Old School Friday #17 "Favorite Female Singer(s)"

You Know What It Is!!!!
It is…FRIDAY!! Which is my favorite day of the week because I get to post my “Old School Friday” Picks! In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 2000, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! If you want to join in the Old School Fun then go HERE for the guidelines.

The theme for this week ,

Favorite Female Singer(s)

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And Fab

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraDanielleiriegalHagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonThe Creole PimpInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPsHaE-sHaE

Wow, Favorite Female Singer is a very hard theme because there are sooo many that I love. I don’t have just one or two favorites! So enjoy the free mini concert!

Teena Marie – Out On A Limb

Roberta Flack – The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

Nina Simone – Here Comes The Sun


Etta James – I’d Rather Go Blind

And last but definitely not least… the Quintessential….
Billie Holiday – Good Morning Heartache

Have a great weekend!
Happy OSF! Peace & Love!!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hagar's Daughter
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 07:15:00

    Regina,You startin’ somethin’ girl. These women can sang!!!

  2. Mema
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 08:08:00

    ReginaI always knew you had an old soul. Great pics!

  3. That Girl Boo
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 08:10:00

    woooooo I so enjoyed the min concert, but my favorite is Etta James, gotta love Etta

  4. Danielle
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 09:01:00

    Two of my girls are covered here. Teena and Nina. I went another way and hoped to see them featured.I knew I could count on the O.S.F. family to deliver.Have a great weekendIn light and loveDanielle

  5. ShAé - ShAé
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 09:17:00

    OMG no you didn’t set it off with Teena Marie! I’m over here clapping like “Hercules! Hercules!” LOL

  6. MsMarvalus
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 09:46:00

    Marvelous “concert” Regina! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute, especially the Teena Marie and Nina Simone!

  7. Believer 1964
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 10:08:00

    I enjoyed the concert, but Etta and Billie set it off! I’m partial to real old school. Good picks!

  8. Danielle
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 10:26:00

    Great choices Regina! They are all wonderful.

  9. Quick
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 11:20:00

    I forgot what a great voice Teena Marie has. My mom loves her…

  10. SjP
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 11:34:00

    You did it again! Great picks this week. Of course you know I love Billie! Etta is great! And what can I say about Nina and Tina!SjP

  11. iriegal
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 13:01:00

    You brought it strong sis! Billie is the voice that made a glass of brandy sparkle and and tingle as it slid down you throat, (listening to her sultry sounds). Etta James (At Last) is gonna be my wedding song…

  12. Torrance Stephens bka All-Mi-T
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 13:46:00

    i can get with that roberta flack

  13. Vivrant Thang
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 14:09:00

    Once again, your little pumpkin made me smile.NICE choices. Most people forget about Nina and Etta…unless they are old souls, like you are. And gotta love Miss Teena!

  14. clnmike
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 14:56:00

    I love Nina good pick.

  15. MrsGrapevine
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 19:14:00

    You know I like Teena Marie because that’s who I chose.Roberta has so many hits, she just a great singer, but even better songwriter. Never really got into Nina Simone, her voice was just so deep I couldn’t connect. But, I do agree she is one of the great talents pf jazz, and using voice as instrument. I love her still when I’m in that mood.Billie is just a instrument. She is the greatest.

  16. bluedreamer27
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 09:28:00

    hello regina you might want to check the first round of competition for blog idols good luckhave a great day

  17. The True Urban Queen aka Sharon
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 11:05:00

    You have some wonderful choices here. First, I heard that Etta song or the Billie Holiday. Nice.I loved the Hulk. Did you enjoy the Happening? I don’t like watching horror movies. Esp living alone.

  18. Sogeshirtsguy
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 11:17:00

    I much prefer old school singers to rhianna anyday. Thanks so much for sharing.

  19. Villager
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 17:40:00

    Happy OSF! Teena Marie is on my short list for this week. In fact, her rendition of Deja Vue is one of my favorite songs of all time…Thank you for visiting my OSF post this week showcasing Anita Baker. peace, Villager

Leave a Reply

