Old School Friday #49 "Originals ~VS~ Remakes!

Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What today is… Old School Friday!
In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

Originals ~vs~ Remakes

Electronic VillageFresh And FabRegina ThinksKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe ConnoisseurKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevProf. PCInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

You all who have been coming by my spot for a while should know by now that I try to think outside of the box. I try to post things that no one else would think of and I think I have you all this week!!

Sukiyaki, by it’s original title was Ue o muite arukō but they thought Americans would not be able to remember that name, let alone say it, so it was renamed Sukiyaki prior to the US release. And by the way SUKIYAKI has NOTHING to do with the song, it was just a catchy and easy title!
Sukiyaki – Kyu Sakamoto (Japan release 1961 / US & UK release 1963)

I LOVE Old School Friday!!!!
Enjoy!

Social Bookmarking

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hagar's Daughter
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 02:32:00

    That’s such a pretty song in any language. Thanks for the Selena tribute.Happy OSF!

  2. Prof. PC
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 08:03:00

    Great picks! I totally forgot about this song, and the many people who covered it.

  3. The True Urban Queen aka Sharon
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 08:06:00

    I was in love with that song when I was younger.And no I did not know Selena remade it.I like the 1980’s one.Have a good weekend.

  4. pjazzypar
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 08:33:00

    I absolutely loved “Taste of Honey”. whatever happened to Janice and Hazel? I did not know that Selena had also covered the song and quite nicely I might add. Happy OSF!

  5. Keith
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 08:47:00

    Regina!These picks of yours were really inspired. Great, great choice. I always did like that song just because it was so different from the other stuff that was out there at the time, but to hook up the Japanese connection and then to get Selena’s version in too? Neither of which I knew about by the way. This was great. Made my OSF!

  6. Revvy Rev
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 09:22:00

    Wonderful Choice! I also love and had forgotten about Taste of Honey. The song is beautiful and performed well by all.

  7. Torrance Stephens - All-Mi-T
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 09:43:00

    i didnt know that

  8. FickleMinded
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 10:08:00

    that was so sweet! and btw, I have an Award For You 🙂

  9. LaKeshia @ Kreative Talk
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 11:02:00

    I like both songs and I didn’t know Selena remade this song! Back in the day, I used to keep up with Selena, but I guess I missed this one!

  10. MrsGrapevine
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 12:46:00

    Thank you so much. I never knew why in the hect that song was called Sukiyaki. Why didn't you put Slick Rick's version from Lodi Dodi on the list?The third version is interesting. This song crosses all languages and genres.Now that I think of it, another R&B group did this song, I think it was All 4 One.

  11. Believer 1964
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 14:04:00

    I’m voting that you get this week’s trophy for Best OSF!Love is translated the same in any language. I also did a love song this week.

  12. jjbrock
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 14:05:00

    Regina, I forgot about the Taste of Honey great song.

  13. Vérité Parlant
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 14:08:00

    Beautiful picks. Thank you so much for thinking outside the box. Good stuff.

  14. Marvalus
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 18:29:00

    I didn’t know this was titled “Sukiyaki” either…dang, I’m learning stuff today!

  15. SjP
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 10:03:00

    Great song in any language. Pretty partial to Selena’s, though.

  16. iriegal
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 23:54:00

    What wonderful tributes. Great choices this week Regina! Such a tragedy with Selena

  17. Vivrant Thang
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 02:58:00

    Couldn’t get any of the vids to play. Convinced YT shuts down after a certain hour 🙂 But seems like a good pick from everyone’s comments. And I took appreciate you thinking outside the box!

  18. whenevawhateva
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 11:56:00

    This is a great choice. I had no idea how they came up with the title “Sukiyaki.” It always seemed so random.

  19. Oyin
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 10:37:00

    You know how to pickem huh…..I like that!

  20. PopArtDiva
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 12:31:00

    Regina – You really did think outside the box on this one and it was great thinking!I always liked this song even though I never understood the words since the original version was my generations version. I loved that you told us about the title too!Thanks for a great memory and a truly wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

