My Mother’s Day…was Fabulous!

My mother exposed me to some of the finest things in life and made sure that I learned life lessons from my experiences! My mother helped mold me into the woman I am today.

She took me to galleries and introduced me to art.

She took me to museums and introduced me to history.

She took me to stores and introduced me to budgeting!

She took me to plays and operas and introduced me to music.

She took me to libraries and introduced me to learning.

She took me to restaurants and introduced me to cuisine.

She took me to church and introduced me to God.

We visited and traveled to many places across the United States but the best place to learn was where I lived as a child, which was NYC! Living in the Big Apple gave me a richness and exposure to cultural diversity that can’t be gotten anyplace else. My mother took us to Broadway Musicals, the Botanical Gardens, the Museum of Natural History. We have tasted some of the finest foods in the country and meet some of the finest people from Hassidic Jews to descendants of Polish immigrants. Every day life in the city was a teachable moment! As a matter of fact every day with my mother was a teachable moment! Life hasn’t always been easy but it has been interesting! My mother is the best mother in the world to me and I wouldn’t trade her for another!

So to my mother, I Love you and thank you for my life!
Happy Mother’s Day!

So now that you have the introduction to my mother! I can move on to how I spent my Mother’s Day. I started my morning with a very early breakfast in bed. My oldest daughter made me a Frittata and let me tell you it was delicious!

And Then I got a dozen yellowish/pinkish roses from my daughter in law, and a dozen red roses from my younger son, and my sister gave me 6 pink roses. My assortment is fabulous!

Then I napped and got up to go have brunch with a group of FABULOUS ladies!

My mother, my sister, my daughter in law, and I went to Crescent Beach Inn, which is a very nice establishment located on Lake Ontario. We ate, laughed, and had a great time together. We talked about the future, our plans, and our upcoming move to Texas! We talked about the many, many blessings that God has showered upon our family! It was a great way to spend my day! By the way did I already say that these ladies are FABULOUS!!!!

We had an awesome time!! I pray that your Mother’s Day was AWESOME too!!
Peace & Love!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. That Crazy Mom
    May 12, 2008 @ 19:45:00

    That sounds like an absolutely perfect Mother’s Day!

  2. ZACK
    May 12, 2008 @ 22:10:00

    I’m glad that you enjoyed your Mother’s Day. And yes, Dottie Rambo left her mark on gospel music. Her passing is very sad. And only a few news outlets really covered her death. I don’t know why.

  3. HEALTH NUT WANNABEE MOM
    May 12, 2008 @ 22:50:00

    Happy belated mothers day to you! What a wonderful post and I smiled when I saw your friends and how much fun you all seemed to be having together. What a beautiful tribute to your mother!

  4. Vivrant Thang
    May 13, 2008 @ 08:00:00

    Indeed it appeared to be fabulous. I want some of that fritatta!I love what you wrote about your own Mom. A lot of people don’t take the time to think about the things they love about their mother. They only get specific with the things they DON’T like. LOL! Happy Belated Mother’s Day!

  5. Mema
    May 13, 2008 @ 09:38:00

    Regina; Thank you so much for that wonderful tribute. I didn’t have money diamonds or furs to give you, so I gave you what I did have – God, life, and a love for life and people. You and your sister are the best things to ever happen to me. My hat’s off to Sam Spencer. He and God gave me 2 gifts that nothing else has been able to top.To all the mom’s out there; it’s not about always getting it right. It’s about doing things together and making good memories. Your kids are going to remember something, let it be the fun and the adventures. They will over look the mistakes.Lastly; my heart goes out to Reba Rambo and Donny McQuire. The world has lost a real gospel trooper in Dottie Rambo. I thank God that we had several occassions to meet and come to love Reba and Donny, and to see Dottie through their eyes. Much love!

  6. DP
    May 13, 2008 @ 19:15:00

    Regina, Happy belated Mother’s Day to you, your Mom, and all the ‘Fabulous Ladies’ in the post and in your community.

  7. boo
    May 13, 2008 @ 22:11:00

    Regina, you have a beautiful family, and it appears that ya’ll had a blessed day, what more could a lady ask for :o}Where in Texas are ya’ll moving, I’m not originally from TX but you see I got the you all thing down packed

  8. Believer 1964
    May 14, 2008 @ 10:37:00

    I grew up experiencing the same in NYC with my family. My mother was always introducing us to music, culture and the arts. No denying you had a great Mother’s Day! Oh, and you’re lookin’ fierce! I like the outfit and hand on your hip. Look out Texas!

  9. LennieG
    May 14, 2008 @ 15:08:00

    Looks like you gorgeous ladies had a great time. Good for you!

  10. mama meji
    May 15, 2008 @ 21:38:00

    I haven’t been here in awhile but I’m glad for this chance. Happy Mother’s Day! I’m glad you had an awesome celebration. Your tribute to your mom is lovely. Hope everything great at your end.

  11. freetofly
    May 17, 2008 @ 17:13:00

    Happy Belated Mother’s Day to you, Regina!So glad you were honored & that you honored your wonderful mother!It is wonderful that you all got to share and celebrate the day together!I haven’t been blogging latley, and I won’t be for a few more days, but I wanted to come say hello!God bless you, Regina!Maria

Leave a comment