Responsible Parenting 101 – Take Child To A Bar!

I was trolling the CNN website as I often do when I am bored, and I came across this news article. But before I continue on with this post let me preface it by saying I am a mother of 5 and a grandmother of 2 so I know a thing or two about children. I also used to be a heavy “recreational” drinker, so I know a thing or two about clubs, hanging out and bars. Even years ago when I had parties and the liquor was flowing in abundance I made sure that the kids were in their rooms NOT just hanging around with me and my friends as we drank! So for MY PERSONAL OPINION I COULD NOT AND WOULD NOT take any child of mine or anyone Else’s into a bar! That having been said let’s get on to this news article…

It appears that there is actually a DEBATE going on about whether or not parents should take their children into bars with them. People are saying that they go early in the day before the crowd gets there and they are watching their child as they drink. These parents see nothing wrong with it and according to CNN the parents say that,

“as long as they’re responsible and their kids behave, they deserve the right to grab a quick drink with friends. And, they might add, in a place like New York — where the cost of baby sitters can be prohibitive and tight living quarters can make hosting guests at home difficult — they need places to hang out, too.”

But also according to CNN the drinkers are saying,

“Single hipsters and others without (and sometimes with) kids complain about being asked to watch their language, to not smoke outdoors near strollers and to keep their drunk friends under control so as not to scare the little ones. They don’t want to feel pressure to play peekaboo.”

Now, I do understand that as a single parent you can get lonely. I worked from home doing childcare for a few years so I know that after a while you have GOT to get some kind of adult stimulation and interaction or you will literally loose your mind! Yes, I understand BUT are you telling me that you can not find a sitter for even 1-2 hours while you go have a drink?? SERIOUSLY!?! NO ONE!?! Well than maybe you should stop drinking!

I am MAD AS HELL that this is even a debate! Why would a parent want to take their child into a bar!! We are not talking about a JUICE BAR but an actual bar where cursing, drinking of liquor, and maybe even smoking goes on, maybe an occasional bar room brawl!! And guess what even if you go early, before 7pm or about 4pm for happy hour IT IS STILL A BAR!!!
Read the entire story HERE!
PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, Tell me what is YOUR honest opinion of this??

Because mine is UNBELIEVABLE!!!

Please visit my other spots:
http://www.youravon.com/jseaman
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/
http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. msladydeborah
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 21:00:10

    I read the same story while having my a.m. cup of coffee. It seems to me that someone needs to realize that there is supposed to be a division between adult and child orientated activities. A bar is a place for adults to drink and socalize. This really is a moot point in my mind. I would not patronize a bar that had children in it. When I was hanging out in the clubs I didn't want the company of little people.This is one of those trends that needs to be nipped in the bud before it begins to seem like the right thing to do.

  2. collin
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 03:01:32

    I liked the post. Quite entertaining.Lets have some more fun. Take the Parenting Style Test and find out your Parenting Quotient. I have taken the test and enjoyed a lot. Hope u too will like it. Have Fun!!

  3. mema
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 08:30:08

    Maybe they couldn't find babysitters because they weren't supposed to be out drinking. So now the question shifts from whether or not to take the kids; to whether or not you should be out there at all? Hmmmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

