Old School Friday # 30 "Girl Groups"

Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What today is… Old School Friday!
I am on the road so I have this pre-scheduled and I hope the theme has not changed. I’ll check you guys out when I get back. Enjoy my picks!
In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

The theme for this week ,

“Girl Groups”

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabDanielleKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s Daughter Lisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnCC GroovyKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonThe Creole PimpInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

I considered the Supremes but that would have been too easy!
Without further ado… Let the Ladies Make Some Noise!!!!!!!

*I didn’t know that these ladies were Barry Whites back up singers, Did you?*

Love Unlimited – Walking In The Rain With The One I Love

Have a great weekend everyone!
Peace & Love!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hagar's Daughter
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 05:58:00

    These sisters can sing! Happy OSF.

  2. The True Urban Queen aka Sharon
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 05:59:00

    Okay where have I been?I heard of the Shirelles. The other group Love Unlimited I have not heard of.The Love Unlimited song I never heard. The one by the Shireeles I heard but I really don’t know it.

  3. clnmike
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 06:50:00

    I havent heard of Love Unlimited, I got some home work to do, lol.Happy OSF.

  4. Keith
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 07:06:00

    Love Unlimited? Oh yeah I’ve definitely heard of them. Definitely takes me back in the Way Back machine, that’s for sure. That song back in the day was a baby-makin classic.

  5. Vivrant Thang
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 09:23:00

    No my brother, you got to get your own! LOL!I’ve heard of the Shirelles and didn’t know who sang Walking In The Rain. Thanks for edumucating a sista today. TRUE Old School right here!

  6. Torrance Stephens - All-Mi-T
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 09:53:00

    me love the AFROShave a great weekend sister

  7. Kevin Andre Elliott
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 10:56:00

    @Vivrant Thang: You beat me to it! LOL. That Love Unlimited song is classic! So good!

  8. Villager
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 13:28:00

    Happy OSF! Walking in the Rain brings some great memories. Every brother would love to have a sista thinking those lyrics about him…Thank you for visiting my post on the Girl Groups theme. I invite your blog readers to check out Klymaxx if they have time or inclinaton.peace, Villager

  9. Believer 1964
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 23:53:00

    I enjoyed the first choice though I am more familiar with the second. Check out the Soul Train video footage. Nice!

  10. iriegal
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 01:03:00

    You on the road and still got it going on. I was working today and didn’t get to put up mine until late, but check it out when you have time.ONELOVE..IRIEGAl

  11. PopArtDiva
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 06:51:00

    Regina – I love the Danayja photos – what a cutie! The Love Unlimited Video from Soul Train was great – I used to watch Soul Train religiously. Of course, now I want to know which of your children was a result of the Hey Love cassettes, lol.Thanks for stopping by my blog and my OSF post, I hope you enjoyed the videos of my favorite 60s Girl Groups!

  12. Malcolm
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 15:21:00

    Nice pull of the Love Unlimited clip. In answer to your question, I knew that they were Barry White’s backup singers. He was even married to the one in the center (Glodean White) from 1974-1988. Your story about one of your kids being conceived to the Hey Love cassettes made me laugh. I just know that there are a lot of other “Hey Love” kids out there.

  13. LaKeshia
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 21:12:00

    Happy OSF!

  14. cooper
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 22:01:00

    The Love Unlimited song I’ve never heard, that was great.

  15. SjP
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 07:35:00

    Love Unlimited were the bomb back in the day and so were the Shirelles! Yes, Barry White was married to one of the LU singers at one time, but I think tey divorced years prior to his death. Great choices!

  16. MsMarvalus
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 08:19:00

    I knew about Love Unlimited, even about Barry being married to one of them…and I love this song. Such sweet sentiments!As always, great picks, Ms. Regina!

Leave a Reply

