Days Of My Youth…

When I was growing up life and times were much simpler. The world moved at a little slower pace. The kids actually played outside, were active and used their imaginations.
When younger we played games like Mother May I; Red Rover; Red Devil; Hide & Seek. All of which involved running. On the weekends you saw kids outside playing until the sun went down (Man, don’t let those street lights catch you outside!). You would NEVER find kids inside on computers, on video games, or just lying around listening to mp3 players! Obesity was not even a word that we had ever heard of! TV watching was down to a minimum. But two night time shows that I absolutely LOVED were “Love Boat” & “Fantasy Island”. The were funny and entertaining sitcoms. Looking back on them now, yea they were cheesy but they were entertaining.

I just found out that actor Ricardo Gonzalo Pedro Montalban y Merino better known as Ricardo Montalban has died at the age of 88. Very sad news. He was born in Mexico in 1920 and died in California on 1/14/09. In case you youngins’ have no clue who he was. He played the role of Mr. Roarke from Fantasy Island, among other television roles. In the late 70’s Mr. Roarke was a part of my youth. I found it fascinating how he made people’s fantasies come true. There was always some sort of mystery to be solved! Always someone who needed to know that they really did matter, always some sort of magic to make! Plus he had that funny little side kick “Tattoo”!!

R.I.P Ricardo Montalban… You will be missed.

Social Bookmarking

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Fearless Blog
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 17:43:00

    Oh Regina I remember those times too. Love Boat and Fantasy Island were a must see in my home. You are right the dreams we had as children, the innocent and peaceful times we spent may never return, but we will always remember. Nice tribute to Mr. Roarke.Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

  2. overanalyzeit
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 23:55:00

    this was my favorite show when I was a kid. Condolences to the family.

  3. Mary
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 04:41:00

    I loved to watch Fantasy Island. So sad Ricardo is gone.

  4. Marvalus
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 22:15:00

    Dang…when I read this I instantly remember him standing, waiting for the guests to arrive…always looking so smooth and dapper in that white suit.Wow…so sad.

  5. Hey Shae!
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 00:45:00

    I remember watching TV only in the winter when it was too cold or had too much snow on the ground to play outside.We did a lot more exercising, plus gym was mandatory. Things have changed.. and not for the better.RIP- to Ricardo Montablan. Fantasy Island had a great concept.

  6. Marcus LANGFORD
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 09:03:00

    Ya know I never who Ricardo Montalban was until I heard two lions bring his name up on a Taco Bell commercial during the Super Bowl a couple of years ago (gotta YouTube that sis); I never watched ‘Fantasy Island’ so I never knew he was on that show, but for what reason I vaguely remember the midget (excuse me, let me be politically correct and say “little person”).Anyway, yes the days of kids being outside playing have come and went because technology has kids sittin’ on their butts packin’ on the pounds. Growing up, my oldest brother were always getting into trouble because we just couldn’t beat that street light…lol. My little brother he is just as active and come to think of it he doesn’t have a video game system or remotely interested in computers though he is a brainiac; he’s only concerned about playing, but that lifestyle has him lean and mean…lol.

  7. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 03:17:00

    Hey Regina!Yeah… I remember him! I remember how he used to say: “welcome to Fantasy Island” with his distinguished accent.I remember Tatoo!! “De plane! De plane!”He was the first dwarf on a hit series, I think.Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!Lisa

Leave a Reply

