Old School Friday #41 "STEVIE WONDER"

Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What today is… Old School Friday!
In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

Today’s theme is dedicated to My Mother!

Stevie Wonder”

This theme right here is for people who know what real musical genius is all about! Steveland Hardaway Judkins later named Steveland Hardaway Morris born in Saginaw, Michigan on May 13, 1950 was blind since infancy. He learned piano at age7 and mastered drums and harmonica by age 9 and was signed to Motown record label at the age of 12. This man is quite simply AMAZING! He is a genius because he is a musician, writer, singer and producer. He has released 35 U.S albums; has scored more than 30 Top Ten hits; 11 #1 Pop singles; won 19 Grammys and a Lifetime Achievement Award. He has also been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame! He was often introduces as the “8th Wonder of the World” hence the name Stevie Wonder!

My mother often tells me the story of how Stevie could have almost been my father, because after seeing him perform in concert she PROPOSED to Stevie backstage! That didn’t quite work out, but the music is awesome none the less!
Please enjoy a little of the Wonderment that I grew up with!

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabDanielleKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe ConnoisseurKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

I Believe (When I Fall In Love) – Stevie Wonder

Ribbon In The Sky – Stevie Wonder

My Cherie Amour – Stevie Wonder

Happy Old School Friday!

Social Bookmarking

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hey Shae!
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 10:51:00

    Although My Cherie Amour and Ribbon in the Sky are wonderful classics, I Believe is a gem that doesn’t get much attention. Nice choices.

  2. Prof. PC
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 10:52:00

    My Cherie Amour is good choice. I almost picked that one.

  3. MsMarvalus
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 12:07:00

    There is so much music to choose from Stevie…this one was hard for me…you, however, did an excellent job!

  4. Dori
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 13:06:00

    I love Stevie!!! Great picks! 🙂 I saw him back in September and he was AMAZING! Happy Old School Friday.

  5. SjP
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 15:29:00

    Love all your picks today…but, how could I not! Its STEVIE!! Have a great weekend and hope your holiday was just grand!

  6. Kim
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 16:09:00

    The story about your mother is great. And you made great picks for this week. I thought I was a Stevie aficionado, but I’m getting educated this week.

  7. Revvy Rev
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 17:44:00

    Great picks Regina! Especially for winding down after the hustle and bustle of putting together a Thanksgiving meal and gathering. Happy OSF!

  8. Hagar's Daughter
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 19:47:00

    Great Stevie tribute. Thanks for spotlighting I Believe – lovely song.

  9. clnmike
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 07:30:00

    Great choices.

  10. pjazzypar
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 11:45:00

    The holiday has me all confused. I thought today was Friday. Anyhow, I love your selections, especially I Believe. Happy OSF.

  11. iriegal
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 16:17:00

    Stevie is the master. Great OSF PICKS!I was late in doing mine, (had to work on Thursday and Friday) but it is up now.ONELOVE

  12. Mema
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 20:38:00

    He was 11 and I was 12 and it was back stage of the Uptown Theatre in Philly. He was known as Little Stevie Wonder back in those days.He also either invented or improved upon the Moog Synthesizer.

  13. music.wonder
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 08:57:00

    I invite you to visit this site about Stevie Wonder, videos, discography, music and more.Stevie Wonder Thank you

Leave a Reply

