Old School Friday #43 "Favorite Bands"


Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What today is… Old School Friday!
In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

Today’s theme is:

Favorite Bands

I have posted some of my favorite bands before, like Queen, and Aerosmith. But today I want to focus on a few of my “cultural” favorites! Enjoy the music! Here are the other “Old School Friday” participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabDanielleKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe ConnoisseurKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

I know I posted this before BUT the band is tough, the costumes are fierce and those three ladies are KILLING IT!! You can NOT mess with the elements!
Boogie Wonderland – Earth, Wind & Fire

Slippin’ Into Darkness – WAR

Social Bookmarking

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hey Shae!
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 02:35:00

    EW&F are my favorites. Phillip Bailey is amazing. I also chose Mint Condition, great taste as usual. 🙂

  2. Dori
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 03:58:00

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. Dori
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 04:00:00

    Oh yes! Love it. Earth, Wind & Fire is great and the ladies of The Emotions were just an excellent addition to this performance. I have always just loved this song. It always gets my spirits up. And as Shae said, Phillip Bailey is amazing and so is Maurice White. A true classic! And I love Mint Condition too…it surely takes me back. Happy weekend to you! 🙂

  4. Revvy Rev
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 06:23:00

    You can't beat Earth, Wind & Fire. The tops! I love The Emotions, they were my ladies back in the day but are they a band?

  5. Hagar's Daughter
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 07:35:00

    Earth, Wind, & Fire is one of my favorite bands. Great choices as always.

  6. Tha Connoisseur
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 10:44:00

    I cannot stress it enough, everyone should have a little MINT in their life! :)All three pics are on it. Happy OSF.

  7. PopArtDiva
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 10:58:00

    Oh, Regina, thanks so much for the Boogie Wonderland!!!! You are so right – those costumes were “bitchen” and this was disco at it’s best!I went with one of my very favorite songs ever: The Turtles singing Happy Together in 1967Happy OSF.

  8. Dorothy
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 15:49:00

    Regina, you offer nostalgia and today we need it more then ever..blessings to you..Dorothy from grammologygrammology.com

  9. Marvalus
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 18:25:00

    Ooh…The Elements! Pure magic!Stokely just does something to me with that voice…it is so unique!Love the choices! Happy OSF!

  10. clnmike
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 09:27:00

    Mint Condition was a tight outfit.

  11. JohnH985
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 10:05:00

    Three good choices, but I lean more towards War, always liked them.

  12. SjP
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 00:45:00

    Oh my…Slipping Into Darkness! Now that takes me back to when I was young, dumb, and having so much fun! Great picks!

  13. Vivrant Thang
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 14:42:00

    Very nice picks!You already know how I feel about EWF. Favorite band ever. Hands down.I figured Mint Condition wold be a popular choice – for good reason. I was happy to spend my bday with them this year.

  14. iriegal
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 23:03:00

    Wow, a lot of folks picked Mint Condition. Well,not mentioning the fact they were FOIN as all get out, they could SANG too!EWF- one word, “REASONS”

Leave a Reply

