Hair, Beautiful Hair …Naturally!!

I have been talking about it for ever and I am serious about it! I am talking about Natural hair! There seems to be an entire movement back to natural hair! It has been about 2 months since I permed my hair and for me that is a big, huge, monumental deal!! I used to perm my hair religiously every 3-4 weeks. So for me 2 months is ground breaking! I made a commitment to joining a gym and I did (and I am actually sticking with it). I also made a decision to go natural, and so far so good.

I am in a transition period from perm to natural. I am transitioning because I did not want to do the big chop (cutting it all off). I have about 2 inches of the thick natural stuff and the ends are the old permed stuff. I has not been too hard to maintain because I have my own personal hair dresser (The Diva). She does my hair every week. I keep it conditioned and moisturized because the natural part soaks up moisture but the permed part can break off easily. So I wash and condition (or sometimes I just rinse and condition) and then the Diva does her thing. Diva does my hair in a curly twist out. That is a combination of a roller set & a twist out.

For those of you who do not know a twist out is simply, parting the hair in sections (I like my section really small) and then taking the sections and performing a two strand twist. After she twists a section she rolls it on rollers (we are using very small rollers now, but we may change later). I let it air dry, usually over night and then I unroll, and separate the twist with my fingers. She twists and rolls once a week and I just maintain my shine and moisture! The first 2 days they are kind of tight but as I moisturize throughout the week they loosen up!

I am actually loving my hair like this. The Diva and the Chef-in-Training keep laughing, saying that I am going to have afro-puffs soon!! They are big haters!!
I just ordered some Carol’s Daughter products and they should arrive next week. I’m excited because I have heard so much about Carol’s Daughter products, so I’ll let you know how I like them. I also ordered something from Baremineral Indulgence, I’ll let you know how that works out also.

I made a deal with the Diva, and since she is officially my hairdresser I am going to pay her $20 bucks a week. she takes a lot of pride in her work, I had my fingers in my hair playing with some of the curls and that girl popped me on the hand!!! Yea, she is taking this a little too far!!!!
Anyway, that is my hair escapades update!

Smooches!!!!!!!!!

Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marvalus
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 18:43:00

    It looks good so far! I’ve been thinking of doing the same thing…but I’m still standing on the side of the jump rope, waiting for the right moment to jump in…

  2. Shelia
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 00:53:00

    I’m feeling it girl, it’s working on you. I have given it a lot of thought too, but I’m rockin’ back and forth waiting to jump in like Marvalus.

  3. bluedreamer27
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 01:22:00

    hey thats nice hello reginahave a great day and happy blogging

  4. Stormee
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 08:21:00

    I used to perm my hair all the time too. I have been natural and locked for 14 years now. I have cut my locks 4 times, I don’t think I will cut them any more. But I love my hair natural. I am almost all gray now too so now it is alllll the way natural. Your hair looks great. And I encourage you to continue on.

  5. Regina
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 08:32:00

    @ Marva & Sheila – LOL!!! I know the feeling. I have been on that side of the rope for almost 2 years. But I finally realized that it is HAIR and if I don't like it I can always go back to my perms. BUT, I am liking this way too much!!!!!!!@ Blue – Thanks! I love it so far!@ Stormee – Thanks for the encouragement! I didn't think I would like it but so far I love it! Now… I don't know about the 14 years!!!! But I'll take it one day at a time!

  6. Marcus LANGFORD
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 18:02:00

    I’m really feelin’ the au naturale sis; it’s definitely becoming!Nothing is more attractive than a woman who wears her hair naturally. I’ve been fortunate enough to have married and dated women that didn’t wear weaves or perm their hair often. Natural hair is sexy, so keep rockin’ it sis.

  7. bluedreamer27
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 19:51:00

    hello regina just dropping by here againhave a great day and happy bloggingand belated happy april fools day as well

  8. Believer
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 23:24:00

    You look great! So glad to hear you’re takin’ care of you.

  9. that girl boo
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 23:45:00

    Gosh your hair looks so lovely, now only if I could get my natural hair to look half as good, a sista would be on cloud 9. Keep up the good work, and count on me to keep stopping by.

  10. bluedreamer27
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 01:44:00

    hi reginai got a tag for youhope you like it

  11. Dori
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 06:03:00

    Love your hair Regina. I have been going natural for a while and I love it too. As you mentioned, it makes it easier when you are into working out. I can’t wait to hear how the new products work out for you:-) Looking good girl!

  12. Quick
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 10:26:00

    this look suits you well! i recently blogged about Carol’s Daughter, good products!

  13. Sandra Carvalho
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 14:21:00

    Woo hoo!You’re lookin’ hot girl!And I LOOOOVE your hair!xoxoxo

  14. AJ
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 12:36:00

    Looking good. I went natural about 4 years ago and I’m loving it.

  15. SjP
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 14:59:00

    Looks great! I went natural about 7 years ago. Love it! Makes my life so much easier. But, still got this one little problem – no matter how many times I dye my hair it still turns to ‘panda’ after a few weeks. LOL

  16. MOMSWEB
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 10:20:00

    Good for you on going natural. It’s been a while since this post, so how’s the naturality going? I did this about a year ago, but ended up doing the big chop. My sons now have more hair than I do (smile). I LOVE the freedom…get up and go! I enjoyed my visit to your blog. Happy Resurrection Day!

  17. Selena
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 06:26:22

    Hey Gina! Girl it looks GREAT!! You know I made the plunge in Dec 08 and now my hairs long enough to sport in its own pony tail! And let me tell you: I'm never going back. Between MissJessies & HairRules my hair ALWAYS looks great!! And don't worry about the big chop, it'll grow quick like it always does. Smooches + hugs

Leave a Reply

