Love … Online?


A new year has started and I have been thinking about some things. Being single for one! I have thoroughly enjoyed being single over the past few years (not going to say how many!). Now as I am getting older my mind has turned to the possibility of remarrying. I happened upon a website that is a database of dating websites. This site is a directory of some of the more popular dating websites. It was very … informational to scroll through the different titles of categories listed on the site! But I guess as they say “There is someone for everyone”! There were categories like: Swingers Dating sites, Sexual Orientation Dating sites, Sites listed by Ethnicity, and even Religious Dating sites! There were also categories that I would have never even thought of like Millionaire Dating sites and Fitness Dating sites!
I did not actually click on any of the categories because I am still on the fence about dating websites. Can someone actually have a successful relationship that was started via a dating website? I had a friend in New York who found someone through a dating website and it did not turn out well! Her dating horror story was not only hilarious but sad at the same time! I hear and read about successful and horrible online dating experiences all the time. Are you looking for love in 2009?
What are your thoughts about Online Dating and Dating Websites? Have you visited any?

Social Bookmarking

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ShAé - ShAé
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 22:15:00

    I have never visited an online dating website, but I have visited social networking sites which became undercover dating sites: MySpace, BlackPlanet, etc. I do know a lot of people who have tried online dating with some uh.. interesting results. I also have two friends who have gotten married to people they met on dating sites. If you want to, go for it.

  2. Marvalus
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 23:35:00

    My experience is the same as Shae’s…with this: these sites scare me. I don’t think I have the gumption to try them.One of my friends tried it, though…the first time the guy was a jerk, the second time the dude stole all the stuff out of her apartment, and the third guy turned out to be the charm…they now have been married for over 5 years!I think I woulda quit after the first one…

  3. Gill
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 01:12:00

    I have always been a bit negative about dating websites, but just lately I have heard of 3 different couples who met online and are now happily married….makes you think!

  4. Oyin
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 01:46:00

    HA…..didnt you read my blog….about internet love. Anyways, dont listen to me. I have a friend now that will be getting married soon. He met his mate online as well and they are so happy. So what works for me might not work for you…anywho, just try it for the first 6 month and if you dont…sorry Im trying to advertise here…lmao!

  5. Elizabeth Bonds
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 02:07:00

    My fiance and I met online, so I am all for it. Having said that, it is important to be safe and smart. A lot of men are on online dating sites simply for sex. They are. I met my fiance simply by using Yahoo Messenger, though. No dating sites for me. I was not looking at all, nor was he. I was looking up fellow Graphic Designers in my area via Yahoo profiles’ search thing. I saw his profile and the little smiley face lit, meaning he was online. I saw his picture and something in my stomach dropped. It was not merely a sexual attraction. It was something I could not in words describe. I IM-ed him about Graphic Design and it quickly, in days, switched to topics about us as people and whatnot. We then moved to the phone. We talked on the phone every single day for months for hours on end. We both would rush home just to call each other. Then, we met in person. It was instand that we knew. He moved in 2 weeks later. We have been together ever since. We have been together all in all for going on 10 years, but engaged for 4 of those years as of now. I believe in love online. I mean, when you think about it . . . what are the chances that your one and only . . . your soulmate, is right there in your town. Small right? I wish you luck with love this New Year!

  6. R.L.Scovens
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 08:41:00

    From someone who’s been there done that:Be prepared for lies. There ARE some decent people out there, but they are few and far between. Don’t take it too seriously!lol

  7. Robyn
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 15:23:00

    i dont advise on online dating but well i aslo have no experience on it,,i like the old fashioned way.i HATE SHORTCUTS

  8. Sandra Carvalho
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 16:20:00

    Nah!I like to keep it real!The old fashion way!hand in hand style!LOL!xoxo

  9. Days like These!
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 22:46:00

    I don’t have any personal experience with finding love online but, I think it’s POSSIBLE and ATTAINABLE to find.Good luck on whatever you decide and I know you’ll come out on top!

  10. survivor
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 11:09:00

    I have done online dating for 5 years. I have read the responses and all I can say is like anything in life, you have to be careful.I met some wonderful men online. It simply involves asking the right questions and being very upfront and straightforward about what you want.Don’t settle!Liars are everywhere. The online dating scene fits my plans because I don’t do the party scene and I am able to talk on the phone and pretty much find out if the guy and I have anything in common.It is just a DATE…as long as you remember that then it is fine. People go into these things with too much expectations. I met someone special (once) and it lasted for 2 years. We actually were soul mates. I used “BlackSingles.com.” They have a cool message board, so not only do I date I get to meet some awesome folks (and I have traveled to many meet and greets). Nothing beats a failure but a try. Good Luck,

  11. Keith
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 14:25:00

    Call me old fashioned but I don’t like or visit online dating sites..I prefer meeting people face to face. Online sites gives people too much room to be deceptive.

  12. Scorned Woman
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 14:50:00

    I think online dating is like everything in life. It’s different for everyone. Some people have success stories and others have horror stories. It’s all about whether or not you want to take a chance.

Leave a Reply

