Old School Friday #2

Here we are again Old School Friday! Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my classic R&B I had to sign up to join. If you want to join in the Old School Fun then go HERE for the guidelines.

So here is my contribution to Old School Friday – Taste Of Honey!!

The group formed in LA and originally consisted of Janice Marie Johnson (vocals, bass), Hazel Payne (vocals, guitar), Perry Kibble (keyboards) and Donald Johnson (drums).

Their first single, “Boogie Oggie, Oggie“, from their debut album A Taste of Honey, tapped into the popular disco style and spent three weeks at number one (#1) on the Hot 100 in 1978. The group was awarded a platinum record for this single and album and went on the win the Grammy Award for Best New Artist. Their subsequent disco releases, such as “Do It Good” (#79 in 1979) from Another Taste and “Rescue Me” (1980) failed to attract attention, and by 1980 the group had reduced to a duo consisting of Johnson and Payne.

When recording their cover version of the Kyu Sakamoto song“Sukiyaki”” (from their third album – Twice As Sweet, released in 1980) they resisted suggestions to turn it into a dance tune, and as a soft and simple ballad it brought them the second and final major hit of their careers in 1981, when it reached number one (#1) on the Billboard R&B and Adult Contemporary charts and number three (#3) on Hot 100. The group were awarded a gold record for this single.
Janice Marie Johnson is the older sister of Tony, Toni, Tone singer Raphael Saadiq


Peace & Love!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassandra
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 08:18:00

    Great pick, Regina!!

  2. Ana
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 08:31:00

    I’m loving this meme! I saw it on Rosemarie’s blog too. Watcha learn! I didn’t know Ms Johnson was related to one of the singers in Tony, Toni, Tone. Love the pix.Maybe one of these days I’ll join in the fun.

  3. Invisible Woman
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 08:52:00

    Wow, I know the Tonys from Oakland and never even knew that…wow.They do have a VERY large family tho.

  4. MrsGrapevine
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 12:57:00

    These songs just make you want to dance, I guess that’s the point, get up and boogie. This song is timeless…

  5. Sharon Brumfield
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 14:04:00

    I know that one!

  6. Shelia
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 15:57:00

    Boogie Oggie Oggie and Sukiyaki are the only two songs that I remember from this group. But Boogie Oggie Oggie was good enough to last them quite awhile. That song was HUGE!

  7. thechocl8tdiaries
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 16:06:00

    I have to echo everyone here about the Raphael Sadiq connection. WOW! You learn something new everyday. Great song choice! 🙂

  8. freetofly
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 18:14:00

    Whoa! I had forgotten them! I loved those songs too! Lots of fun! Many, many moons ago! :)This is a fun me-me! Tell me I’m gonna come over here and see some Otis Redding, Marvin Gaye, ‘Retha Franklin…Happy Leap Year Day, Regina! :)Maria

  9. MsMarvalus
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 19:36:00

    Awesome, awesome, awesome!I’m up getting my groove ON!

  10. Pastor Lisa
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 23:32:00

    You keep taking me back. My dad had their album and I remember staring at it and thinking they were pretty cool. I had never seen a woman bass player before.Get down…boogie oggie oggie..get down…

  11. Torrance Stephens bka All-Mi-T
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 01:24:00

    she is simply adorable….how have u been stranger, u dont stop by any more. have a great weekend

  12. Shelia
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 03:06:00

    Regina,I received my gift bag today and was so pleased. You put together a really nice bag! I am so glad that I entered. Some of the gift bags at conferences that I go to aren’t anywhere near this nice and packed with items that you want to have. Good job.Thanks a million, have a great weekend! 😀

  13. Rosemarie
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 14:00:00

    Sorry I missed this week’s meme. Good pick! I grooved until the end. The stage and audience resembles an awards show.

  14. Chelle
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 22:55:00

    I thought they were a ‘one hit’ wonder. I only knew of Boogie,Oggie, Oggie…I caught them on PBS and dontcha’ know they still look good.

  15. aj
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 00:15:00

    Girl I am LOVING OSF! I’ve not heard that song in YEARS. Good pick.

Leave a Reply

