Nobility, Royalty, Queen…Act Accordingly!


When I get on the computer in the morning the first thing I do is check my email. My email inbox is always full of surprises! I check out what job sites have sent me updates, I check out what email jokes have landed in my inbox (My sister goes to work and feels it is her duty to pass on every Internet joke that she receives … Thanks Sis!), I check out what facebook notifications I received and I check what comments have been posted to my 2 blogs. All of the comments posted to my blog are sent to me via email. The people who come to my blog and leave comments take time out of their day to read something that I posted AND leave me a comment so I feel it is only fitting that I take the time to respond to them. I try to respond to everyone who leaves me a comment via email, however some commenters do not have that email response capability activated so I try to pop by their blog and leave a comment. I truly believe that giving and receiving go hand in hand!
Anyway…
This morning in my inbox I found a comment from Msladydeborah, who by the way has an awesome blog! She commented on my Old School Friday blog post which was really about my grand baby, The Little Princess. By the way I do want to take a minute to say I appreciate, love and respect EVERYONE who dropped by to show me some love on that post! You guys helped me get through that day and the weekend, because I was really in a FUNK (I didn’t even go to the gym, but I MADE UP FOR IT YESTERDAY!!!)! I love my blog family & You Old School Folks really ROCK!!

Anyway… moving on!
So in reading MsladyD’s comment I discovered that she awarded me the “Noblesse Oblige” award! I was thrilled because as you know I love gifts! But I really had no clue what the “Noblesse Oblige” award really meant. I went to her blog and read her post on it and I liked what I read. It said:
This award is presented to:
1/ The Blogger manifests exemplary attitude, respecting the nuances that pervades amongst different cultures and beliefs.
2/ The Blog contents inspire; strives to encourage and offers solutions.
3/ There is a clear purpose at the Blog; one that fosters a better understanding on Social, Political, Economic, the Arts, Culture and Sciences and Beliefs.
4/ The Blog is refreshing and creative.
5/ The Blogger promotes friendship and positive thinking.

I was impressed! WOW… but some understanding was still lacking because I didn’t know what the words “Noblesse Oblige” meant so I googled it (I do that a lot!!), and on wikipedia I found this:

In French, “noblesse oblige” means, literally, “nobility obligates”.

According to the French Wiktionary, the Dictionnaire de l’Académie française defines it thus:

1. Whoever claims to be noble must conduct himself nobly.

2. (Figuratively) One must act in a fashion that conforms with one’s position, and with the reputation that one has earned.

The Oxford English Dictionary says that the term “suggests noble ancestry constrains to honourable behavior; privilege entails to responsibility.” Being a noble meant that you had responsibilities to lead, manage, etc. You were not to simply spend your time in idle pursuits.

Noblesse oblige” is generally used to imply that with wealth, power and prestige come responsibilities. The phrase is sometimes used derisively, in the sense of condescending or hypocritical social responsibility. In American English especially, the term has also been applied more broadly to those who are capable of simple acts to help another, usually one who is less fortunate.
In ethical discussion, it is sometimes used to summarize a moral economy wherein privilege must be balanced by duty towards those who lack such privilege or who cannot perform such duty. Finally, it has been used recently primarily to refer to public responsibilities of the rich, famous and powerful, notably to provide good examples of behaviour or to exceed minimal standards of decency.

WOW! Now I was really impressed. As a child of God I can definitely claim Nobility and my name “Regina” actually means Queen or Royalty, so this works for me! This is the image I am portraying to others? AWESOME…
I actually took a moment to pray and thank God because without Him, for me nothing is possible. All I am is because of God!
So this award which has been bestowed upon me is not just a badge to display but actually a call to action. There is no time for complacency because there is yet WORK TO DO!!!

Thank you MsLadyDeborah!! For the awesome honor AND the much needed reminder!

Peace & Love! Make Every Day Count!

Please visit my other blog:
You Won’t Believe This…

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MOMSWEB
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 12:45:00

    And thank YOU for the vocabulary lesson. I definitely learned something new today!Congratulations on your award; you truly deserve it!

  2. underOvr (aka The U)
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 19:47:00

    Hi Regina,Ms. Lady Deborah recommended your blog and I wanted to stop by and say, “Congratualtions on receiving this award”.She says your writing is, “honest and from the heart”, qualities I find in her blog as well.I look forward to reading more from you.U

  3. Villager
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 07:45:00

    Happy WW! Congrats on this blogging award. You definitely deserve it!I invite your blog readers to see a great photo of A Man and His Dog…peace, Villager

  4. Mema
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 08:56:00

    Thank you Msladydeborah for bestowing that award upon Regina.You said to her what she would never recieve from her family, because she thinks we love and honor her just because she is family. She has a hard time understanding that we see in her what you see. She thinks that we are not objective when it comes to her; but we can be and at times are!Congratulations Regina. Danayja couldn’t be the Little Princess unless there was a Queen Mother. David is the Prince. Remember that royalty like the oil of annointing flows from the head down.

  5. MrsGrapevine
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 09:54:00

    I like blogging, you really get know me in intimate ways, that takes time to build face to face. Be encouraged, and stay encouraged…

  6. Quick
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 21:20:00

    …what an uplifting post; and i love that you give God all the credit!

  7. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 15:34:00

    Hey there Regina!!Congratulations on the award!!It is an important peer award and you are so deserving!Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!Lisa

  8. iriegal
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 20:32:00

    A well deserved honor. I tell everyone on my 10 blogs about you…really wonderful dedication and time you take in making us a part of your life, by sharing in your joys, heartaches and everything else..Yep MsDeborah was right.onelove..iriegal

Leave a Reply

