HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

Today is my mother’s birthday! She is the youthful age of 59 today! If Jesus is the foundation of my family than my mom is the cornerstone. She is always available to support, instruct, and assist us in almost every capacity of our lives. My mother not only raised my sister and I by herself but she helped raise a number of our cousins.
My mother is called “Mema” a name she was given by my son when he was a baby. “Mema” is still assisting others with her pearls of wisdom and has a multitude of “other” children! When I was growing up my mother always had room for someone in need. We had a revolving door on our house for wayward people! They moved in and got help, got the word of God, got nurtured, got guidance, got built up and then they moved on with their lives. This has not changed! she still has that same revolving door policy, and people still come for her wisdom. She has made me the Strong, Black, Spirit-Filled Woman that I am today! She has taught me what a true Proverbs 31 woman is!

She has traveled from New York to California, been to Canada, Africa and China spreading the love of God! She is an Elder in our church and is currently back in school working towards her Masters of Divinity. She is a constant source of inspiration and motivation!

Mom, We Love and Appreciate You! Happy Birthday!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jjbrock
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 17:29:00

    Happy Birthday to your mother Regina. I hope she have many more. Enjoy why you can because we never know when. I lost my MOM in 2004 man that was a shock. She was the rock that held the family together. Your MOM looks so happy.

  2. Pam
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 18:14:00

    Happy birthday to your mom! What a lovely tribute!

  3. Shelia
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 20:13:00

    Happy birthday to your mom Regina. Isn’t it a blessing to have such a representative of God in your home? I consistently let my mother know how grateful I am for her bringing us to Christ. Of all of mother’s good, bad and indifferent, her love of the Lord has never wavered in the lifetime that I have known her. Her Love of God has been, is and will always be first. I admire her stalwart faith. So I know how blessed you are. Take Care!~~Shelia

  4. Andrea
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 20:47:00

    Wow — what a young mom you have. Happy Birthday wishes to her!!

  5. Sharon
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 20:51:00

    Way to go MEMA!A woman after my own heart. I would love to go back to school to do what she is doing too.Happy Birthday to your MOM.What a cool sister in Christ to have!

  6. Leeann
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 21:58:00

    Well…that explains why you are so fabulous! Look at your role model!

  7. zamejias
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 07:07:00

    Happy Birthday to your mother. I understand the LOVE and RESPECT you have for her. I feel the same way for my mother, she’s actually our strength.

  8. IVENTBYBLOGGING
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 10:19:00

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MEMA!awesome! the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, Regina 🙂

  9. MrsGrapevine
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 13:01:00

    My mom was very similar she raised me and helped raise kids of her friends that were going through hard times. You are blessed to still have your mom for support, cherish every moment…Happy Birthday Regina’s Mom!!!

  10. Marcus LANGFORD
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 23:14:00

    59 years old still going strong. That’s what’s up! It is always good to see my older sisters still moving ahead in life. My dad just turned 53 on the 5th and he is still making big things happen.Kudos to your mom sis.Marcus LANGFORD

  11. Jenn
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 11:07:00

    What a nice post !I hope she had a wonderful birthday.

  12. Melanie
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 21:35:00

    Tell your mom I said Happy Birthday! She is a wonderful woman!

  13. Mema
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 19:11:00

    Thanks Regina for the kudos!Believe it or not, I wouldn’t have made it without you and your sister; during the hard times, you both gave me a reason to keep going.Keep going we must, because there are things to conguer and people to bless; so we keep going; until Jesus comes back or God calls us home.To all of Regina’s blogging friends, “Thank You” for your birthday wishes. To everyone – no mother wakes up in the morning and decides I am going to be a bad mother. People do what they know how to do, and they give what they have to give. If your mother wasn’t able to give you what you needed, love your mother for who she is (or was) (your mother) and not for what she has or hasn’t done. She did what she knew to do, be it good, bad or indifferent.My advice to anyone who has mother issues is this: No matter what she has done wrong, she has given you the most precious gift that anyone could ever give. She gave you life. With life comes endless possiblities from God, so live your life to it’s fullest.God Bless!

Leave a Reply

