My Heart Is Heavy, I Have Been Watching The News.

I have not blogged here since August 5th. I have made a decision to be more regular with this blog and my other blog “Regina’s Family Seasons“.

This blog was originally set up for me to just talk about the news, but alas it was depressing me. I am going to dig a little deeper after tonight’s post to find some news that is uplifting and positive.
But for tonight my heart is heavy…
I am highlighting and linking to 5 news stories that have me on my knees crying out to the Father.

  1. Derrion Albert 16 year old honors student beaten to death on the way home from a Chicago school. Video of Derrion Albert’s beating HERE.Derrion Albert
  2. China Arnold, 28 years old found guilty of killing her 1 month old baby Parris Talley.  The drunken China Arnold allegedly put the baby in the microwave and cooked her for more than 2 minutes.460-china-arnold_792850c
  3. 240 Dead in Philippines flooding.  Bodies are still being discovered amongst all of the devastation of last weeks floods in Manila.philippian flood
  4. According to Fox News,  a mother Larhonda Marie McCall was arrested in Oklahoma City for allegedly abusing and holding her 14-year-old son captive, often in a closet for 4 1/2 years.MUG-McCall
  5. McKenzie Phillips former child star of the sitcom “One Day At A Time”  comes clean about a drug induced, molestation turned consensual, incestuous sexual relationship with her father.  Her father was famed singer/musician John Phillips of the 60’s pop group Mamas and Papas.  McKenzie’s stepmother, Michelle Phillips also of the Mamas and Papas is denying the story, but McKenzie’s younger sister Bijou Phillips (also an actress) says she knew about it.  Now whether this “relationship” started out as abuse/molestation and then over the years turned into a consensual relationship only they know.  The fact that her father not only introduced her to drugs BUT also supplied her with drugs; and the fact that her father repeatedly had sexual relations with her, for a period of 10 years is my issue.  Our jobs as parents is to love, protect, nurture and train up a child.  What this “parent” did was beyond disgusting, beyond despicable, beyond horrific.  There are no words for this atrocity.  I pray that she can move beyond the media backlash and finally move on with her life.one day at a time

    So as you can see the news is definitely weighing on my heart.  As I sit here typing this post, I look up at my daughter across the room, watching television, as she rubs her belly perhaps soothing the child inside.  I am thinking what kind of world are you about to enter into little one?  What lies in wait for you?  The harder it gets to pray means the more needed the prayers are…

    My heart is heavy…

    11 Comments (+add yours?)

    1. Trackback: My Heart Is Heavy, I Have Been Watching The News. You Won't … « CelebrityTwitterGossip.com
    2. James
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 09:19:14

      I don’t care how old these kids are they all deserve to be locked up for the rest of their lives with no parole. Kids like these do not rehabilitate. They have a violent streak and that will never change. I will gladly pay extra taxes to build more prisons if I knew we would lock these thugs up for life.

    3. regina
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 09:27:33

      James, Thanks for the visit & comment!
      I definitely understand the emotion and the sentiment, I’m just not sure the answer is prison. The prison system is not effective at rehabilitating hence the vast number of repeat offenders. At this point I don’t know what would work for these youth. Classes, programs and other forms of recreation activities have not worked. Some parents are at the end of their rope or scared of these kids. What to do, what to do…

    4. writingmomma
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 09:30:20

      I screamed and cried watching the video of another young black youth killed for no reason. This is an ongoing thing in our country and abroad. Why must we destroy one another? Blacks tearing down blacks. This sickens me. Our ancestors faught too hard a fight for us to turn on one another. We should be creating businesses and jobs for our young. We should be bringing them hope instead of more dispare.
      I am not just angry at the youth, I am angry at our “so-called” black leaders. These are people that have elevated themselves financially on the backs of other blacks. Then they choose to turn their backs when crisis arise. I too was one that loaded up the collection plate when it came around each Sunday. Only to have the preacher tell me they can’t help me when my lights were getting ready to be turned off. Where were the preachers and leaders when I was a child out there with no place to lay my head? They too should be ashamed, ashamed of themselves. They have let God’s people down. Where are the Jesse’s, the Malcomes, the Martins of our day. They are living in the suburbs, too scared to look a gang member in the face and lead him down the path of righteousness. They can’t go to the housing projects and lead the falling youth up the hill of success. They are all MIA! Yes, I’m angry. I am very angry at a people that talk the talk, but are afraid to truly walk the walk. No, I am not afraid to go against the gangmember. No, I am not afraid to speak the truth. It is better to lose my life for Christ, then to gain it for this world. I don’t just preach it, I live it! But, who am I. I don’t have the big bank account to travel from city to city to teach these people the truth. I am just a lowly servant trying to tell everybody, about somebody, that can save anybody.

    5. regina
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 09:42:46

      Writingmomma, thanks for the visit & the comment! As a parent of 5, I hear you! I definitely agree that the upwardly mobile and influential do not appear to be doing anything to give back to the communities, or they are not doing enough. This generation does not have the leaders and role models that we had. The teaching is up to us as parents, but what about those who do not have strong, loving, teaching, fearless parents like us? What about the parents that were never taught to be a “PARENT”?
      If we can reach just one or two of these youth gone wild it would make a small difference, but what about the millions of youth that we don’t reach?

      Stay Blessed, and keep fighting!

    6. mema
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 09:53:45

      We have young men on the front lines overseas who have a desire to protect, who are fighting for their lives; and we have young men on the street, willfully and indiscriminately taking lives. What’s wrong with this picture?

      Come Lord Jesus, for we have lost control and we need you.

    7. bob
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 11:06:54

      Legalize concealed carry for honors students. An honor student should have the right and the ability to defend themselves against an attack that looks like something from the streets of Baghdad.

    8. Mike M. Houston Texas
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 13:42:05

      I feel for the kid and the parents. This act was horrendous. Maybe if we opened our eyes to the truth and quit screaming racism at every turn we could really make some progress here. Where is the NAACP at? Why dont they spend some precious millions on fixing stuff like this instead of screaming racsim on every corner. Where is the “teachable momemt” in this? There isnt one. NAACP spend the money where it is really needed.

    9. Believer
      Oct 01, 2009 @ 23:59:23

      I can’t watch the news either, and the real life tragedies you have linked above are the reasons why.

    10. Trackback: 15-Year Old Boy Set On Fire By His Peers… « You Won’t Believe This…
    11. don
      Nov 02, 2009 @ 19:08:09

      She was having sex with her father? My Lord.

    Leave a Reply

