And The Journey To Deployment Begins…

Well, it is 4:30am and I am finally back in the house, all caffeined up so I will not be sleeping for a while!! We left at 2 am and had to hit Race Trac in the process! Yes, I am all caffeined up on a Cola Blizzard! FABULOUS!!
In case you were wondering why I am up, and where I have been let me tell you.
My son, Military Man as we call him will soon be deployed to Afghanistan.
He will be deployed around the end of the year but in the mean time he has to do months of training. He is nervous, scared and excited about being deployed (Yea, don’t tell him that I threw scared in there!), he is also anxious.
When we got to the base I did snap a picture of the tank that was sitting outside. I was going to snap a few more pictures but EVERYONE in the van was yelling at me because evidently “THE MAN” (Government) does not like pictures. And the folks in the van did not want me dragged away kicking and screaming for any secret “interrogations” so the one picture will have to do!!
Anyway…
So first stop is Austin, TX. We drove him to the National Guard base in Dallas and from there the entire platoon is heading out for 3 weeks of training in Austin. After his 3 weeks he comes back for 2 weeks. Then in September he will be heading to California for 3 months of training and finally after that 3 month training they are being deployed.

Keep us in your prayers…
Peace & Love

Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa C Writes
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 16:24:07

    You guys are absolutely in my prayers! I can only imagine what this whole experience must feel like, I guess sorta like the way you described how your son is feeling. Just hold on to those 3 words I posted to my facebook wall the other day: All Is Well! I have an award waiting for you over at my blog!Sending you Light n Love ~

  2. Quick
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 17:30:04

    I'm will be praying that he will have a safe tour. And i'm glad you didn't get snatched up by the secret service! lol

  3. clnmike
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 20:11:40

    God be with him.

  4. Believer
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 00:05:31

    Godspeed! We trust in God for Military Man's safe return.

  5. MOMSWEB
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:19:37

    Have you stopped crying yet?

  6. Blog Queen
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 04:31:08

    Hi Regina, My son (He's 17) joined the Army National Guard to pay for college. He left the 2nd week in May and is in Ft. Sill, OK. I'm scared to death that he'll be deployed. How do you cope?

Leave a Reply

