OMG! She Wants To Drive…

The Diva-In-Training will turn 15 years old next Monday. One of the hot topics on her mind is driving! Where we live she can get a instructional permit at 15 and can get a provisional license at 16! I believe her school offers driver’s education and she already said she is going to find out about getting into the classes.
At her school the majority of the cars in the parking lot are driven by the students! This is all very concerning to me. I think she really believes that she is getting a car for her 16th birthday… Ha, yea good luck with that! When she does get a car, her car insurance will have to be all inclusive, tons of coverage and a good price. I want comparative rates and to save on insurance without compromising coverage. I can’t believe I am even thinking about her, cars, and driving but she IS growing up…
Gone are the sweet days of innocence. The barbie dolls, the Bratz dolls, the toys, now it’s cellphones, mp3 players, Baby Phat jewelery… ***sigh*** and DRIVING!
Where has the time gone!!
However she has not gotten too grown yet. She still demands daily hugs (and she is a clinger! wants to hang on for like 10, 20 minutes…). The family often does things together, outings, board games, movies, etc.
It’s not ALL about the cars! Not yet anyway…

Social Bookmarking

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Revvy Rev
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 07:33:00

    I am sooo glad I am past those days. Nobody but the Lord. I was so nervous, but it worked out. I was semi-fine as long as others were providing the driving lessons, but I was too nervous and made the daughters too nervous by my critique.Thank you Regina for helping me get my feet wet in the blogosphere and for continued support. I am eternally grateful and speak for many, many others.

  2. Believer 1964
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 09:00:00

    WOW! That’s a whole other direction from Bratz dolls to cars. Well, I did get my license early. My lessons were paid for. However, I owned my first car at 20!

  3. Regina
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 10:46:00

    @ Rev – I am still nervous when I ride with my grown son! so you know thinking about my youngest one driving is very un-nerving!!I take it by the second part of your response that you have something for me!!! I’ll swing by later today! It is always my pleasure to support those who are trying to do something good with their voice!We all have a voice, we just need to be mindful of WHAT we are saying and WHO we are saying it to!@ Believer – she was a Bratz doll fanatic, she loved doing their hair! then she out grew them and started playing with her own hair!! The thought of this girl driving is sure a scary one!

  4. Days like These!
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 16:55:00

    Very exciting for her. Terrifyng for Mom as always 🙂

  5. melanie
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 22:12:00

    I can’t believe she is that old. NO WAY!! I am NOT looking forward to those days at all.

  6. julia
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 23:52:00

    Hi Regina.I just had a 15th birthday girl! I have a 17 y.o. boy and I am still a nervous wreck when he drives. He does not drive my other kids…I am not putting all of my chicks in one basket! Good luck with the lessons…I outsourced it…I was too nervous to teach ha haJuliawww.backcounterbuffet.blogspot.com

  7. Marcus LANGFORD
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 15:31:00

    thanks for the mldtees.com plug regina. i am not sure if you meant to post this pic reppin’ mldtees.com, but i really appreciate it nonetheless :-)on the matter at hand. driving is a privilege and i think it is important for every teen should understand that. my father made it clear that a car can just as easily become your coffin as it is your means of transportation. if your daughter is known to be responsible, then she will be find behind the wheel of a car.

Leave a Reply

