Hello World!

I am feeling extra special today because I have started on my 2008 goals and it feels good. I have set aside my first $100.00 to go into my new bank account, I have started going through the various writings that I have done to start organizing what should go in my book, I am taking my various pills (water pills, calcium pills, vitamins), I am chug-a-lugging water, and I have a new outlook on life with a clear direction.
And…
I have a new HAIRDO!

One of my goals for 2008 is to get my hair twisted. Now you may ask why the big deal?? Well, I have been contemplating this style for about 2 years now, but two major factors have hindered me.

  1. I detest weave, and with my own hair being about shoulder length I feel that weave is a step beneath me (No offense to all the weave wearers out there, just my personal issue!)
  2. I love, Love, Love to cut my hair short! I haven’t gotten a short cut in about a year & half, but I have finished going through withdrawal, I am out of rehab and ready to be a medium length hair person for the time being!
So this has been my hang up for the past couple of years. So anyway, I decided on New Years to go on and get it done, but then I wavered and changed my mind, and then I changed it back. So finally last night I let my DIL twist my hair! Let me just say that in that 4 hour time span she almost got slapped a couple of times, and I did a lot of speaking in tongues but I made it through!
So Below I have posted my before and after pictures. Can I just say that Mary J Blige’s song “Just Fine” has been in my head ALL DAY! Hummm, Go figure!!
Well anyway here is the before pictures…

And now here are the after pictures…

And of course my personal ABSOLUTE FAVORITE PICTURE…


By the way if you have never heard “Just Fine” by Ms. Mary then click on this link…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ETfNxDVlpQ

Enjoy!

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 15:25:00

    Great job on the goals so far. I am very glad to know that you are taking your pills- you definitely need to do that.I LOVE the new hair! And that last picture is a classic!!

  2. Regina
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 15:31:00

    @ Melanie,Yea, you are right about those pills, especially the calcium since I have that Lactose issue and don’t drink much milk!Thanks on the hair I LOVE IT!

  3. Pam
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 17:52:00

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the new hair. You look fabulous and the last picture is a great one! Way to go on the goals. You have hit 2008 hard and going right for your goals! You rock! Keep up the good work and thanks for keeping us posted!

  4. Chocl8t
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 19:34:00

    YOU LOOK MARVAAALOUS!!! :)I love the twist! Your DIL did a great job!

  5. Regina
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 19:46:00

    @Pam,Yea, It’s amazing what a new hairstyle can do for your outlook!I have to pace myself with these goals!@Chocl8t,Look out now!! I think I’m too sexy for my hair (I used to love that song, don’t tell anyone!). Britt did any awesome job, and I have to give that lady her props!

  6. Talk..to..Grams
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 20:22:00

    You look so nice!! I love it!! and keep up the good work on your goals! Wow! love and hugs Grams

  7. Jen of A2eatwrite
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 21:12:00

    It looks fabulous! Congrats!

  8. Andrea
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 21:45:00

    You are just cruising through your goals. WAY TO GO!! I usually tend to procrastinate so much and then it never gets done…that’s why I don’t do new year’s resolutions!!You look FABULOUS with your new hair-do, Regina. Absolutely AMAZING!! I love it!! And I’m glad you do too!

  9. MsMarvalus
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 22:02:00

    I LOVE IT!!! You look beautiful!

  10. Jenn
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 07:23:00

    I LOVE the new hair.And keep up the good work for the new year. I know how good that feels.

  11. HotSauce!!
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 08:07:00

    I love twist I use to do them all the time before i decided that i hate doing my hair and i’d rather just dread it…i’m lazy as hell Them babies at the side are too damn cute. I’m going to bite one of them

  12. jjbrock
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 08:13:00

    Regina, the hair looks good on you.

  13. Marcus Langford Is The Name
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 11:29:00

    While I do not really believe in resolutions, I do find enjoyment in hearing of those that have made resolutions and sticking by them.Kudos to you sis!May 2008 bring you may blessings.Marcus LANGFORD

  14. coloredgirlswhohaveconsidered
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 13:28:00

    AMEN!!!AMEN!!!SO BE IT!!!Feels so good, when you’re doing all the things that you want to doGet the best out of life, treat yourself to something newKeep your head up highSo I like what I see when I’m looking at meWhen I’m walking past the mirrorDon’t stress through the night, at a time in my lifeAin’t worried about if you feel itGot my head on straight, I got my vibe rightI aint gonna let you kill itYou see I wouldn’t change my life, my life’s just…..Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, oooohFine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh

  15. Shana
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 13:29:00

    Regina it look FABULOUS!!! I think it makes you look younger! I bet it does hurt to have it twisted. My mom kills me when she just does my hear in a French braid. :o)

  16. Leeann
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 21:59:00

    You look amazing! And so freaking young. Are you sure your granddaughter is yours? lol

  17. zamejias
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 07:04:00

    I must agree with LeAnn that you look young!COngratulate on that new hair do. You look good with it.

  18. IVENTBYBLOGGING
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 10:21:00

    U LOOK FABU, BOO! She did an EXCELLENT JOB on your hair! Congrats on starting your goals!

  19. Dionna
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 14:25:00

    How fun!

  20. Pastor Lisa
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 18:27:00

    Lovin’ it!

  21. Mary@notbefore7
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 19:59:00

    Looking great for 2008!

  22. Invisible Woman
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 06:09:00

    I know I’m on the late train but your hair looks great—hope you meet all your goals this year!

  23. Rosemarie
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 22:57:00

    You linked to this post and I want comment here too. Go ahead stop me! 🙂 I’m feelin’ crazy this hour. First, I think you have some attainable goals, which helps. Amen! You’re in the right direction. Second, the speakin’ in tongues comment had me crackin’ up. There you go charging those angels to work. Girl, He knows it’s for your hair. He loves you that much! :DLastly, you are all beautified with your twisted locks. You sexy thang!

Leave a Reply

