Direct TV is Sooo Dirty!!!

Do you have Direct TV?
Do you plan to switch from Direct TV?
I have Direct TV and I must admit I like it better than cable BUT their customer service really sucks! I have had three issues with their customer service in the past. And if you try to call their you have to go through about 15 minutes of pushing numbers and listening to the stupid options trying to get to speak to a REAL, LIVE PERSON!!! It is so FRUSTRATING!

Anyway this rant is not even actually about me!
I got an email from my mother, who actually canceled her Direct TV. Did you know that they do not send you a final bill? That is crazy!
Well, the email said:

“Good Morning Gina
Could you do me a favor and put on your blog so people will know that when you discontinue Directv, they only allow you four days to settle your bill. If your bill is not settled within four days they go into whatever bank account they have on file for you and take the money. So please warn folks.
Thanks!”

Woo, SAY WHAT??? So it appears that if you do not pay off any outstanding balance in 4 DAYS Direct TV will go into your bank account “UNAUTHORIZED” and just take what the hell they want!! Which I am sure will throw your other “authorized” transactions into the negative!

Humm, I may have to check out the DishNetwork! What are your thought on this?

Social Bookmarking

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Revvy Rev
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 12:30:00

    Yes!!! You cannot get to customer service until you pay your bill as well. You will be put into an endless loop. In addition, somehow they calculate past due amounts even after the old bill has been paid and the new bill has not yet come out. I am a slave on their plantation due to the monopoly on sports programming that they have, but have been wanting to get free for 8 years. Dish needs to somehow get NFL Sunday Ticket, NBA, MLB, or other nationwide broadcasts of local sports and I’ll say “See Ya!”

  2. R.L.Scovens
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 14:18:00

    That’s just ridiculous!!!

  3. Mema
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 14:43:00

    Thanks Gina for posting my complaint.Hey Revvy Rev, what about the new offer that AT&T has out?

  4. Keith
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 14:59:00

    I’m going to show this to my daughter. My wife and I have Comcast Cable on two boxes in our house and she has Direct TV in her room and she is always telling us how much better Direct TV is and how we should switch and yadada yada yada..I’m going to show her this post.Lolololol.

  5. Breathless
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 16:57:00

    That is just nuts. Thanks for the heads up!

  6. melanie
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 19:21:00

    We’ve never used Direct TV b/c we just don’t watch enough TV to justify paying for it.It seems pretty ridiculous to me. Although, I would have to guess that somewhere in the teeny-tiny, fine print that this is mentioned. I could be wrong, but that would be my guess. Otherwise it seems like they would have been sued by now.

  7. Revvy Rev
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 21:02:00

    @Mema,I hadn't heard AT&T had anything new. I will research it. But I did get the memo – clean out my checking account before I switch!

  8. bluedreamer27
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 01:06:00

    thats too unfair right?by the way regina the final round for my blog idol just begun

  9. Mee2
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 02:14:00

    We have had DirecTV for almost 7 years. We USED to have Dish Network. I will never, ever, ever, ever go back to Dish Network. The customer service and quality of signal, recievers, etc are wayyy better with DirecTV than with Dish Network. Sad? Maybe.

  10. DB
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 19:01:00

    i wouldn’t jump so fast to Dish Network. i had them for 2 years and I bought my HD TV. So I called to ask them about the HD package. Them fools wanted me to give them a $200 deposit for the HD box! I don’t think so. So I called Time Warner and got a HD DVR box for FREE. Scheduled the installation, and when they arrived called Dish Network to cancel. When I did…they wanted to give me the box for free. I told them too late…Time Warner is already hear…cut me off!I’m keeping Time Warner not because they are so great, but because I can do more connectivity wise than with a Dish subscription.and that is gangster going in your account like that.

  11. Hey it's Amy Shipp
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 22:05:00

    I hope you are having a nice Christmas Season! Just wishing you health and happiness 🙂

  12. Shana
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 08:47:00

    OH WHERE DO I START??? I am going to keep this short as I have a ton of things to get to today, but…They did that to me!!! I was told my final bill was only about $20.00. They took out of my account that I never authorized for them to take, (they say it is in the fine print, I say they are sneaky and like you said that is dirty!!!) about $75.00 to much, due to a mistake on their end. Guess how long it took me to get my money back? 6 WEEKS!!! I fought them for 6WEEKS to get MY money BACK!!! MONEY THAT THEY SHOULDN’T HAVE TAKEN IN THE FIRST PLACE!!! I WILL NEVER USE DIRECTV AGAIN!!! EVER!!!

  13. Believer 1964
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 23:06:00

    Thanks for the warning Mema! As Revvy Rev shared the great sports package may be all they’re great at. I’m sticking with Cable and my husband will have to deal with other frustrations. They all have something they’re good and bad at! Sometimes Cable likes to switch to another game just before the end of the one he’s watching. To put it mildly he is not a happy camper!

Leave a Reply

