to accomplish (seeing his grandchildren grow & flourish, seeing his great-grandchild); but mostly I am glad that my dad is no longer in pain, I am glad that he is now able to rest.
There is much I would like to tell my dad; mainly HAPPY VETERAN’S DAY DAD! I TRULY LOVE YOU!
Happy Veteran’s Day to all!
Blessings
9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leeann
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 19:48:00

    What an amazing tribute!

  2. Melanie
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 20:12:00

    What a great tribute to your dad. Beautiful post.

  3. Andrea
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 20:41:00

    That was very sweet and touching. You must be so proud of him.

  4. Pam
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 20:45:00

    How proud of him you must be! What a wonderful tribute and post. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Shelia
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 22:27:00

    Great post Regina! You’ve got some kind of guardian angel. God’s blessings.

  6. Anonymous
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 13:07:00

    That was beautiful, and I can’t believe that I am sitting here crying.Today is November 13th, and on this day 41 years ago, your father gave me the greatest gift anyone could ever have, YOU! Happy Birthday baby.I know that if Sam were still here he would say “Hey baby, Happy birthday!” He would be so in love with Danayja, because she looks so much like you did at that age.Life isn’t always fair; but love is always true. I’m talking real love. The kind that gives expecting nothing in return.Know that I love you and always will, and that Sam loved you and always will throughout the eons of eternity.There is only one person who loves you more than we do and that is God!HAPPY BIRTHDAY BABY. Thank you for adding meaning to my life.Mema.

  7. Pastor Lisa
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 15:26:00

    That was beautiful.

  8. Talk..to..Grams
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 16:31:00

    Happy Birthday!! You are one year older then my Karen!! This was a loving tribute to your Dad and thanks for sharing it with us!! Love and Hugs, Grams

  9. ZAM
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 21:08:00

    WHat a touching post! Am sure your dad is looking down from heavens and smiling at you when you wrote this.

Leave a Reply

