Governor Paterson Wants An Obesity Tax


Governor David Paterson of New York proposes an OBESITY TAX, a tax on sugared drinks like soft drinks. He says, “nearly one in every four New Yorkers under the age of 18 is obese”.
He also said, “Just as the cigarette tax has helped reduce the number of smokers and smoking-related deaths, a tax on highly caloric, non-nutritional beverages can help reduce the prevalence of obesity”.
Read the story HERE.
Do you think this will work?? Why or why not?

Social Bookmarking

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jewelry Rockstar
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 19:49:00

    That’s why I don’t drink sodas now.

  2. Hey it's Amy Shipp
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 21:31:00

    What a great idea! I do not drink soda either.

  3. Anonymous
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 01:05:00

    This is absurd. The evidence used to support this is flimsy at best. Will increasing a tax on soft drinks cut down sales? I hardly think so. It’s just another way to gain revenue for the state, using “health concerns” as an excuse. And speaking of obesity, look at his picture.l The man could lose a few pounds himself. New Yorkers should be outraged at this flagrant attempt to bilk them of money by over taxation.

  4. R.L.Scovens
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 11:29:00

    Why do people leave anonymous comments? I swear, the next one someone leaves on my blog will NEVER see the light of day. What a cop out.

  5. melanie
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 19:33:00

    I don’t like anonymous comments either. If you don’t have the guts to put your name then why post your opinion?The extra tax on non-diet soda doesn’t bother me… probably because I don’t drink soda. Some of his other ideas- cutting funding needed to give services to preschool aged special needs children bothers me the most. Most people know that the earlier those children get the services the better chance they have in life- and if they don’t get those services it could be life changing. That bothers me a whole lot more than a soda tax.

  6. SjP
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 01:40:00

    Say what???? Sugar tax? Kind of reminds me of the twinkie defense.

  7. Believer 1964
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 11:05:00

    I’m not a fan of soda and I gave up smoking over twelve years ago. I’m free! I’m free! :DBut I digress.Anonymous comments are fine with me. Remember, we have the option to disable the “anonymous” choice from our blog’s comment section. I’ve been tempted a few times to do it, but as Melanie says if I’m not willing to put my name next to the voice what’s the point.

Leave a Reply

