Movies, Movies, Movies!!!

Movies, movies, movies!! I love movies, but I must admit I am not very fond of movie remakes. Older movies lacked the “explosive” “loud” and “spectacular” over the top cinematography and special effects that today’s movies have. That means that you had to actually rely on a PLOT and the ACTING to actually engage you and make the movie good! Today movies often add, extra blood, extra explosions, and extra sex to sell a movie. It appears that the studios seem to believe that if the movies does not feature sex scenes, blood & guts, and the standard explosions we will not watch them.
For me this is not true. I love the old movies where the femme fatal or the damsel in distress kept her clothes on through out the movie and never once did I have to see breasts! I love movies that keep you guessing about who the killer maybe rather than you figuring it out in the first 20 minutes! I especially hate movies that feature a weird looking Asian character that crawls around in fast and then slow speed for no good reason!!
So as you can tell I love the classics. But what I hate the most is type casting. I hate to see the same actor playing the same types of roles. I like actors who can show some depth and diversity in their choosing of characters and roles.
But anyway I digress!!
I started this whole rant just to say that one of my all time favorite movies is The Taking Of Pelham 123. This movie came out in 1974 and starred Walter Matthau (yep, remember him?), Robert Shaw and Hector Elizondo (this dude has been around forever!). The plot involves a hijacked subway train in NYC. Since I grew up in NYC, and traveled everywhere on the subway this plot was especially interesting because who steals an underground train?!?!
Anyway The Taking Of Pelham 123 is being remade and will star Denzel Washington and John Travolta. Washington appears to be an intellectual, thinking actor and Travolta is usually a convincing crazy, emotional, scary actor! Both of these men have grown into excellent actors so I think this will be interesting to see.

I hope they stay true to the original format…

Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bluedreamer27
    May 15, 2009 @ 11:30:00

    just dropping by here again have a great day and happy blogging

  2. Believer
    May 16, 2009 @ 01:18:00

    I’ve never seen it, but I’ll keep an eye out for the original. Right now, I’m taking a break from movies and keeping busy in the kitchen until bedtime. 😀

Leave a Reply

