Old School Friday #79 "Songs That People Would Be Surprised I Know …"

Time for Old School Friday! The time of the week when I get to roam around the Internet and listen to good music! I LOVE MUSIC!! So Old School Friday is the height of my week. Today’s theme is interesting because I think I have shown my total diversity previously and I don’t know what people would be surprised to know I listen to. So, I had to work a little harder for this one! I am surr that my selections will not surprise anyone, it’s just another side of Me!!
Today’s Old School Friday Theme is:

Songs That People Would Be Surprised I Know

Ms Grapevine and MsMarvalus have teamed up to create a meme titled Old School Friday. To join in the Old School Friday Fun go HERE for guidelines. Here are the other OSF Participants:

Electronic VillagePampprscribe

Ms GrapevinePirouetteQuick

MartyKeviniriegalMahogany Hagar’s DaughterLisa C

Chocl8t DPDallassouth – – The Connoisseur

ReginaMsMarvalusClnmikeVivrant Thing

AJ SharonRevvyRevProf. PCInvisible Woman

CooperSJPBriaBklynQueen 86Hey Shae

From the BattlefieldThembi D SpotMalcolm

Pop Art DivaPjazzyparMsLadyDeborah

When relaxing I like to listen to my classical CD’s.
Canon In D Major – (Pachelbel) London Symphony Orchestra

To reminisce about my summers in Ashland, Pennsylvania I play…
Benny and the Jets – Elton John



Please visit my other blog:
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MrsGrapevine
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 08:12:18

    You are going to make me cry Pachelbel is our graduation song from High School. I went to Hockaday which is an all girl school. We had beautiful white dresses designed by Vera Wang with huge Southern white hats decorated with flowers. We marched to this song. It was more like a wedding than graduation, but it was so beautiful.

  2. MrsGrapevine
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 08:13:52

    I forgot about Benny and the Jets, I got stuck in nostalgia. This is the best piano intro ever written, and it has been sampled so many times, including Mary J Bilge. Great picks.

  3. Blog Queen
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 08:39:07

    I love Canon in D. It's so soothing. I have a whole playlist of relaxing classical music I often listen to right before I go to sleep.

  4. Keith
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 11:07:31

    Regina these are great, GREAT choices. Benny and the Jets takes me back to high school days (daze..?) and that was one of my favorite songs back in the day. Me and my best buddy used to have a ball singing that song loud whenever we were hanging out. Especially if controlled substances were involved…As for that classical number, I never knew who the composer was, but I've definitely heard the song a number of times. My mother was a classical pianist. Absolutely beautiful song.Happy OSF!

  5. iriegal
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 11:53:54

    Girl, you really surprised me with the Classical music choice. Wow, you are right I never knew..lolI was an avid Elton John fan (you know back in the day when black folks was only on AM at the end of the dial)GREAT SONG CHOICES..HAPPY OSF

  6. Kim
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 21:29:30

    Great choices. I can no longer hear Canon In D without thinking of Vitamin C and that "as we go on, we remember " song she had. As cheesy as it was, that song would have me in tears missing the kids I spent 9 years with after I entered high school. Benny and the Jets is also great. Really one of the best scenes in 27 dresses is because of these songs.

  7. Marvalus
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 22:08:38

    LOL @ Keith and "controlled substances"!I've even got my son turned onto Elton John…but the classical? I could never do it…at least not without the proper "controlled substances"…LOL…

  8. soulafrodisiac
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 22:48:43

    Okay, you got me on the orchestral music 🙂 But I do know Elton! lolHappy OSF!

  9. Martin Lindsey.
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 21:03:26

    I think you taught all of us something with the Pachelbel selection. I never knew the name of it either.Bennie and the Jets speaks for itself as one of my favorite E.J. cuts.Great picks. Happy OSF.P.S.: I went a little country this week.

  10. Quick
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 13:45:05

    i love classical music; it helps me be productive for some reason-

Leave a Reply

