Old School Friday #6

You Know What It Is!!!!
It is…FRIDAY!! Which is my favorite day of the week because I get to post my “Old School Friday” Picks! In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 2000, hopefully before the 90’s, maybe some from before the 80’s, etc. If you post something from the 70’s – 60’s or before you are REALLY Old School!
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my classic R&B I had to sign up to join. If you want to join in the Old School Fun then go HERE for the guidelines.
Also check out the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageChatting Over Cocktails

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraLisa C

Chocl8t Kreative Talk

MarvalusOne LaShonda

aj Invisible Woman

Rosemarie sHaE-sHaE

I Love Old School Friday so much that I have decided to supply three selections. Last week the door was opened to classic “Juke Joints” so let’s continue on with that theme! Two are old, old, old school blues juke joint hits. I don’t like one of the videos but it was the only one I could find for “Hole In The Wall”. The last is from the early 80’s, Anyway here they are:

Tyrone Davis – Turning Point

Well, there you have it!!! Happy Friday!
Peace & Love!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassandra
    Mar 27, 2008 @ 22:09:00

    I love Fridays too!!As always great picks.

  2. ShAé - ShAé
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 06:36:00

    Oooh “you are my starship come take me out toniiiight” I’m telling you I could do this all day. All this good music! LOL Visit My OSF Post!

  3. Torrance Stephens bka All-Mi-T
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 07:44:00

    that norman connors is the bomb, and u have been added to my blog roll, welcome

  4. MrsGrapevine
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 10:38:00

    I have my posts up. I’m excited this week, because it took me back.Now you know my favorite song on here is the Hole In The Wall by Mel Waiters. My mom had this place she would go to in South Dallas called the Aranda’s and when I say those people can jam – live music, I kid not. Chicken wings in smoke filled room, with brown liquor, and sometimes you had to BOB (bring your own bag or Bottle) Man I miss my mama so much, we use to have fun.Starship is the jam. “Don’t be late”…”Don’t you come too soon.” Talk about subliminal message.

  5. Marcus LANGFORD
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 12:04:00

    i am not too sure about the other two tunes, but ‘starship’ is a great song.Marcus LANGFORD

  6. Rosemarie
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 12:05:00

    I apologize; I don’t know any of your picks this week. Still, I enjoyed the music. Thanks for dusting off your tapes and sharing!

  7. Quick
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 12:51:00

    “To the hole in the wall!” I love that song. I’m over here bouncing in my seat…this is a great throwback. Reminds me of being home in the South during summer time-

  8. MrsGrapevine
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 13:28:00

    *BYOB

  9. Lisa C
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 15:24:00

    Love it!!! You Are My Starship was a favorite of mine. Thanks for the sweet memories.See you next week~

  10. MsMarvalus
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 21:17:00

    Guuurrllll…that “You Are My Starship” makes me wanna do some things that I probably should not do…whew!!!

  11. thechocl8tdiaries
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 21:27:00

    I haven’t heard Turning Point but I remember Hole in The Wall, and You Are My Starship. Lked them all!!

  12. Villager
    Mar 29, 2008 @ 02:06:00

    Happy OSF! Great choices! Your Are My Starship is the one that brings backs the best memories for me….I focused on Oscar Brown, Jr. for my OSF meme this week.peace, Villager

  13. aj
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 10:47:00

    Great picks! I look forward to OSF’s.

  14. Michael Davis-Dallas Progress
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 18:21:00

    OK, Starship is an all-time classics. I used to play that one off of Pop’s old vinyl back in the day.

Leave a Reply

