Health Care Reform Bill Signed And 13 States React…

Wow! What a day! Today was a historic moment because President Barack Obama signed the health care reform bill.  Maybe now MILLIONS of uninsured people in the United States can get health care.  I include myself in that number because I am currently uninsured.  Why? you may ask??  Because I was laid of and being unemployed means no health insurance, but before  I was laid off I still had no insurance.  Why?  Because in my job as an Interim Executive Director of a small non-profit run by a church I was not offered health insurance because my position was INTERIM!  Since I was not a permanent employee the church that founded and funded the non-profit said they could not afford to offer me health care.  So I fell in between the cracks, in the gray areas.  I had a pretty good job which paid me pretty good money BUT not good enough to afford health insurance on my own and since I was not a permanent employee the church was not offering me any.  I am now self-employed BUT still unable to afford coverage…

My daughter is also among the uninsured.  Why? Because she is 24 years old and just graduated from college and is job searching.  So she also falls in the gray area of the uninsured.

But today a bill was signed into law that may help us both get some sort of coverage!

So, after all the jubilee over the signing (by supporters) and after all the cursing and rhetoric (by detractors) guess what else happened???  According to the Associated Press (check out the video HERE) 7 minutes after Mr. President signed the bill, Attorney Generals from 13 STATES filed a law suit against the federal government saying that the health care overhaul is UNCONSTITUTIONAL! But being uninsured (not by choice but by circumstance) is just fine with them!  WTH! And Yes, the state that I live in “Good Ole Texas” is one of those 13 states that filed suit.  God Help Us…

~SMDH~

I also blogged about today’s Historic event at Regina’s Family Seasons, check it out!

President Obama Signs Health Care Reform Bill…

This morning I watched the live streaming of the President of the United States sign the health care reform bill into law! It was pretty exciting to witness such a historical moment in United States history. Read about it and watch the video at CNN.com. I know people have there own thoughts, opinions and feelings about this and that is quite all right. In United States of America we have freedom of speech which is a good thing. However the sheer ignorance of some people on the left AND the right is appalling. I can not understand why people can not just agree to disagree, call it a day and then go on about their business. Why must every political discussion or debate end up with name calling and insults? Some of the comments I read while watching the live feed were ridiculous!

Some people assume that if you do not have health care it is because you do not want health care. Really?? That is a pretty ignorant assumption. Others assume that if you do not have health care it is because you are to lazy to get a job and pay for your own health care. Hmmm, that one is ignorant too! Guess what I DO NOT have health care and it is not because I do not want health care or because I want a free ride or because I am lazy and cheap. I had a good job which paid pretty good money, BUT the pay was not good enough to buy my own health care, BUT the pay was not low enough to qualify for any sort of assisted health care. I had another job which paid an okay salary but since it was an INTERIM position and not permanent I could not get health coverage through the company. Oh, then I got laid off, so yes, you guessed it STILL no health coverage. And unemployment does not cover health care. Now I am self-employed and STILL can not afford health care.

I have a daughter who just graduated college! YAAAYYYY! But, she is a college graduate, searching for a job and she has NO health coverage! So as you can see all types of people have all types of issues. It is sheer ignorance to generalize EVERYONE and presume that you know what their issues are, when you do not!
Employed or Unemployed; Sick or Healthy; Insured or Uninsured; This is OUR AMERICA! It needs to work and be livable for ALL of us! That is why watching the President of the United States sign a health care reform bill was so important! It may not be perfect, it may not work for everyone, but at least it shows that he is willing to work on it.
This is AMERICA, everyone will not get what they want BUT maybe we can at least get what we need!

Please visit my other spots:
http://www.youravon.com/jseaman
https://reginathinks.wordpress.com/
http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/