Old School Friday #40 "Jazz"

Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What today is… Old School Friday!
In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

Old School Jazz”

This theme was very hard for me because I LOVE Jazz and my MOTHER did an excellent job of giving me diversity while growing up! My mom is a lover of music and she passed that on to me! I had a very hard time picking an artist, a song, or an era! Jazz encompasses so much: Smooth Jazz, Swing Jazz, Big Band Jazz, Fast Jazz and the list goes on. We have some Jazz Greats like, Thelonious Monk; Miles Davis; Charlie Parker; Duke Ellington; Etta James; Ella Fitzgerald; Sarah Vaughn; and this list can go on for days! I look forward to making the rounds today and seeing what my fellow OSF’ers have pulled out!!

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabDanielleKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe ConnoisseurKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

Save Your Love For Me – Nancy Wilson/Cannonball Adderley

George Benson – Breezin’

Glenn Miller Orchestra – In The Mood

Social Bookmarking

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hey Shae!
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 06:26:00

    I bow down to the sounds of Nancy Wilson. That’s a gem. But George Benson does it for me. He’s always had that mellow vibe about him. Love your picks this week.

  2. AJ
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 08:31:00

    Nice choices. Nancy’s voice is so clear and crisp.

  3. Hagar's Daughter
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 09:09:00

    Ms Wilson is one of my all-time favorite singers ever. Thanks for the treat Regina.Happy Friday.

  4. Revvy Rev
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 09:25:00

    Very diverse and great picks! But you can’t have Nancy Wilson – she’s mine!(lol) Happy OSF Regina!

  5. Vivrant Thang
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 10:01:00

    Breezin…ooooo weeee that’s a FTW pick for sure. Happy OSF!

  6. pjazzypar
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 10:10:00

    wonderful choices! Thanks for the trip down memory lane and have a great weekend.

  7. Torrance Stephens - All-Mi-T
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 10:19:00

    u jamming but i dont consider George benson as old school lol

  8. clnmike
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 10:46:00

    I am loving that Nancy Wilson, good choices over all, Happy OSF.

  9. Dori
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 13:18:00

    Great choices! And Ms. Nancy Wilson is definitely a favorite of mine…her voice just has that something special that I have no words to define. Just beautiful! 🙂

  10. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 13:20:00

    Hello there!!Nancy Wilson …wow!I still listen to George Benson’s “Lady Blue” since my father really loved that song back in the day…Great picks, Regina!(smiles)Lisa

  11. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 13:22:00

    @ TorrenceGeorge Benson is 65…when a person is eligible for Social Security…(smiles)

  12. Keith
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 13:36:00

    Regina, Regina, REGINA!Girl you know you need to stop. These are some phenomenal picks, and you definitely know your jazz! Such great picks. Cannonball and Nancy Wilson…?God bless your mother. She sure did herself proud with passing that knowledge on to you.Great stuff.Happy OSF!

  13. LaKeshia @ Kreative Talk
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 18:39:00

    Love some George Benson…memories

  14. Prof. PC
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 08:37:00

    Great picks! It is hard to narrow it down to one choice, I tried, but I think I should have picked a few.

  15. MsMarvalus
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 10:54:00

    All I can say is “Fab-u-lous!”Have a great weekend!

  16. cooper
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 23:40:00

    These are wonderful. I have to say I’ve seen a couple of Nancy Wilsons’ around this weekend osf, and was not really at all familiar with her until this weekend. Some really good stuff I have to investigate further.Benson I’ve loved forever, one of those family passed down loves.

  17. SjP
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 19:02:00

    These are some great picks! Particularly like that Nancy and Aderly pick…just great!

  18. iceah
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 02:30:00

    Happy Thanksgiving c: enjoyed our celebration at church yesterday c:

  19. Mema
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 08:45:00

    You go Girl!!!!!

Leave a Reply

