Old School Friday #66 " Outside My Box…"

Friday, Friday, Friday!!
The Week was short but it felt long!! I love Fridays because I get to travel all over the web listening to great music posted by my blogging friends for Old School Friday!
Today’s theme is explained as this:

Every once and a while it’s time to try something new and different, the theme of the Week is, “Outside My Box”. It’s time to showcase things that are not normal for you. Things people wouldn’t believe that you’d listen, too…

Now, for me this theme is a little difficult because I think my OSF buddies who have been here since the beginning can agree that have shown them my inside, outside, under and over the box!! I have shown my love for rock music with Queen & Aerosmith. I have shown my love for country with John Denver. I have shown my love for old school with Marvin, Marvin & more Marvin! I have shown my love for political justice/outcry with Gill Scott Heron & Miriam Makeba and I have shown my love for the 90’s with New Edition (I will still fight Marva over Ronnie!). I have even shown my love for Big Band/Swing music with Duke Ellington, Glenn Miller & Tommy Dorsey!

I have posted everything from country, to jazz, to gospel, so I had to dig very deep for something that I have not revealed to my OSFers. And I finally came up with something! When my children were younger we watched a LOT of movies (and we still do!). I still have almost every Disney & Pixar movie every made. A big part of these movie’s charm was the songs/music. So that is my OSF selection, a few of my animated favorites! And yes DO BELIEVE that I still watch animated “kid” movies! No Shame in my Game! I doubt that ANYBODY posted anything like this!!!
I am very interested to see what my fellow OSF participants post with this theme.

“Outside My Box…”
Ms Grapevine and MsMarvalus have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday. To join in the Old School Friday Fun go HERE for guidelines. Here are the other OSF Participants:

Electronic VillageFresh And FabpprscribeKim

Ms GrapevinePirouetteQuick

– – KeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouthJohnThe Connoisseur

ReginaMsMarvalusClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevProf. PCInvisible Woman

CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

Bare Necessities – Jungle Book (movie)

Everybody Wants To Be a Cat – Aristocats (movie)

Have an AWESOME weekend!!!

Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mz.Bria2U
    May 29, 2009 @ 04:02:02

    heyyyyy!! what about Akuta Matata (sp) that means no worriesssss for the rest of our daaaaayyyyys!! I love Lion King and I love ur creative choices!! kudos!

  2. Villager
    May 29, 2009 @ 07:06:53

    Happy OSF! I enjoy animated movies as well. In fact, the Nemo movie is one of my favorites of all time. My kids and I used to sing many of the Lion King songs when they were truly young ‘uns! I invite your blog readers to see my choice for an out of the box artist who resides in my village iPod…peace, Villager

  3. iriegal
    May 29, 2009 @ 11:19:56

    Happy OSF, I love cartoons and animated movies. I think I was the “First” in line to see “Jungle Book” when it first came out..and my kids were grown…lolWonderful choices.Happy OSF

  4. CCGroovy!!!
    May 29, 2009 @ 14:02:31

    I was just watching The JUNGLE BOOK last weekend with my 5-year old niece; which of course gave me a pass to sing 2 of my faves; BARE NECESSITIES & I WANNA BE LIKE U-U-U!!!

  5. Hey Shae!
    May 29, 2009 @ 14:55:03

    Sometimes cartoons and animated movies have the best music. Good find Regina.

  6. MrsGrapevine
    May 29, 2009 @ 16:00:06

    That’s in my box, too, only because I have 2 and 4 year old and their Uncle gave them Jungle Book for Christmas…I remember Aristocats, too. I watched cartoons until I was 23.Happy OSF, I can’t believe we are at #66. Wow 66 weeks straight…and I don’t remember you missing a one.

  7. PPR_Scribe
    May 29, 2009 @ 19:30:22

    LOL–those animated movie tunes sure seem to stick in your head, don’t they.Great choices. Happy OSF!

  8. soulafrodisiac
    May 29, 2009 @ 22:11:15

    *SQUEALING IN DELIGHT!!*I am right there with you! My Mom collected ALL of the Disney movies for my then little sister and brother (who are both now 27 and 18 respectively) and we used to have movie night all the time!!Bare Necessities is one of my favs! Along with “Les Poissons” from The Little Mermaid!Nice to find a Disney partnah!!

  9. SjP
    May 30, 2009 @ 13:15:04

    LOL!!! Now this is just too cute! Never expected this! LOL

  10. clnmike
    May 30, 2009 @ 13:59:22

    Great picks.

  11. PopArtDiva
    May 31, 2009 @ 10:35:08

    What an absolutely EXCELLENT choice for this theme! I too love Disney movies and have for over 50 years and the music is so much a part of the Disney magic!My favorite song of all time is still “When You Wish Upon A Star” sung by “Jiminy Cricket” and Disney has never disappointed with their musical scores in the decades since I first heard that song.Great choice and I wish I would have thought of that instead of going so far outside my box (that I might never get back in!) with POLKA, lol.

  12. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 15:37:58

    Hey Regina!You always know how to go where no one has gone before!!!

  13. Ailurophile
    Jun 02, 2009 @ 06:29:35

    I love the animated movies and cartoons. Nice picks. Sorry that you gave up Entrecard but glad that you had a good time with it. Have a great week 🙂

  14. Hagar's Daughter
    Jun 02, 2009 @ 12:01:37

    “The Aristocats” is one of my favorite movies ever. I know the entire soundtrack and I have no children. My parents took me to the movie theater to see it and I loved it then and I love it now. My favorite character is Thomas O’Malley, the alley cat.

  15. HOMER
    Jun 05, 2009 @ 04:00:10

    cool animated movies!!Hi there! Visiting you! Hope you visit my blog here http://www.iamstayingalive.blogspot.com and please VOTE FOR it at this site http://WWW.SALASWILDTHOUGHTS.BLOGSPOT.COM to be THE FILIPINO BLOG OF THE WEEK.The poll is at the bottom right side bar of the site, just choose IAMSTAYINGALIVE thanks!!

Leave a Reply

