Old School Friday #13 "Remakes"

You Know What It Is!!!!
It is…FRIDAY!! Which is my favorite day of the week because I get to post my “Old School Friday” Picks! In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 2000, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! If you want to join in the Old School Fun then go HERE for the guidelines.

The theme for this week ,

“Remakes”

This theme needs no explanation! So join in and post your favorite old school song or just visit the other participants and enjoy the music!!

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And Fab

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraDanielleiriegalHagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthKreative Talk

MarvalusOne ReginaVivrant Thing

AJ SharonInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 – – SJPsHaE-sHaE

This theme was fun for me because whenever a song comes out that is a remake I have to school my kids on the original! They are always surprised, but I don’t know why most of today’s music is remade or sampled! So I am posting the remake and the original! So here goes, Enjoy!

Whitney Houston – I’m Every Woman (Remake)

Chaka Khan – I’m Every Woman (Original)

Isley Brothers – Summer Breeze (Remake)

Seals & Crofts – Summer Breeze (Original)

Happy OSF! Peace & Love!!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jjbrock
    May 16, 2008 @ 05:08:00

    Regina I didn’t know that Summer Breeze by the Isley Brother was a remix. I have always loved the Isley music.

  2. ShAé - ShAé
    May 16, 2008 @ 07:13:00

    See.. this is why I posted 3 this week. Lately I’ve been in sync with a lot of y’all. :o) Summer Breeze was the jam. I didn’t know it was a remake.

  3. The True Urban Queen aka Sharon
    May 16, 2008 @ 08:13:00

    I thought the Isley Brothers were the orginal. And truthfully, I perfer their version. I’m every woman. . .I like both versions of that song.

  4. braincell
    May 16, 2008 @ 08:15:00

    nothing like the real originals rawdawgbuffalo

  5. Hagar's Daughter
    May 16, 2008 @ 08:52:00

    Really great choices…love the Isley Brothers.

  6. Regina
    May 16, 2008 @ 09:08:00

    @ All – I love the Isleys version of Summer Breeze, but the original is awesome also! And ms. Whitney did her thang, but who can out do CHAKA?? NOBODY!!I love Summer breeze and had no clue it was a remake until last night(uh actually at 2 this morning!). I was goggling remakes of the 60’s & 70’s and that popped up! I was amazed! it’s only a 2 year difference, which is fast for a remake, Croft & seals did it in 72, and the Isley’s in 74.I love OSF, It is a great learning tool! Everyone enjoy your weekend!Peace & LoveRegina

  7. Villager
    May 16, 2008 @ 09:49:00

    I learned something new here today. I didn’t know that Summer Breeze was a remix when the Isley Brothers unleashed it. Livin’ and learnin’…I’m Every Woman is a popular choice on the OSF meme this week (smile)…peace, Villager

  8. Believer 1964
    May 16, 2008 @ 09:56:00

    I only knew of the Seals & Crofts original version of Summer Breeze. 😉 I miss Whitney. What a powerhouse!Mine is up! 😀 Oh, and I posted the original too.

  9. MsMarvalus
    May 16, 2008 @ 10:20:00

    You always come hard with OSF!Great choices!

  10. Mike
    May 16, 2008 @ 10:25:00

    Hello Regina! I like “Summer Breeze” It is on my 70s blog.

  11. MrsGrapevine
    May 16, 2008 @ 11:38:00

    These are both great choices, Whitney and Chaka made the song their own, in the words of Simon Cowell.Summer Breeze is just a beautiful song.It makes me want to sip some wine on a hammock close to a beach with Jasmine in my hair.

  12. Quick
    May 16, 2008 @ 11:46:00

    I love all the cameos in the “Whitney” remake…come back to us Nippy, come back! lol

  13. survivor
    May 16, 2008 @ 12:25:00

    I love your choices sis! I love summer breeze, always puts you in a relaxing mood

  14. SjP
    May 16, 2008 @ 13:02:00

    Great! Great! Great Choices! I love all of the originals and the remakes! SjP

  15. Invisible Woman
    May 16, 2008 @ 15:20:00

    L-O-V-E Summer Breeze by the Isleys. Even tho I knew it was a remake, I always thought the Isleys blew S & D out of the water with their version!

  16. Invisible Woman
    May 16, 2008 @ 15:21:00

    oops, I meant S & C

  17. thechocl8tdiaries
    May 16, 2008 @ 16:36:00

    I have thoroughly enjoyed OSF this week! Great choices Regina!! Have a great weekend!

  18. DP
    May 17, 2008 @ 13:54:00

    Regina – great choices as always. I definitely prefer the Isley version, and I like Chaka’s version of I’m Every Woman. See you next week!

  19. bluedreamer27
    May 18, 2008 @ 07:35:00

    i much like the whitneys version of evry woman but in the version of summer breeze im much more favor with the S&Chave a great day regina

  20. mckhoii
    May 19, 2008 @ 21:45:00

    Hi! I tagged you. check out my Fag Tag #11 @ http://www.mckhoii.comPlease tag back to ping technorati. Go blog bloom!

Leave a Reply

