25 Authors Who Influenced Me…

I was tagged by SJP of Sojourner’s Place about a week or so ago. So I am finally getting around to posting it! It some how got out that I love reading and so this tag is right up my alley! I have to write down the 25 writers who influenced me.
When I was younger I have been know to take a book to family functions or even to parties, find me a nice spot and read! I still carry books around with me to this day. I always loved those commercials that said “Reading Is Fundamental!” because it is. When is the last time you read a good book?
Firstly, let me say that everyone on this list did not influence me in the traditional way but everyone on this list has written something(s) that had a lasting impression on me for various reasons.
Secondly let me say that I am not a pigeon hole type of person and that also goes for my reading. I read what pleases, engages, excites, frightens, or brings me joy!!!
Enjoy the list!

With the exception of number 1 on this list the writers are in no particular order.

  1. Jackie Spencer (My mom just published her first book, I’ll blog about it later)!
  2. Judy Blume
  3. Stephen Edwin King
  4. Maya Angelou
  5. Langston Hughes
  6. Mark Twain
  7. Zora Neal Hurston
  8. Alex Hailey
  9. Nikki Giovanni
  10. Martin Luther King Jr.
  11. All the Writers of the Bible (Especially Solomon!)
  12. Virginia Hamilton
  13. Lorraine Hansberry
  14. Agatha Christie
  15. Frederick Douglass
  16. Charles Dickens
  17. Dr. William Edward Burghardt Dubois
  18. Edgar Allen Poe
  19. Octavia Butler
  20. Phyllis Wheatley
  21. Tananarive Due
  22. Charlotte Bronte
  23. Emily Bronte
  24. Donald Goines
  25. William Shakespeare

Whew!!!!!!!!! There are more but these came to mind first!
I am supposed to tag 25 people…Yea, I will tag 5 people!

So, Melanie, Dori, Keith, Marva, & Shae, TAG, You’re it!!

Social Bookmarking

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hey Shae!
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 04:44:00

    OK, so I was up late and this is now done. Never expect such a quick turn around again. LOL

  2. Revvy Rev
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 06:12:00

    You have a nice well-rounded mix which is fitting for such a well-rounded blogger as yourself.

  3. Dori
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 11:58:00

    Hey Regina,Thanks for including me. This is right up my alley too 🙂 I will get my list together and get it posted in a couple of days once I get back from London. Have a great weekend 🙂

  4. Keith
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 08:47:00

    Hey Regina, Thanks for tagging me..If you get a chance to drop my my site today, you’ll see that I’ve posted my list also. We have some of the same good tatses in writers…Great minds think alike!

  5. Torrance Stephens - All-Mi-T
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 07:48:00

    great list

  6. Quick
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 15:52:00

    Bronte is the truth; loved Wuthering Heights; lol

  7. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 16:03:00

    Hey there!This is an interesting meme and I’ve seen some great lists so far on several blogs…your list is very well-rounded as RevvyRev has said!Peace, blessings and godliness,Lisa

  8. Hadias
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 14:59:00

    Lorraine Hansberry (Mrs.Hansberry) was my 6th grade creative writing teacher. Boy…did she change my life. She cultivated such a love of reading and writing within me.When I learned later that she had stopped taeching and had become an author, I contacted her and learned that we both left NYC and moved to the South. So we are still in the same state.She is definitly a person that made a substantial impact on my life.Mrs.Hansberry is a phenomonal woman.

Leave a Reply

