Our Troops, My Son In Afghanistan…Why?

The Army Reserves…
David MMBrave men and women who sign up to protect and serve the people of the united states of America.  They are commissioned to take care of domestic issues like riots, natural disasters, etc.  So why is the National Guard sending troops to Afghanistan, aren’t we loosing enough lives already?
I have always been concerned about the armed forces on foreign soil.  My father was in the army and fought in the Vietnam war.  I remember the effect it had on him and my family.  My father was traumatized, which resulted in him self medicating for years, which resulted in numerous health issues for him, which ultimately resulted in his death in 1999.  Yet and still we keep sending our men and women to foreign territories to fight.
America will always be a target.  Whether it be because of our superiority or our arrogance other countries find fault with us and make us targets. So I understand the need to have protection but when will it be enough?
We have the Army, Navy, Marines. Air Force, and the Navy Seals and not to mention the other covert under cover branches that us regular people will never even know about.  So why is the government sending the army reserves to foreign countries?
You may wonder why this is a big issue for me.  Well last year my son joined the national guard army reserves.
We were told that he would assist with things domestic issues like helping to find and assist evacuees in cases like hurricane Katrina and other natural disasters.
Well, I just found out that my son is being deployed to Afghanistan in September…
I also read this news story on CNN.com Four U.S Troops Killed In Afghanistan.

Four U.S. troops were killed in eastern Afghanistan on Monday in what NATO’s International Security Assistance Force said was a roadside bombing, according to a senior U.S. official there.

U.S. Marines take part in an operation to push Taliban fighters out of Herati, Afghanistan, on Sunday.

U.S. Marines take part in an operation to push Taliban fighters out of Herati, Afghanistan, on Sunday.  The deaths would raise the total of U.S. military fatalities in Afghanistan to 30 in July, the highest monthly toll since the United States launched Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan in October 2001.

As an American the constant killing of our troops pisses me off, as a mother, my son going over frightens and saddens me.  My sincere condolences and prayers go out to the families of ALL that were killed.  May those who perished Rest In Peace…

God bless America, Lord protect my son…



3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Petula
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 18:44:21

    Yes, I pray that he’s kept safe. It must be a hard thing. It’s one thing to have your child – whether adult or not – away from you and it must be an entirely different feeling/worry to have them away and in that type of situation.

  2. Believer
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 01:14:44

    Protect him Lord, “just as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings.”

  3. elle
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 20:02:00

    Regina,

    My son, also in the National Guard, arrived at Bagram Air Base in Afghanistan yesterday. I send prayers and peace to you.

    elle

Leave a Reply

