Old School Friday # 26 Political/Socio-Political Songs

Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What It Is!!!!
It is…FRIDAY!! Which is my favorite day of the week because I get to post my “Old School Friday” Picks! In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

The theme for this week ,

Political or Socio-political Songs

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabDanielleKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraDanielleiriegal – –Hagar’s Daughter Lisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonThe Creole PimpInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPsHaE-sHaE

From the BattlefieldThembi D Spot

Well today’s OSF Theme is bound to be controversial so lets set off!!

Bob Dylan – Masters Of War

If you have a spare minute go Here and listen to Lady Day (Ms Billie Holiday) sing the haunting tale of strange fruit swinging from cotton trees in the south…

Have a great weekend,
Regina

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Keith
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 06:38:00

    Happy OSF Regina!You know, “Masters of War” might not be old enough, but Bob Dylan sure enough is. His whole catalogue would fit into this category. Great choice!And the Black Eyed Peas, from the younger generation activist perspective, have been doing great things as well.

  2. ShAé - ShAé
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 08:17:00

    The Black Eyed Peas gives a good message under a nice beat, but Bob Dyland wasn’t playing. That song is something serious.

  3. Villager
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 09:29:00

    Bob Dylan and Billie Holiday were great choices! I hadn’t heard ‘Masters of War’ before. Thank you for sharing…peace, Villager

  4. Lisa C
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 09:59:00

    Like your choices for this week, Regina!Happy OSF!!

  5. iriegal
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 12:36:00

    I see great minds think alike sis. I also did a tribute to the Black Eyed Peas (Where is the Love). You kicked some serious tunes here.Onelove..Iriegal

  6. MrsGrapevine
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 13:28:00

    I see you, thinking outside the box. Bob Dylan has a slew of songs you can post. I think all of his songs are political in one form or another.This is before the Black Eyes Peas became too commercial…The ole days…This song is what changed things…

  7. Quick
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 13:58:00

    The BEP’s is a great choice! I never this this version was out there! Happy OSF-

  8. Marcus LANGFORD
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 18:26:00

    Bob Dylan is one of the most politically-driven artists out there and the BEP song is still something that can be listened to. Anytime you can take world news and make a socially-conscious song, that deserves space here on ‘OSF’.:::Marcus LANGFORD:::

  9. Vivrant Thang
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 22:16:00

    Not familiar with either of these songs although I do like some of the BEP’s stuff. I can tell this will be a learning experience today.And I love BH’s “Strange Fruit.” Such a hauntingly beautiful song. An academic’s friend of mine whose works centers around lynching uses it in her talks. I have a framed photo of BH singing on my wall so you know I’m a fan. Nice picks!

  10. The True Urban Queen aka Sharon
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 14:37:00

    I missed Old School Friday. Your choices were very good.I hadn’t listened to Bob Dylan before.I had a moment to listen to Billie. When I realized what the song was about. .. It is so beautiful and so sad.

Leave a Reply

