Old School Friday # 10 – Men With Perms!!

You Know What It Is!!!!
It is…FRIDAY!! Which is my favorite day of the week because I get to post my “Old School Friday” Picks! In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 2000, hopefully to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! If you want to join in the Old School Fun then go HERE for the guidelines.

The theme for this week , is Male Singers With Perms!!! So join in and post your favorite old school song or just visit the other participants and enjoy the music!!
Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageChatting Over Cocktails

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraDanielleiriegalHagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPKreative Talk

MarvalusOne ReginaLaShonda

AJ SharonInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 DeeSJPsHaE-sHaE

I decided to give you a little bit of contrast; something old and something new (can you find any similarities between the two artists?)! Please note that neither of the following artists are favorites of mine. One is classic and the other is just sad, you decide which is which!! Happy OSF!!

James Brown – Sex Machine (1976)

Snoop Dogg – Sensual Seduction (2007)

For the record, I REALLY wanted to post a PRINCE song!! But I am waiting for the Prince theme!!
Peace & Love!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mema
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 08:07:00

    I’ll wait for Prince, because I think that both James Brown and Snoop Dog are pathetic.Nothing personal, to all the James Brown and Snoop Dog fans; I personally just can’t get with either.

  2. MsMarvalus
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 08:08:00

    Snoop…bwahahahaha!!!Regina…you are something else!

  3. ShAé - ShAé
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 08:36:00

    See.. I purposely stayed away from Prince & James Brown thinking they’d be in the top two. LOL

  4. Vivrant Thang
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 08:53:00

    Whew, that’s almost blasphemy for one to say they don’t like JB. LOL! I got so much love for JB because of how influential his music was in civil rights history. There’s a documentary out now called “The Night JB Saved Boston.” It discusses the concerts he did there after MLK’s assasination to restore calm to the the city because that wanted to blow that sucka up! Even in his own pain, he used his music to heal. Gotta respect that. He wasn’t an articulate or educated man like MLK but he had a God-given gift to entertain and it probably saved countless lives.Hip hop grew out of JB’s music. He’s heavily sampled in a lot of real hip hop that we hear today. I think that may be the similarity you’re speaking of.

  5. Hagar's Daughter
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 10:27:00

    I have much respect for the Godfather’s music; for Snoop’s music, not so much.

  6. MrsGrapevine
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 11:12:00

    @ Vivrant: I watched that on VH! Soul last weekend. It does change the way you see him.@ Regina: Neither one are my favorites, but they are both unique, and they both have some hits I just love.

  7. That Girl Boo
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 11:29:00

    James is always cool, Snoop cracks me up sing to that crowdHA HA HA

  8. Danielle
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 11:41:00

    James is definitely is hot today.Have a blessed weekend!

  9. Marcus LANGFORD
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 12:39:00

    I’m mad that you got Snoop Dogg up there. LOL!Marcus LANGFORD of MLDTees.com

  10. iriegal
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 12:56:00

    I am laughing because before I opened this site, I just “KNEW” you were going to post prince..ha ha fooled me. I love your choices though and you went with SNOOP..OMGSnoop I totally forgot he is perm Rap King

  11. Quick
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 12:56:00

    I’m gonna take my tiiimmee! I love that song!

  12. SjP
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 13:18:00

    I just love me some Snoop!!! SjP

  13. Torrance Stephens bka All-Mi-T
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 14:19:00

    i grew up in memphis, one out of two had perms, i had plats

  14. aj
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 16:00:00

    I’d forgotten about “Sex Machine”. Girl that man could entertain couldn’t he.

  15. Chocl8t
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 16:35:00

    JB…the hardest working man in show bizness!! Loved him! Snoop on the other hand, not so much.

  16. bluedreamer27
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 10:11:00

    oh my snoop dog i know this guy hehe

  17. Believer 1964
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 08:57:00

    That James Brown tune was hot! He was “all” that wasn’t he.”Get on up!”

  18. coloredgirlswhohaveconsidered
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 15:52:00

    I know of no other entertainer, not even Oprah that has empowered a people more than James Brown not one.Not only was he a philanthropist who taught empowerment,he walked the walk. FYI in the 60’s Brown was the richest entertainer in the business.SAY IT LOUD!!! brought a people to a new level of diginity.(“I don’t want nobody to give me nothing open up the door, I’ll get it my self”…James Brown) It’s unfortunate that Calvin and others like him have no clue of what kind of blood runs through a man to stand on his principles without fear: (“I rather die on my feet, then live on my knees” James Brown.)Mrs. Broadus was on Bill O’Reilly a couple of few years ago, said she would never stop praying for Calvin, ain’t nothing like the prayers of a mother.

  19. Invisible Woman
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 18:41:00

    I forgot all about Snoop’s famous perm…funny!

Leave a Reply

