Old School Friday #47 "Graduation Year"

Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What today is… Old School Friday!
In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

Today should be a nice mixture of some of EVERYTHING because today’s theme is:

Graduation Year

Electronic VillageFresh And FabRegina ThinksKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe ConnoisseurKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevProf. PCInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

My Graduation Year had all types of hits!
Lover Girl – Teena Marie

Don’t You Forget About Me – Simple Minds

Rock The Bells – LL Cool J

Social Bookmarking

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robyn
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 06:35:00

    lol Regina remeber Doin it by LL cool j.where did all the good rappers go.

  2. Revvy Rev
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 08:09:00

    I always like your picks and can never predict them. The LL choice, I remember well. Happy OSF!

  3. Prof. PC
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 08:30:00

    Great picks! I love LL and Tina Marie. Happy OSF!

  4. Tha Connoisseur
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 09:56:00

    The forever funky Teena Marie!! Love that track. And who can forget the Breakfast Club – classic. Happy OSF lady!

  5. Regina
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 10:00:00

    @ Robyn – Robyn,All the good rappers got paid, went to the bank and stopped working hard for our respect…@ Rev – LOL! Thanks Rev! Then I am doing my job right. I like being unpredictable! I was never cut out for status quo!!@ Prof. PC – There is NO female in the market today with talent like Teena Marie! As for LL, see my comment to Robyn above.

  6. Regina
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 10:01:00

    @ Tha Connoisseur – The Breakfast club certainly is a classic. One of my favorites! Teena Marie was One Of A Kind!

  7. Mema
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 11:40:00

    I loved the movie “The Breakfast Club”.As for LL, what can you say, he was one of the few rappers whose words I could actually understand. lol

  8. Villager
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 11:56:00

    Happy OSF! Three excellent choices. LL Cool J did a remarkable job of creating a long-term career … but, his magic was his music. And Teena Marie brings back pleasant memories … my favorite from her is “Deja Vu”.I invite your blog readers to check out my tribute to Bootsy Collins and Parliament Funkadelic. I graduated from high school in 1976 when Bootsy’s Rubber Band and the George Clinton’s P-Funk were at the height of their powers. Back then we didn’t have television videos, so the musical talent needed to be creative with their visuals on top of having excellent music. Did you ever attend a funk-music concert back in the day?peace, Villager

  9. Hey Shae!
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 14:01:00

    Teena Marie was the truth girl. I really wish she hadn’t been fooling around with the ‘stuff’ back then. Classic Breakfast Club anthem. I used to be in some serious infatuation with LL back then lol.

  10. Keith
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 14:09:00

    Happy OSF Regina!I’m not much for LL, but Teena Marie’s my girl. She always had some serious pipes back from the days when she was hangin with Rick James. And it’s so funny to see she picked up one of Rick’s trademark show props of pretending to play an instrument while on stage. As a guitarist myself, it’s hilarious to watch her hand motions on the neck, and then listen to the guitar part of the music.But it’s all good. Teena got hired for her voice, and on that she never disappointed.Great choice!Oh, and on Simple Minds. I didn;t know a lot about that band, but I do remember that song very clear. And I was a huge fan of that movie when it came out.

  11. Marvalus
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 18:10:00

    As always Regina…you are delivering it!!And we are only 4 years apart…I love it!

  12. Hagar's Daughter
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 18:34:00

    Hi Regina,Good things happened in ’84 – happy silver reunion to you too.Nice choices. LL was doin’ it; Teena is great.

  13. laKeshia @ Kreative Talk
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 07:59:00

    LL Cool J was the truth! Love it! Happy OSF!

  14. clnmike
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 08:05:00

    Major props for the LL joint.

  15. Dori
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 14:40:00

    I love all of the picks. These are all classics. Regina, you and I were coming out of high school around the same time 🙂 Thanks for the memories.I have an award for you at my blog. Please swing by to pick it up 🙂

  16. msladydeborah
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 01:58:00

    Regina,You get nothing but love from me for posting Teena Marie. That use to be my jam.The Breakfast Club is on the list of my favorite teen movies. I just watched it recently. It is a trip!LL represents a different era of rap. One that made sense to me as a parent.Great choices.And your Princess is a cutie pie!

  17. Torrance Stephens - All-Mi-T
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 10:43:00

    look at u rocking the bells

  18. MrsGrapevine
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 14:21:00

    Wow you hit every genre, and I love each one of these songs. My best friend and I was obsessed with Molly Ringwald and John Hughes movies, so of course Simple Minds is a classic. Breakfast Club Rocks!Teena Marie has some serious hits, but my favorite is If I Were A Bell. I liked her slower side more, with the exception for Out On A Limb, that’s just my jam.I remember going to the Sock Hop when this LL Cool J song came out. I was in elementary.

  19. SjP
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 16:07:00

    I’m “hip” to Tina Marie and have heard the cut from the Breakfast Club. My kids “rediscovered” it on dvd and it seems to always be on the tv. Not familiar with the LL cut because in 1984 I was in la la land trying to get another abbreviation behind my name… So what else happened in 1984! LOL

  20. cooper
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 23:53:00

    Nice choices, I love finding out when everyone graduated.

Leave a Reply

