Happy Sunday… An Open Letter

Hello …
Hello …
Hello … God, It’s me … Regina
I know that you already know what this letter is about and I thank you in advance for allowing me to get this off my chest. But I must say I didn’t see the need for this letter coming.
I know you have heard plenty of pleas from me in regards to my son David.
You were with me as I held his hand after he shattered his elbow falling out of that tree and had to get three metal pins inserted in his elbow. You were with me sitting in the emergency room after he drank the kerosene from under the porch and we waited for them to pump his stomach and give him the liquid charcoal to absorb the poison. You were with me as I held his hand when he got his head cut open in gym class and had to get 20 stitches. You were with me in the emergency room after David got his wrist slashed and ultimately losing full functionality in three fingers trying to protect the honor of a girl. Through many other nicks, bruises, cuts, scrapes and breaks you sat with me and heard my cries.

So you are all too familiar with my son and his many close encounters. He is called by you, this I know and thus has a price on his head by the other side. He lives his life without too much regard for his personal safety and is always willing to help others. So now we are at the beginning of his career in the National Guard and I am very proud of the type of young man he has become. Even without the influence of a positive male role model he has turned out awesome!! He is a husband and a father and now a protector for our country and for this I thank you. I pray that the morals, trainings, and teaching that I instilled in him continue to grow and make him more of the man of God you will have him to be.

He has gone on a couple of weekend trainings but tomorrow he leaves for 5 months. And this will be the first time he has gone away for an extended time when I didn’t have immediate access to him, not even phone calls. We can send letters but that is not the same. By the time I see my son again I’ll be in Texas trying to establish a new life for my family. It will be odd not having him there with us from the start but I understand that he wants and needs to do this.

So in closing Lord, I ask that you protect my son, bring people into his life who will have a positive impact and influence on him. Use this time to discipline him and make him into the mighty man of God, the warrior for you that he is destined to be! Help him to never lose sight of you.

Thank you Lord for reading my open letter and for honoring my requests.

In Jesus name,
Your daughter & servant

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 16:45:00

    Oh Regina….I cried reading this. I can only imagine the heartbreak you feel. Being one of those that your son is serving to protect- I am so honored and proud of his choice. Looking at it from a mom’s eyes- I am saddened and worried for him. I will pray for him and your family as you all transition and deal with this change (and future changes). God Bless you and your family!

  2. jjbrock
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 18:36:00

    Regina I am crying reading this. I can see my self in your words. God is so good even when we don’t deserve it. I pray that He keep and protected your son. I am in agreement that godly people will be put in his life.I made a big move in February, I moved to Jacksonville Fl. I miss my own bed and my home. God bless you and your son.

  3. Shelia
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 19:03:00

    REGINA!!I’ve been crying all weekend, and finally stopped earlier today after some wonderful fellowship.Now I’m right back where I was! Your gratitude and faith in God is so beautiful, thus your blessings.I don’t know your son, but I am so proud of him and the respect that he has caused his mother to have for him.I will pray for him, his development and his safety as he is away. I will also pray for you as you miss his presence.Your love is such an inspiration.May you and your family continue to be blessed,~~Shelia

  4. MsMarvalus
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 19:04:00

    What a beautiful prayer, Ms. Regina…I add my prayers that he keeps your son safe and secure and help him to continue to grow…God bless you and your family…

  5. Leeann
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 20:25:00

    What an absolutely amazing post. May God bless and protect your son. He is an amazing man…because he had an amazing Mom.

  6. Thoughts of a Southern gal
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 20:53:00

    Beautiful prayer. God bless you and your family.

  7. Regina
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 21:23:00

    @Pammy, Sheila & Ann – Thank you ladies for sharing in my weeping! I think we have amassed enough tears to fill a river! Not to mention my Daughter – in – law’s tears that is an ocean all by itself!! Thanks for lending your prayers and blessings! Sorry Sheila, but we both need to stop!!@Marva – Thanks for the prayers Lady! I want my baby to come back twice the man and more enriched. I’m not in agreement with all that the military teaches but I do like their discipline.@LeeAnn – Thanks for the encouragement and the prayers, I did my best and now I must step out of the way and let God take over!@Southern Gal – Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the blessings (Things aren’t usually this heavy around here!!)!!Peace & Love to you all!Regina

  8. Fergie
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 07:13:00

    The prayers of the righteous avail much. Many blessings for your family and specifically your son, as he begins this new season in his life. The scripture says Train up a child in the way he should go and he will not depart from it. Sounds like you have done your part, so now it is time to sit back and watch the marvelous fruits of your labor grow into his purpose right before your eyes.Be Blessed,Fergie

  9. mema
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 11:12:00

    ReginaYou know that I love you dearly, and I adore my David; so I add my faith to yours that God will keep him safe from all hurt or harm.Father grow him up to be the mighty man of valor that you have called him to be. Annoint him with a special annointing, let all that he put his hands to prosper and bring glory and honor unto you Lord. Direct and guide his path, and return him to us safely and with the maturity and wisdom that only you can give.Father I plead the blood of Jesus over David’s life. I know that you will protect him the same way that you protected him with all of his growing pains and mishaps of youth; the way you protected him in Africa while he was praying for a young man who was in the custody of the millitary there; the same way you have protected him on the streets of rochester. Lord the enemy may be present but you are omnipresent, so Lord I entrust my first grandson into your care. Keep him in the military sense; and I declare that no weapon forged against him shall prosper, for that is his heritage as a child of God.So father I thank you and praise you for David, Regina, Danayja, and the rest of the family. I bless your name. Amen!

  10. Lisa C
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 18:03:00

    Regina, first let me wipe my tears away. Ok, now I’m ready. I didn’t know you had a David too!!! Of course mine is just about to turn eight and lawd knows what I have in store ahead of me but reading about your David I am encouraged to know all will be well. Your son is so brave to have made a decision like this for himself and family. That speaks volumes, you are an AWESOME mother!!TEXAS? I didn’t realize you were moving there. D. and I have been giving Texas some thought for our family. I’m looking forward to hearing how everything goes 🙂

  11. freetofly
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 20:15:00

    One mother to another, I feel this to the bottom of my heart. I love his name, and though I don’t know him, I love the heart I saw through the incidents you have stood by him through..he is like his name sake! A man after God’s own heart, a passionate and zealous young man…Praying with you.Praying for you.Hug his wife for me!Love to you!Maria

  12. Mary@notbefore7
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 20:22:00

    Oh REgina…praying God’s hand of protection on your son. Clearly God has called Him into this. I know this must be tough, but I can see your trust resting in God! AMEN!

  13. PJSandAMovie
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 20:46:00

    That is a beautiful and loving letter. I got tears I’m holding back. Have a good evening.God Bless.

  14. overanalyzeit
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 22:02:00

    What a heartfelt prayer. You are a wonderful mother and sister in Christ. What a wonderful example for all of us.May God protect and guide your son and your family.

  15. coloredgirlswhohaveconsidered
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 22:39:00

    Not being raised in the church I didn’t know what a Rhema word was, until one night I found myself crying face down on the floor. Regina, in the mist of this I clearly heard God speak and remind me that His Word would never return to Him void. I barely knew the OT from the NT, I got up off of the floor, picked up my bible and this page opened…Isaiah 44Israel the Chosen 1 “But now listen, O Jacob, my servant, Israel, whom I have chosen. 2 This is what the LORD says— he who made you, who formed you in the womb, and who will help you: Do not be afraid, O Jacob, my servant, Jeshurun, whom I have chosen. 3 For I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour out my Spirit on your offspring, and my blessing on your descendants. 4 They will spring up like grass in a meadow, like poplar trees by flowing streams. 5 One will say, ‘I belong to the LORD ‘; another will call himself by the name of Jacob; still another will write on his hand, ‘The LORD’s,’ and will take the name Israel.Regina,I couldn’t tell you if I tried how many times I’ve prayed these verses & how much comforted I’ve received. Just stay strong in knowing that you know exactly Whose daughter you are. Stay strong in the knowledge that before you knew David that God had already declared His plans to prosper David, not harm him. Plans of hope and a good future. Love you so much, Chelle

  16. HEALTH NUT WANNABEE MOM
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 23:36:00

    This must be one of the hardest things. My heart feels for you and it is beautiful to see such a loving relationship between mother and son. He will be in my thoughts.

  17. Haney
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 00:44:00

    I’m sure God would help kind people. Remain that strong faith. I salute your David.

  18. Gill
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 06:55:00

    What a wonderful post Regina. You have raised a son to be proud of. I will add my prayer for him to yours.

  19. Pastor Lisa
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 08:00:00

    In Jesus’ name…So let it be…

  20. common mom
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 09:21:00

    Thank you to your son for volunteering to serve our country and keep us safe.Thank you to you for your wide open heart and a wonderful post. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  21. iriegal
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 13:32:00

    Regina, as an ex military member I know the sacrifice that David is making. Please know that even though many of us do no always comment on your wonderful blog. We read and our hearts go out to David and know God will walk beside him. Please pick up your “RED ROSE” award on my blog….IRIEGAL

  22. Melanie
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 13:44:00

    What a beautiful post. And of course, it made me cry. I am so thankful for David and the others like him and all of the families who sacrifice for me and my family.As a mom and wife I can try to understand what it must be like for you and your DIL, but really I have no idea.You and your family are always in my prayers, and especially now.

  23. Rosemarie
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 13:53:00

    A mother’s heart is tender as she bids farewell to her child. I can feel the spirit on which you write…hopeful, faithful, and giving God complete control. You are an encouragement to the community of believers and mothers. Keep sharing your “open” letters that we may glean from your courage and strength that flows from the heavenlies. We salute David, and sing:Jesus be a fence Jesus be a fence all around me everyday Jesus I want You to protect me as I travel along the way [I know You can] Yes Lord [I know You can] Yes Lord [If I keep still] Yes Lord Lord be a fence all around me everyday Protection, protection, protection Along the way Protection, strong tower, my family Jesus be a fence-Fred Hammond

  24. projectmommy
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 13:59:00

    Simply beautiful. I pray he returns safely.

  25. The True Urban Queen
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 15:44:00

    I couldn’t even imagine having to send my baby boy off for this country. Not for any reason except that I am selfish. I hope all goes well for you during your move for I am sure things will go fine for your son.

  26. Jules Viernes
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 19:59:00

    Hi, I’m Jules and I work at bestrank.com, a company interested in blog advertising. I found your blog engaging and I’m contacting you to ask if you are interested in blog post sponsorship. If you are interested, kindly mail back for confirmation. Looking forward to doing business with you. Sincerely, Jules Viernes BestRank.com

  27. Torrance Stephens bka All-Mi-T
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 21:42:00

    he has a loving mother, a mother and son worthy of my prayers as well

  28. Niña
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 21:07:00

    I’ve never been so touched in my whole life. This is absolutely words that came from one’s heart.Truly an inspiration…God bless!

Leave a Reply

