Old School Friday #63 " My Favorite Soul Train Performance…"

Friday, Friday, Friday!!
The Week Is Finally Over!! I love Fridays because I get to travel all over the web listening to great music posted by my blogging friends for Old School Friday!
Tomorrow is Saturday… I remember as a child watching Soul Train every Saturday morning, And YES I did almost kill myself trying to dance like they did!!! For African Americans that was TV’s best hour on Saturdays (after that the kids all went outside)! I remember the word scramble that spelled out the days artist, I remember Don Cornelius yelling out Love, Peace & Sooouuullllll, at the end of every episode. But the best part of the show undoubtedly had to be the Soul Train Line!! The clothes, the shoes, the moves, the colors and of course the HAIR! Yep those were the days, No bumping & grinding, No gyrating, just plain old fun!
This took me much, much longer than I expected because there were so many AWESOME artists and performances showcased on Soul Train (even if everyone did lip synch!), how can you choose??? I know that my fellow Old Schoolers will give you a dance party so I will start you off smooth…
I am very interested to see what my fellow OSF participants post with this theme.

“My Favorite Soul Train Performance…”
Ms Grapevine and MsMarvalus have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday. To join in the Old School Friday Fun go HERE for guidelines. Here are the other OSF Participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabpprscribeKim

Ms GrapevineQuick

– – KeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe Connoisseur

ReginaMsMarvalusClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevProf. PCInvisible Woman

CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

This first pick is dedicated to my mother. A pre-mother’s day song. One of her all time favorites… (This video is very low please adjust your speakers)
Lean On Me – Melba Moore

http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/xd9tc_marvin-gaye-distant-lover-soul-trai_music&related=0
Marvin Gaye _ Distant lover (soul train)

This next video is not a live performance but the featured couple is killing it!
Do That Breakdown – Rufus Thomas

Sorry I ran over but I would be remiss if I did not include the SOUL TRAIN DANCERS!

Peace, Love and Soouuullllll!

Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hagar's Daughter
    May 08, 2009 @ 03:18:00

    Now that was the hippest trip in the blogosphere.The Stanky Leg ain’t got nothing on The Breakdown – LOL!

  2. The True Urban Queen aka Sharon
    May 08, 2009 @ 05:36:00

    Okay I am going to work with a giggle in me. Do they have Soul Train on DVD? I know it is about the performances but my favorite is the Soul Train line. That couple is getting the breakdown.Okay I didn’t know Melba sang Lean on Me.And Marvin singing Distant Lover is always my favorite. . .love that song.

  3. Revvy Rev
    May 08, 2009 @ 07:17:00

    You got it girl! Marvin’s Distant Lover is it. Love Melba too, and of course the dancers. A great trifecta.

  4. Mema
    May 08, 2009 @ 07:23:00

    Regina, Regina, Regina;Thank you for that trip down memory lane. That was so cool.The clothes, the shoes and the hair, wow, I almost forgot!

  5. PPR_Scribe
    May 08, 2009 @ 08:43:00

    LMAO–that was great! The couple jamming to Rufus Thomas sure were getting it. And those short shorts were killing me! Thank you for featuring the dancers. I said on someone else’s OSF joint how I used the dancers on Soul Train to learn how to dance. My cousins told me once that I “danced like a White girl” and from then on I vowed to learn how to get down appropriately!Happy OSF!

  6. Martin Lindsey.
    May 08, 2009 @ 08:52:00

    Regina, I don’t know how I missed out on Rufus Thomas all these years. Did home boy say “shake your butter bowl”?Haaaa! That is priceless. Great selections as always.

  7. Villager
    May 08, 2009 @ 11:09:00

    Happy OSF! These are great choices! I invite your blog readers to let their minds flow back to the best of Soul Train. peace, Villager

  8. Dori
    May 09, 2009 @ 08:01:00

    Oh, I LOVED Soul Train! Great picks! Happy Weekend! 🙂

  9. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    May 09, 2009 @ 12:33:00

    Hey there Regina!You always have some banging videos for OSF!!Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!LisaHave a great Mother’s Day!

  10. PopArtDiva
    May 09, 2009 @ 12:42:00

    Dear God – Hot pants, lol!!! And I swear the chick in pale pink looked like she was rowing out of a ditch – nope, I did not copy that move, lol.Holy cow, did we really wear skirts and shorts that short???? Oh, yes we did!!!

  11. Hey Shae!
    May 09, 2009 @ 14:58:00

    Hey Regina, Happy OS.. uh weekend. 😉 I’m feeling the Melba Moore choice. I see we were in sync on Marvin… he’s definitely got his place in Soul Train history.

  12. Kevin Andre Elliott
    May 09, 2009 @ 21:48:00

    Those cats groovin’ to Rufus are killing me! I looked through a ton of Soul Train videos and I don’t know how I missed that one.I need that outfit ol’ dude is wearing. LOL!Great picks!

  13. SjP
    May 10, 2009 @ 15:10:00

    Rufus Thomas!!! OMG!!! Loved that Soul Train line (as I trying to get off the floor) lol

  14. zam
    May 10, 2009 @ 18:35:00

    Hi Regina. Just dropping by to say a quick Happy Mother’s Day.*muah* God bless.

  15. cooper
    May 11, 2009 @ 21:57:00

    I’m not at all familiar with Melba Moore, that was awesome.

Leave a Reply

