What Do You Think??

I had an interesting conversation yesterday with a friend and the topic was Pastors who have people in their employment that lie or do other things that are ungodly, but yet the Pastors do nothing!
There is no doubt that the Pastor is a man of God, full of the word and compassion for the people. However people employed by him are backbiting, lying, misrepresenting Him, the Church and God. people are smiling in your face, and saying praise the Lord all day but as soon as you turn your back, their tongues start wagging!
The Pastor knows to some degree what his people are doing but they are still employed by the church and in positions of authority.

Now, I say that the Pastor is ultimately responsible for the people that he employs and their behaviors and attitudes “WHILE AT WORK”! I understand that at home, on their own time what they do is their business but if you work in the church especially in a PAID position you should be held to a certain standard. I also feel that it is a SIN and a SHAME that nothing is done and these people are allowed to run things the way that they do. I feel that ultimately the PASTOR is responsible for the image that these people portray to others who enter the church since as the sheperd he is “supposed” to be the head of that house.

Jeremiah 10:21 (Amplified Bible) – For the shepherds [of the people] have become like brutes, irrational and stupid, and have not sought the Lord or inquired of Him or required Him [by necessity and by right of His word]. Therefore they have not dealt prudently and have not prospered, and all their flocks are scattered.

So what do you think?? Leave a comment and share you 2 cents!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mema
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 12:24:00

    I can truly understand why there are no comments for this blog entry. This is a real hot button. It is the Christian that gives Christianity a bad name.I can’t speak to the issues of Pastors who know that something is wrong up in the camp, but refuse to deal with it because; they are not the sin police; after all that is the Holy Spirit’s job; to convict hearts of sin.However I will say this, in Joshua 7, God allows his chosen people to face great defeat against their enemies because of sin in the camp. The situation was not turned around until the leader Joshua, went before the Lord to find out what was wrong. God helped him to identify who caused the sin, and God told him to expose the sin; and God exacted judgement.What am I saying? God says to know that something is wrong and do nothing or allow it anyway, is sin. God will judge all sin; mine, yours and that of the Pastors.So what do you do in the interim, while waiting on the Lord to straighten out the mess? Ask God to send you to a Pastor that you can follow. That one won’t be perfect either, but maybe that one will make more of an effort to try to get it right.As for the Pastor who is not heading his house, pray for him and give him a copy of “Left Behind” the movie. Oops , I already did that. lol lol lol. I crack me up. No, but seriously, pray for him or her, but take your eyes off of them and keep your eyes on Jesus; because people will fail you, but the Lord never will.

  2. Regina
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 12:38:00

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. Regina
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 12:41:00

    WTH (heck)!!!! Mom! Why must your comment be longer than my darn post?!?! Just like when I was growing up a sermon for every question…Mom what’s for breakfast? Well, Gina the Lord gave us this day our daily bread for the toast, blah, blah blah!!! Sorry I digress!!But really thanks for being such the physical, and spiritual matriarch that is calling our family to a higher standard! It is sometimes easy to get caught up in the anger and bitterness of the world, but then our “mother’s” throw us a life preserver! And remind us that we know better…Love you always mom!!~Me~

  4. Pastor Lisa
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 15:21:00

    Prayer is always in order.And he may simply lack the leadership qualities needed to address the issue. If you tend to avoid conflict and shy away from the tough issues, you leave things unresolved with the hopes of it all simply going away. Unfortunately it never happens that way. You simply never know what’s going on in the mind and heart of a person. We don’t know what instructions God may have already given him/her.Prayer again is definitely in order. Keep the pastor lifted. We don’t know what all he/she is dealing with.

  5. Anonymous
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 18:15:00

    Hello Regina!I am happy that I found this blog!I think that we have to understand that when God spoke to the seven churches in the Book of Revelation, He was holding the congregation accountable. The church staff salaries are paid by the congregation – not by the pastor. The congregation must also be accountable for what they allow to occur because the pastor can not see and hear and know everything.The other point I want to make…and I’ll be brief *LOL*… is that everyone is not operating at the same level of spiritual maturity and I don’t think that the church should ONLY give staff jobs to the spiritually mature. I think that there can be and should be a broad range of Christians on staff. Christians are NOT perfect and people do have issues so we need to realize that when we see certain behavior, we need to identify the root and deal with the root rather than just speaking about behaviors.Thanks for letting me blow my trumpet!Lisahttp://blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com

  6. Tidbits Of Tammy
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 23:39:00

    Hi Regina,I found your site by you dropping your card. Thanks! All the comment were great and have valid points. We as Christians rightfully so should be in prayer about these things. But although we know Christian are not perfect, Christians who work in the ministry should be held to a higher level of accountability just as a pastor is. I know of a very high profile minister that is based out of St. Louis that this kind of thing goes on in their camp and although I enjoy the teaching I rarely listen to her messages anymore because I know the background and I know that she knows what is going on. So if it turns me away as a Christian what do we expect a non believer to think? They do not view it from the same stand point as we would a Christians. They take it as we a hypocrites. Teaching one thing and doing another.So in my humble opinion I think people working in the ministry doing whatever should be at a higher level of accountability. For the sake of winning people to Christ.Sorry my comment is long like your moms. LOL. Blessing,Tammy

  7. HEALTH NUT WANNABEE MOM
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 23:45:00

    This is a tough one. I agree with what you are saying and these paid people should not be out talking in the manner you described. These are such sticky situations and hard to handle. I do agree that something needs to be said in private by the pastor to these people to at least get it out in the open and resolve it. I am the worst though. I avoid confrontation at every turn (I know I shouldn’t but I do). Maybe the pastor has his own way he wants to handle it but is not ready. Oh I don’t know-now I’m just babbling. Good luck with this.

  8. Torrance Stephens bka All-Mi-T
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 07:51:00

    my query is, what does that say about the integrity of the pastor?

  9. Rosemarie
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 10:25:00

    Church mess up on the billboards y’all! Serious. There is always imperfection in the House of God, but let’s not get our eyes off the Word. Let us be cognizant of the Holy Spirit and give Him room to move about. Believe me if folk are acting up a Word will come forth in prayer. Continually lift up the “set” man and ask God to give him eyes to see. Most often God’s remnant gets it first before the rest of the camp catches on. Pray without ceasing!

  10. freetofly
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 17:10:00

    Regina, Sorry I’m late! You know I have been entertaining my hubby as he recuperates! I know I have told you this already but, I just love your MOM! She rocks!I can’t really add to the truth that’s here, except to say that lately I have been convicted to pray more and fuss and worry less about these things…I once knew that I saw these things bc of a responsibility to pray and interecede for church leadership…but in time I got so burned by various persons that I was too involved & irritated (so less prayer & more mental fussing), when I believe God would have me be less involved and more in prayer…but, that is just where I am …I’m not sure this made sense..but, I am praying more, fasting again…it feels good, in my heart, in my spirit…Love this post! Bring some more!P.S. I have tagged you for the perfect meme for you!xoxo,Maria

Leave a Reply

