Old School Friday #25 "Rock Songs"

You Know What It Is!!!!
It is…FRIDAY!! Which is my favorite day of the week because I get to post my “Old School Friday” Picks! In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

The theme for this week ,

Rock Songs

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabDanielleKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraDanielleiriegal – –Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonThe Creole PimpInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPsHaE-sHaE

From the BattlefieldThembi D Spot

Well! Let’s Rock On!!!!

Another One Bites The Dust – Queen

Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen

Happy OSF! Have a blessed weekend!
Regina

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cromely
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 00:45:00

    “Another one Bites the Dust” was one of the first rock songs I remember liking as I began moving form country music to the top 40. It never gets old.Weird Al’s version, “Another one Rides the Bus” was also pretty awesome, and was just the start of his big career.I miss the days of WAPP and Dr Demento on NYC radio.

  2. ShAé - ShAé
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 08:37:00

    I see we were both Queen fans. 🙂 You’ve got my favorite on here. Happy OSF Regina!

  3. iriegal
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 09:35:00

    I love Queen!!I remember when Weird Al Yankovich did a parody to this song with, “another one rides the bus”Queen

  4. Keith
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 10:22:00

    Hey Regina.Great pick! Queen is without a doubt one of the best rock groups of all time. Extraordinary musicians and well-crafted songs that will be around as standards for a long long time. And the late Freddie Mercury was a remarkable performer.Thanks!

  5. Believer 1964
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 10:23:00

    Bohemian Rhapsody is a creative piece that most bands would find hard to duplicate. What a mixture of talent and insight. After reading more about the lyrics because of interest, it’s noted that there is no chorus. Yet, we know every word. That says something doesn’t it!

  6. Danielle
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 11:04:00

    Ahhhh. Queen is making their appearance on OSF!Always a good choice…Went 60s silly for this themeHave a great weekend.Danielle

  7. Kim
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 11:09:00

    I see great minds think alike. I too am a Queen fan! Nobody could do it like Freddy Mercury. Happy OSF!

  8. Invisible Woman
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 11:46:00

    L-O-V-E Queen!

  9. Lisa C
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 12:16:00

    Queen Rocks…lol!Mine is up!!

  10. DP
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 13:40:00

    Queen is apparently the group of the day! Happy OSF and great picks. I remember when Another One Bites the Dust was banging on all of the R&B stations. Them and the Clash's Rock the Casbah were the only rock and roll songs in rotation on Black radio back then.

  11. pjazzypar
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 13:49:00

    Another One Bites the Dust is a classic and very popular during the disco era. It had a beat that made you get out on the floor and do a little sumthin sumthin. Happy Old School Friday to you!

  12. MrsGrapevine
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 14:12:00

    Queen can jam can’t they. Another one bites the dust, I forgot all about. I use to sing the chorus when I was little. The beat is killer…

  13. Marcus LANGFORD
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 14:51:00

    whoa! great picks regina! you gotta love “another one bites the dust”. ‘queen’ reminds me a lot of ‘kansas’ another great rock band from the 70’s.:::Marcus LANGFORD:::

  14. (¯`·._.·[***Fresh&Fab***]·._.·´¯)
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 18:36:00

    nice choice regina, ive never really been the rock type to start with..but nice picks

  15. MsMarvalus
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 20:44:00

    Another Queen fan I see…there was just something about Freddie Mercury that drew me in…when I was making my post, I went through almost every YouTube vid on Queen!Have a great weekend!

  16. MR style
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 22:14:00

    friday is my favorite day cuz im out tonight !

  17. bbinsider
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 22:28:00

    Another One Bites the Dust—love it!When that song first was released, my friend had her Mom go pick it up at the store while we were at school…..when she got home, her Mom said, “I picked up that ‘Another One eats the dirt’ song for you” (she ‘almost’ got it right) …lol, always makes me giggle remembering that.Have a great weekend !!Vickie

  18. ZACK
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 23:52:00

    I was in a stroller when these songs came out! That or in preschool. 🙂

  19. cooper
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 23:54:00

    I didn’t do Queen only because they are the best of all time. I remember watching a show on them when much younger and hearing bohemian rhapsody in a concert setting.I can remember my father telling me that originally a lot of people didn’t take Queen s seriously, they were almost a joke until people started to go to their concerts and realized were no joke.

  20. Villager
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 11:33:00

    Happy belated OSF! I lived in Detroit one year when the Detroit Lions were actually winning a bunch of games with a young running back (pre-Barry Sanders). They would play this song at the stadium after every victory … ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST! Thank you for visiting my effort to comply with the Rock song theme. I invite your blog readers to check out The BusBoys if they have time or inclinaton.peace, Villager

Leave a Reply

