Miriam Makeba Dies At Age 76…

Wow, during my morning Internet surfing I came across the very sad news that South African Singer and Activist Miriam Makeba has died. She was 76 years old and died doing what she loved …performing. She collapsed on stage in Italy, at a Anti-Racism rally. Read the story HERE.

How extremely sad and disgusting that this news is not being more widely talked about. I know we have a Black President -Elect, I know our economy is crap, I know that Jennifer Hudson’s family was murdered, and I also know that Caylee Anthony’s body has not been found BUT there is more going on in the world!

If you do not know who this fabulous lady was you have missed out on knowing about a true Icon. Known as “Mother Africa” she was an Activist, a Singer, an Ambassador, a Mother , a Grandmother, a LEGEND!
This was a woman who felt so strongly about the injustice of apartheid that she became very vocal about it which led to her being exiled from her own homeland for 30 years.
She was at one time married to South African Musician Hugh Masakela, as well as former Black Panther Stokely Carmicheal. The world has lost a great Ambassador…

RIP – Miriam Makeba 1932-2008

Miriam Makeba – Khawuleza (1966)

Let Your Life Mean Something,
Peace & Love

Social Bookmarking

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mema
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 11:01:00

    Thank you Regina for honoring Miriam Makeba.She was one of the world’s greatest black voices and humanitarian. At a time when the whole world looked the other way, while blacks were being brutaly mistreated under apartheid in South Africa; she put her career on the line and spoke out.She used to refer to Johnannesburg as her beloved, yet she was not allowed to go back, because she spoke out against the wrongs of the government against her people.The article said that she was punished by having her music banned in South Africa. What the article didn’t say was that the American music industry pulled all of her music off of the shelves in the stores in America. That’a right; rather than deal with the wrongs of South Africa, we went with the money.I’m glad I bought my albums before they disappeared from the shelves. I still have them, and will keep them as a tribute to her life.I will make sure that my grandchildren hear this beautiful music from the motherland.

  2. SjP
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 11:24:00

    Much obliged, Regina for this amazing tribute. Miriam Makeba, rest in peace.

  3. Revvy Rev
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 11:28:00

    It is a shame that we have such amnesia. This legend and iconic figure should have more prominence in discussions and certainly should be talked about in high schools and liberal arts college courses.

  4. Believer 1964
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 12:05:00

    I learned about her through OSF and remember this video. May she rest in eternal peace.

  5. Shelia
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 12:38:00

    I heard this late last night Regina and I was so saddened by it. I have truly enjoyed her over the years. She always presented such a beautiful spirit personally and inside of her music.

  6. Hadias
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 14:20:00

    As a child, I can remember listening to my father tell us stories of all of these powerful black people that I never heard mentioned in school.He spoke of Mrs. Makeba and her music. I can also remember her appearance on the Cosby show. I can recall identifying with her character while watching the episode. She made a young black girl believe that she could do and be anything that she wanted. May she rest in peace and live on through the stories we share with our own children.

  7. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 14:45:00

    Hi there,Thank you for honoring her.May her soul rest.Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS,Lisa

  8. Dori
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 16:49:00

    May she rest in peace. She was amazing.

  9. clnmike
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 19:16:00

    RIPI just found out, I have to put something up.

  10. Kin'shar
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 00:42:00

    hmmm, heard about this….RIP

  11. (¯`·._.·[***Fresh&Fab***]·._.·´¯)
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 09:47:00

    may her soul R.I.Pi just found out myself too, extremely sad.

  12. Theresa Sez
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 18:41:00

    Hi Regina, the first time i heard of Mother Africa was on the Crobsy she was on there. Your blog was awesome i really enjoyed it. I also wanted to say, I really enjoy reading your blog. I get on your blog be there for hours. Thanks for being you and letting me share a piece of your life. You bring me joy.

  13. bluedreamer27
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 02:31:00

    hello regina just dropping by here to say have a great day and have a great blogging day to you

  14. Jesús Risquet
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 11:56:00

    I’m a black cuban journalist and usually I read your blog. I like it very much.I has a blog very known in Cuba but it’s in Spanish: “Jesus on line”. I needed to say something here. Excuse me if I wrote any mistake.Miriam Makeba visited Cuba many times. I’m sorry ‘cause she died of a heart attack. My people were so saddened by her death… She had Cuban Honor Passport too. I had the chance to meet her personally the first time she came to Cuba when I was young and her hit Pata Pata song was very famous. Later I could interview her two times, including the last time she was here in 2006. I always went to see her when she was in Havana and I knew her grand sons.

  15. pjazzypar
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 08:44:00

    What a wonderful tribute to Ms. Makeba! That’s why I love the blogsphere, I learn about stuff I might not hear about otherwise. I had no idea she had passed on. Thanks!

  16. msladydeborah
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 22:31:00

    This is really sad news.Miriam Makeba was truly a great woman of our time. Thanks for making us aware of her passing.

Leave a Reply

