I Love The Movies, But…

movie-theaterHave you ever gone to the movies and got so caught up in the story that you said something out loud or maybe yelled at the screen?  Have you ever whispered something to the person sitting next to you about the movie or the actors?  I have done this on many occasions without a thought!  Does it bother you when other people talk  during a movie?  I mean, I don’t like when people just hold random conversations through the entire movie but occasional dialogue during the movie is too be expected.  I don’t expect to sit through an entire movie and no one says a word!  I can sit there and expect to hear someone yell out, “No He Didn’t!” or “Behind You!” or “Run Fool Run!” or when the bad guy gets killed, “Yes!” When something nice happens the theater says, “Aaaawww”.  I remember watching The Passion Of The Christ and the entire theater was crying…out loud!  With some movies, good ones and bad ones we should expect to hear some sort of  reaction from the people around us.  That is part of the movie experience, part of being entertained, which is the entire point of going to a movie.

While traveling the Internet this morning I came across the story about a man who threw popcorn at a family sitting in front of him in the movie theater on Christmas day because they were talking.   This guy obviously had some anger issues!  Not only did he throw popcorn at the son but he then proceeded to come around to the family and shot the father in the arm!  Evidently in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania talking in movie theaters is NOT tolerated!   According to CNN.com,

James Joseph Cialella, 29, was charged with attempted murder, aggravated assault and weapons violations, a police report said.  Cialella told the family sitting in front of him in the theater on Christmas Day to be quiet, police said.

James Cialella is in custody and the father was taken to the hospital for the gunshot wound.  Read the story HERE.

I guess next time you go to the movies you better think twice about saying things out loud OR just do not go to movie theaters in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania!



7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 15:06:13

    What the hell was he thinking?

    He needs to be under the jail.

  2. Morgan
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 15:13:32

    Disagree.
    We do not go to cinema anymore because of people who cannot shut up for a moment.
    It is not a bar, a restaurant (most people in the US think it is) it’s a cinema.
    You watch the movie & leave, you do not need your mouth to watch it. I understand if people laughing, crying, got scared.. That’s normal, but discussing completely irrelevant subjects, being an A$$ just to annoy ppl, showing off, changing diaper on a baby or regulating their dumb kids should not be allowed. The movie management should bounce all these people out. The movies are affraid to say anything because they think they will loose customers but truth is they loose WAY MORE by letting this going on.. I know a dozen or more people who do not go to movies anymore b/c of the shouting, talking eating, drinking, burfing, farting, talking on the phone people.
    Any human being w/an IQ of 50 or above should be able to remember the story an hour later and can discuss the movie w/their friends/family. There is absolutely no reason to ruin other’s fun/time.
    BTW this is not only a PA special. It’s happening everywhere in the US… and in other countries too of course, but jst because many people eat/talk/drink in the movies doesn’t mean it’s right.

  3. Nomad Flavor
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 17:04:47

    I’ve been a Movie nut for a long time and have gotten it down to a science (LOL). I go during the week when no one else seems to want to go. I like being alone and I get no issues concerning loud talking etc. Many times I’m the only one in the Theatre, or there’s only Two to Three other individuals in the whole place!!! Hey!! I have no gripess :)….

  4. Marvalus
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 22:09:31

    I read this story…he couldnt’ just shush them? I don’t condone him having a gun and shooting them at all!

    I usually go to the movies alone, and those times when I do go with others, I’m usually the shusher…I don’t like talkers…although during Seven Pounds, my friend and I were trying to figure the movie out so we were a little talkative and the woman in front of us kept looking back at us. That usually is enough for me to shut up…

  5. regina
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 22:52:38

    @ Mike – I don’t know if he was thinking at all. That is totally extreme for a movie theater issue!

    @ Morgan – thanks for stopping by, I appreciate the visit! I am not sure which point you are disagreeing with so I’m not sure how to respond. I do agree that there should be an exchange of common decency and respect for those around you! But I think the no eating and drinking is a little extreme. What would be the point of a concession stand, theaters make a large percentage of their revenue from those who buy food in the theaters.

    @ Nomad – thanks for stopping by! Great strategy! I have seen plenty a movie in the “quiet” times like you, usually matinees. so not only is it quiet, and empty but it is also cheaper!!

    @ Marva – I prefer to watch in peace also, but I can tolerate the noise around me as long as it isn’t extreme! I certainly DO NOT like to be shushed! That tends to make me want to be louder!!

  6. aj
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 04:33:14

    Hey girl – I like your new spot. I read this story the other day – folks have lost their minds and with the economy tanking I think we’ll see more and more folks losing their cookies. Come check out my latest post.

  7. Believer 1964
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 06:18:35

    I’m not in favor of folk shouting at the big screen. Still, that’s never deterred me from going.

    Interesting, I now prefer the viewing experience of movies in the comfort of my own home. It’s cheaper and I can watch it whenever I feel like it!

Leave a Reply

