Old School Friday #42 "Singers & Actors"


Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What today is… Old School Friday!
In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

Today’s theme is:

Actors Turned Singers; Singers Turned Actors

Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabDanielleKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe ConnoisseurKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

I tried to post something that no one else would think of, so we’ll see!

Baby It’s Cold Outside – Bing Crosby & Doris Day

and one of my favorites…

Little Drummer Boy – Bing Crosby & David Bowie

Social Bookmarking

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hagar's Daughter
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 02:33:00

    Regina,I think you are right – no one will post these. I enjoyed them. I even looked at some related videos. I remeber watching the Christmas special with Bing and David Bowie. Happy OSF. Nice look for the holidays.

  2. Kin'shar
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 03:04:00

    dang…you went way back sista

  3. Hey Shae!
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 05:51:00

    Great picks. I would have never thought of Doris Day. I wonder if Doris had a Sasha Fierce side? LOL

  4. Revvy Rev
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 08:33:00

    You always stay ahead of the pack. Very creative picks and on point. Definitely Old School.

  5. Mema
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 08:51:00

    Great pics. Did you know that Bing Crosby was called the Crooner, because of his smooth voice.The David Bowie pic was definately before he got funky. lol lolDoris Day was an old school staple. She also did plays, my favorite was lol lol yes you guessed it, The Pajama Game. lol

  6. pjazzypar
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 10:30:00

    I almost posted Judy Garland who was a singer who was an Oscar nominated actor. You took us way back and I love it! Happy OSF!

  7. Kim
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 11:07:00

    Snaps for originality and great choices.

  8. Quick
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 11:09:00

    …loves the diversity you got going on over here…and i love the Christmas background

  9. LaKeshia@KreativeTalk
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 17:08:00

    I love Baby It’s Cold outside…makes me think of last night while talking with my husband…’bout to give TMI ;-)LOL! Happy OSF!

  10. MrsGrapevine
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 17:30:00

    Great choices, It’s cold Outside is one of my favorites, all year round. I like the Christmas theme, and these choices are very original.Back then singers and actors were synonymous, if you act you sing, if you sing you act, that’s not the case today.

  11. Marvalus
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 20:40:00

    Well I think you accomplished your goal…love the Bing!Have a good weekend!

  12. Villager
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 22:01:00

    Happy WW! I used to enjoy watching those comedies with Bing and Bob Hope. I also had a fond spot in my heart for David Bowie when he played a character in a movie adaptation of a Robert Heinlein sci-fi book. Great off-beat choices for this theme!Thank you for visiting my blog earlier today. I invite your blog readers to see some photo of a truly FAT CAT!peace, Villager

  13. JohnH985
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 00:33:00

    Great choices. I love Bing Crosby, somehow I didn’t think of him. I remember watching the Bowie/Crosby duet when it first came on back when I was a kid. Really cool, I love that version of the song.

  14. cooper
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 14:34:00

    Cool choices. The thing I enjoy most is finding things I wasn’t always that familiar with.Love what you’ve done with the place fro the holidays.

Leave a Reply

