Old School Friday #24 – MOTOWN!!

You Know What It Is!!!!
It is…FRIDAY!! Which is my favorite day of the week because I get to post my “Old School Friday” Picks! In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

The theme for this week ,

Motown

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraDanielleiriegal – –Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonThe Creole PimpInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPsHaE-sHaE

From the BattlefieldThembi D Spot

Out of all of the many, many fabulous artists that have come through Motown my favorite is clearly Marvin Gaye, who I also showcased last week!

Trouble Man – Marvin Gaye

If I Should Die Tonight – Marvin Gaye

Happy OSF! have a great weekend!
Regina

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Keith
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 17:29:00

    That voice…What else can be said?Thanks, Regina!

  2. cooper
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 18:58:00

    I love me some Marvin.For some reason I’m having a heck of a time trying to view you tubes this evening though.

  3. MsMarvalus
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 21:29:00

    Ooh, Marvin! I like to think that my mother named me as such because she was inspired by him…I could be here all night…I think I’m mesmerized…I may be entering a Marvin period!Happy OSF!

  4. SjP
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 11:03:00

    Can never go wrong with Marvin Gaye…may he rest in peace and his voice forever be heard.

  5. Blog Queen
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 01:25:00

    Marvin Gaye is and will always be….THE MAN. Girl just listening to his voice puts me in a mood….ohhhh weeee…Thanks for this post!!Roschelle

  6. The True Urban Queen aka Sharon
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 08:34:00

    That is the man Mr. I am sexy and my voice is lovely Marvin.I plan on throwing on his CD when I bbque today.

  7. Hagar's Daughter
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 08:43:00

    The man, the genius, the voice – I’m missing you Marvin. This was such a treat to my hears and my heart.

  8. Believer 1964
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 11:04:00

    The second song was a first for me. The ending was a surprise and I was intrigued to know more about the man behind the voice. Marvin Gaye, a great talent that is missed by many generations. Certainly a man with a message!

  9. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 17:06:00

    Hello there…Marvin…Marvin….what a sad ending to a beautiful man with a tremendous gift…if only he had allowed the Holy Spirit to abide with him….his torment would not have destroyed him…He is so deeply missed …and so immensely cherished…I loved when Diana sang “Missing you” as a tribute to him.Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!Lisa

  10. Don
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 21:29:00

    Marvin Gaye is a great choice. I can’t say enough about the man’s voice and music. Born to sing.

Leave a Reply

