Old School Friday # 9 I Love New York!


You Know What It Is!!!!
It is…FRIDAY!! Which is my favorite day of the week because I get to post my “Old School Friday” Picks! In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 2000, hopefully to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! If you want to join in the Old School Fun then go HERE for the guidelines.
There is no theme for this week , so it is an Old School Free For All!!! So join in and post your favorite old school song or just visit the other participants and enjoy the music!!
Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageChatting Over Cocktails

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraDanielleiriegalLisa C

Chocl8t DPKreative Talk

MarvalusOne ReginaLaShonda

AJ SharonInvisible Woman

Rosemarie DeeSJPsHaE-sHaE

I Love Old School Friday so much that I have decided to supply four selections (well actually 3 songs, but I did one song in 2 versions). Now, My selections are not exactly “Old School” but I was feeling a little nostalgic this week. I was born and raised in NYC and then at the age of 22, I moved to Upstate NY, but this summer I will be moving to Texas. So in honor of 41 years of New York living here is my ode to the “Big Apple”!

Odyssey – Native New Yorker

Cynda Williams – Harlem Blues (I come from BROOKLYN but I love this song!)

Cynda Williams – Harlem Blues – Movie Version

Frank Sinatra – New York, New York

Peace & Love to all, special shout out to all my NEW YORKERS (Hey Eb & MH!!)

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa C
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 12:37:00

    You making me miss home. I love these songs!!!

  2. Rosemarie
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 12:41:00

    Shout out to the native New Yorkers! Do you recommend that movie Harlem Blues?

  3. MrsGrapevine
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 13:40:00

    This is the best Friday, so far. Mo Better Blues soundtrack is amazing, I don’t like Spike Lee all the time, but this is rare instant where I’m a fan.I also have this song on my iTunes and I jam it frequently when I listen to Miss Celie’s Blues form The Color Purple.Oh and Mickey Blue Eyes (Frank Sinatra) is always classic. That was one white man who had game.Nice Choices!

  4. DP
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 13:50:00

    Regina, good choices. I’ve only been to NYC once but there is definitely a NY state of mind! Now I guess we’re gonna have to find you some Texas songs that ain’t country. lol. What part of the state are you moving too? Our OSF contribution is Zapp and the Commodores live at:http://therealready.blogspot.com/2008/04/musical-interlude-old-school-friday_18.html

  5. Shelia
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 14:55:00

    Hey Regina, great picks. The Odyssey Native New Yorker cut was just the ultimate in hot and disco.

  6. LaKeshia
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 19:14:00

    Hey Regina, Happy OSF! You visit my page often and I am adding you to my blogroll…thanks for the love!

  7. Marcus LANGFORD
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 02:06:00

    I am only really familiar with the first tune. It was a really big disco hit right???Marcus LANGFORD of MLDTees.com

  8. Invisible Woman
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 06:15:00

    What a great theme! Do you know I still sometimes sing “Native New Yorker” out of the blue? When I was a kid visting the east coast, my relatives used to play the HECK out of that song!

  9. freetofly
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 16:39:00

    These are great…but…you are MOVING! My goodness! Do tell please! I will certainly be praying for you during this transition!xoxo,Maria

  10. mama meji
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 17:12:00

    MY parents love Frank Sinatra…I get carried away with them at times…heheh. But the other artists your mentioned, I’m not familiar with them.

  11. LaKeshia
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 19:55:00

    Tag You’re It!

  12. SjP
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 20:15:00

    Finally got SjP’s “back in stride” so I’m catching up on all the OSFs I missed jamming with yesterday! You did good, Girl! SjP

  13. Marcus LANGFORD
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 01:11:00

    Stop by my blog and pick up your tag Regina.

  14. ShAé - ShAé
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 08:30:00

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  15. ShAé - ShAé
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 08:34:00

    I’m having issues with Blogger this morning. The comment section is acting funky. Anyway, Harlem Blues was the jam… probably because I’d always picture the scenes from the movie whenever I heard it. Also, good luck on the move (be safe).

  16. Talk..to..Grams
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 13:16:00

    Just stopping in to say Hi!! Your little grand daughter is so adorable!! I am glad you have her on your side bar! She makes me smile!! Love and Hugs Grams

  17. Cassandra
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 15:41:00

    Nice Choices, Regina. BTW- You have been tagged

Leave a Reply

