Old School Friday #62 "At The Cook Out!…"

Friday, Friday, Friday!!
The Week Is Finally Over!! I love Fridays because I get to travel all over the web listening to great music posted by my blogging friends for Old School Friday! Summer is right around the corner and I KNOW what you are thinking… Family Cook Outs, Family Reunion, Bar-B-Q! Tis the season to gather and break bread with your broke, lying cousins, your drunk uncle Bubba and your pretentious, hating aunt Suzy (who thinks her kids are soooo great, famous & rich… ugh!). Anyway, it’s your family and you LOVE them regardless!
I am very interested to see what my fellow OSF participants post with this theme.

“At The Cook Out…”
Ms Grapevine and MsMarvalus have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday. To join in the Old School Friday Fun go HERE for guidelines. Here are the other OSF Participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabpprscribeKim

Ms GrapevineQuick Marcus LANGFORD

CCGroovyKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe Connoisseur

ReginaMsMarvalusClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevProf. PCInvisible Woman

CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

For your backyard soul train line!

Every cook out needs this brown liquor song!!
Family Reunion – The O’ Jays

I could do this theme all day long! There is so much great music that you hear at BBQ’s!!
Enjoy Your Weekend!

Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mz.Bria2U
    May 01, 2009 @ 08:41:00

    excellente choices as usual, Regina!! Even the worse dancer can dance to One Nation Under a Groove lol

  2. Revvy Rev
    May 01, 2009 @ 08:43:00

    The Funkadelics are a must on the play list at a BBQ. I have always loved the OJays’ Family Reunion and considered it also. These are typical Great choices from you Regina. Happy OSF.

  3. Prof. PC
    May 01, 2009 @ 09:23:00

    I forgot all about Summertime. That’s when rap was clean. Great pick, and happy OSF!

  4. CCGroovy!!!
    May 01, 2009 @ 10:02:00

    I can smell the charcoals burning…!!!

  5. Believer
    May 01, 2009 @ 10:06:00

    I have never heard of Family Reunion. It’s soothing and makes me think of family times. 🙂

  6. Keith
    May 01, 2009 @ 10:21:00

    Well I know I don’t have to tell you which one was my favorite…If it’s Funkadelic, that’s all I need to know.And I knew somebody was gonna break out the O’Jays!

  7. Shelia
    May 01, 2009 @ 12:30:00

    O’Jays Family Reunion, now you know that was the jam!

  8. Dori
    May 01, 2009 @ 12:38:00

    I LOVE all of your picks! They bring back such good memories for me. It’s amazing how songs can instantly take you back to another time or place or even for me, another country 🙂 Happy OSF Regina and Happy Weekend!

  9. PPR_Scribe
    May 01, 2009 @ 12:50:00

    Luvit! Another funky family whose reunion I can crash! Great picks. In my fam we’d have to have the obligatory gospel music hour, but by about the time the foil goes off of the peach cobbler we could bust out the stuff we could dance to!I chose as one of my pick’s Kool and the Gang’s “Summer Madness” that Will and Jeff sampled for their song. On my big summertime playlist I have these two jams back to back.

  10. MrsGrapevine
    May 01, 2009 @ 13:09:00

    I try to go in alphabetical order, but I have to skip some people to get over here.Tell me why you have the sound reunion soundtrack. Parliament is a must at every family reunion, all them old school thugs, got to get their grove on.It’s not summer for me until Summertime is played. Will Smith and Jazzy are like my ground hog day.The O’Jays is the soundtrack!!!

  11. Villager
    May 01, 2009 @ 15:24:00

    Happy OSF! O’Jays ‘Family Reunion’ is my favorite of the choices you provided! I invite your blog readers to get their mind right with the mellow sounds of Kool and the Gang. Only visit if you can handle summer madness…peace, Villager

  12. iriegal
    May 01, 2009 @ 17:00:00

    You have me in the library rocking, (folks probably think I am on something…lol)..WOw, really good picks..Mine is up now. I just got off work and able to do it..HAPPY OSF DAY

  13. pjazzypar
    May 01, 2009 @ 18:06:00

    The Funkadelics are the bomb. I figured that a lot of people would go with Family Reunion. Happy OSF.

  14. Hagar's Daughter
    May 01, 2009 @ 19:47:00

    I listened to Funkadelics twice. Girl, I had to dance my way out of my constriction, and my feet didn’t fail me.I had fun at your spot. Happy OSF.

  15. Marvalus
    May 01, 2009 @ 21:42:00

    Fab-U-Lous! This could be the basis for the picnic soundtrack! Start here…and then add everything else!Great!

  16. DP
    May 03, 2009 @ 00:08:00

    I didn’t post but am making my rounds to show some love. Great choices as usual. You basically provided a summer/family reunion soundtrack. Nice. Have a great weekend.

  17. bluedreamer27
    May 05, 2009 @ 05:39:00

    of all the motown legends i love diana ross, temptations, dione warwick and jackson five oops i forgot i love stevie too

Leave a Reply

