Old School Friday #70 "In Remembrance, Michael Jackson…"

Today’s Old School Friday is dedicated to Michael Joseph Jackson (8/29/58 – 6/25/09).
So without preamble or pretext: Today’s theme is

MICHAEL JACKSON : IN REMEMBRANCE

Ms Grapevine and MsMarvalus have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday. To join in the Old School Friday Fun go HERE for guidelines. Here are the other OSF Participants:

Ms GrapevinePirouetteQuick

– – KeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouth – – The Connoisseur

ReginaMsMarvalusClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevProf. PCInvisible Woman

CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

My 2 favorite solo songs from “young” Michael are off his debut solo album, Got To Be There released in 1972 (Yes, I did have a copy!)

Got To Be There – Michael Jackson

I Wanna Be Where You Are – Michael Jackson (1972)

My favorite “grown” Michael jam from the “Off The Wall” album (Yes, I had that one also!):

Rock With You – Michael Jackson (1979)

http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/x1e2fb_michael-jackson-rock-with-you_music&related=0

Michael Jackson was an awesome talent and a pop music icon and he will be missed. My condolences go out to the Jackson family.
Rest In Peace, Michael Joseph Jackson (1958-2009)

Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MrsGrapevine
    Jun 25, 2009 @ 23:15:08

    I think Rock With You will probably win this round. I don't know what it is about that song, but it has the right amount of every thing.I see you like his softer side more, like me. MJ had so many hits, sorry, I posted four songs.

  2. Marvalus
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 00:02:22

    So darn cute he was!Yeah, I'm thinking Rock With You has #1 for me too…but I love to see him as a little guy, dancing it up.

  3. Hagar's Daughter
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 00:37:25

    His groove will never be dead or gone. RIP MJ he was such a manish little boy.

  4. Dori
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:44:48

    I loved Rock With You too. I used to play that over and over back in the day. I was supposed to see him here in London in July. I hate that I didn't get that chance. He will live on forever in his music. RIP Michael.

  5. blackwomenblowthetrumpet.blogspot.com
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:03:25

    Hi Regina…I am soooo sad just listening to his boyish voice in that video….*loooong sigh*

  6. Keith
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:10:07

    Hey Regina.Some very nice choices. You know, as painful as it all is, I'm starting to think that maybe for Michael this could have been the best thing. Just for the sake of peace, which God knows he needed. That brother was under so much strain at this point I think it just took him out, and probably not too soon. Too soon for us, without a doubt, but not for Michael.

  7. PPR_Scribe
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:51:46

    Thanks for your selections–and for those album covers. Took me back. My first 45 was a J5 song. I cut it out from the back of a cereal box. (smile)I hope he has found peace.

  8. iriegal
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 17:04:49

    Great Choices Regina. I loved GOT TO BE THERE…such a strong voice at that age…RIP MICHAEL

  9. Kim
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 22:05:22

    Michael epitomized star performance from such a young age, that matured and grew better. I like how you seperated periods. Great choices.RIP Michael.

  10. Sandra Carvalho
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 12:09:35

    Hey girl!Hope you're doin' great! ;)I'm not a Michael Jackson fan but I've got to admit he was humongous! Michael Jackson and Madonna will always be the King and the Queen of pop music, no matter what they do with their personal lives.Great choice of musics! :)My fav is "Liberian Girl"…Take care!xoxoxo

  11. Petula
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 18:28:10

    I still can't believe he's dead. Shocking and saddening.

  12. MOMSWEB
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 16:59:42

    Sigh…my boyfriend is gone. I'm glad he's getting MUCH needed rest and peace.

Leave a Reply

