Old School Friday #50 ~New Edition~

Hi There Bloggers!!
You Know What today is… Old School Friday!
In case you are new around these parts and don’t know what “Old School Friday” is, well it is grown folks MUSIC! Yes we post some music that comes from some time before 1999, (hopefully) to relive some memories, and to educate or just entertain each other.
Ms Grapevine and MarvalusOne have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday and since I love my music I had to sign up to join! To join in the Old School Friday Fun go Here for guidelines.

New Edition

Electronic VillageFresh And FabRegina ThinksKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CassandraKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe ConnoisseurKreative Talk

Marvalus One ReginaClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevProf. PCInvisible Woman

Beleiver 1964 CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

You Tube tried to make this theme impossible because after going through TEN different videos I kept getting the same message “Embedding disabled by request”. I was so disappointed because I thought this was really going to be easy. See, all the OSF participants know that PRINCE has all of his videos on lock, so we expect that, but I had no clue that New Edition locked down their videos also. No! No! No! You can take Prince but at least leave me New Edition…Pleaseeeeeeee. Very disappointing…. But I found a way! HA!
Enjoy!

Can You Stand The Rain – New Edition

It was hard but I got them!
Happy OSF!!

Social Bookmarking

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Believer 1964
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 00:09:00

    I have heard most of New Edition’s music from OSF and I’m not sure why that is. Mine is up also, but it’s my final OSF.You know I’ll be around!

  2. SjP
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 00:38:00

    NE hit the scene after my time – so I had a hard time making a selection. And then I remembered Johnnie!But, must say, I’m enjoying watching the youngsters do their thing! LOL

  3. Dori
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 02:43:00

    I love the New Edition! “Can You Stand the Rain” was my favorite 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  4. MrsGrapevine
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 11:07:00

    Can You Stand the Rain, should be on every blog today. That’s when they finally got they’re grown man on.Still in Love is great because it was the first album with all six members, and although they didn’t get along, they sure made a hit…

  5. Vérité Parlant
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 12:23:00

    Great choice. “I’m Still in Love With You” is a beautiful video and I know that if I’d heard the song when it was climbing the charts I would have liked it.Also like your Black History widget at the top and will probably grab it.How do you get OSF people to add your blog to their list? I’ve been participating about four Fridays now but I think only two or three people put me on their list.

  6. PopArtDiva
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 12:55:00

    Yeah, what is it about this dumb disabling by request movement??? Hey, where’d they get those videos in the first place? A lot of the “disablers” aren’t the groups themselves!Good for you, you got around it!

  7. Thembi
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 13:06:00

    I love love LOVED “I’m still in Love With You” and almost picked it. I’m glad somebody did. I know what I’m going to be jamming to on my commute home…

  8. iriegal
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 14:49:00

    You have this down pack sis! I know I am too “OLD” to be lusting at some of these young bucks…BUT I AM DOING IT ANYWAY…lolHAPPY OSF

  9. clnmike
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 15:04:00

    Those were classics, that the wonderful thing about them you have a wide selection to choose from.

  10. Quick
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 15:12:00

    …”suunny days, can you stand the rain?” I love this song! Happy OSF!

  11. Tha Connoisseur
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 16:34:00

    I knew “Can You Stand The Rain” would be popular today – as it should be!!And “I’m Still In Love With You” was classy, grown NE. I played the album last night to get me in my NE zone!

  12. LaKeshia @ Kreative Talk
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 02:38:00

    “I’m Still In Love With You” is my all time favorite! I’m with everyone else…this is when they really got their grown man on! Happy OSF!

  13. Sandra Carvalho
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 13:05:00

    Great songs!Awesome videos!Love them both!Even my older boy (Filipe who’s 11)is saying :«great beat mom!»LOL!What can I say it’s in his blood! ;)Have a great weekend Regina!xoxoxo

  14. Hey Shae!
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 17:07:00

    Can You Stand the Rain is my favorite NE song after the addition of Johnny Gill. He worked his part of the song. 🙂

  15. Angelika
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 07:38:00

    I’ve nominated you for a blog award. Stop by my blog and check it out! 🙂

  16. Malcolm
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 18:18:00

    It looks like most of the ladies who participated in this OSF picked “Can You Stand the Rain”. Even though I didn’t select it, it is a damn good ballad. I’m glad to see you found a “You Tube workaround”. I have found that Daily Motion is a pretty good source for clips. The video quality seems to be a little better as opposed to You Tube as well.

  17. Marvalus
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 21:56:00

    Good choices as always, Ms. Regina…that Home Again album is still in rotation at my house!

  18. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 17:04:00

    Hi Regina,I am a bit embarrassed to admit that I used to like “Can You Stand The Rain” back in the day….What can I say? I was young!! *LOL*Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!Lisa

Leave a Reply

