One To Watch: Zack Issacs

I am loving being on Facebook because that gives me an instant connection to friends new and old as well as helping me to stay connected to some of my favorite bloggers. One such blogger is Zack. I first encountered Zack over a year ago at his former blog “Go Zack”. He has since moved on to “Issacs PR Blog“. Zack is a promising, young, up & coming, soon to be media mogul from Chicago. A young man who is presently finishing Grad school. Who is not afraid to let God use him, not afraid to take risks and chances and definitely not afraid to voice his opinion via blog posts, ireports or PSA (Public Service Announcements). Zack has had seven of his ireports featured on CNN including one on ending violence on Chicago’s city streets. My buddy Zack posted a PSA for College Students and Young Adults that I think EVERYONE should read!
(Re-posted with permission from
Zachariah Isaacs)

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT:

LOVE YOURSELF BEFORE YOU LIKE OTHERS

When I was 21, I went through the worst school year of my life (2005-2006) when I was a senior at UIC. I was dealing with a ton of personal issues, which included: a height complex, a fear of learning to drive, and name-calling by thugs who visited their girlfriends on campus.

I wanted to fit in just to stop being reminded of how much I didn’t fit in.

But at 25, I know the secret: I AM THE COOLEST PERSON IN THE ROOM. Folks should be seeking me out, just as much as I’m pretending to seek them out.

But you all still want to fit in. That’s why some of you drink, even if you grew up in a house with no access to liquor; That’s why you are having sex (unprotected at that) because you don’t want your friends to question your sexuality. That’s even why some of us cuss when we know much better words in the dictionary which could be even more insulting.

We are afraid to dust our own shoulders off, because we “intern” as professional butt kissers for those who never feel our lips to begin with.

Usually the pretty boy with the good grades, nice clothes, big car, nice job, and great upbringing is the corniest, most insecure dude in the room. He models because he has need for compliments that he didn’t earn. He is usually faking his “swag” when he enters the room to mask his own insecurities. He probably just wants women to like him for who he is, instead of what he looks like.

That real popular girl on campus might have leukemia. (True story from my older sister Rosalyn) She probably dresses really nice because of her health problems. That beautiful hair might be a wig; Those beautiful clothes might cover up surgery scars. That’s why she misses class so much- she’s at doctor’s appointments.

Plus, we all have our roles. Find yours. You don’t have to be the coolest person on campus. Just strive for being the coolest friend in your inner circle and YOU WILL BE if you have true friends.

Ask God to accept you before others. And Jeremiah 29:11 already tells us that he does.

MUCH LOVE!

There you have it! From the heart, mind and mouth of Zack Issacs! This guy is one to watch and I am proud to know him!

Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gill
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 00:02:59

    Hi ReginaI am finally catching up on all my favourite blogs. Haven't been blogging much, life keeps on getting in the way! It was lovely to read all the blog posts I've missed on your blog. Your son is getting deployed – wow, that must be such an emotional place for you all to be in! He's done good hasn't he! And to read about your other son – you have raised two fine young men, you must be so proud! And as for the young man who wrote this piece – it gives me hope for the future to know that in this crazy world we live in there are still young people with their heads in the right place. Thanks for sharing.

  2. clnmike
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 20:06:53

    Thats inspirational.

Leave a Reply

