Baby Accidentally Drinks Alcohol

My son was asking me if I heard about this story this morning and I had not, but then when I logged on to the computer it was one of the top stories on CNN.com. Read the story HERE.

As seen on CNN.com,

(CNN) — A 15-month-old was hospitalized after a behind-the-bar mix-up at a Michigan Applebee’s restaurant that left the toddler sipping alcohol instead of apple juice.

Police were called to the Madison Heights restaurant on Friday evening after the parents of Dominic Wilson Jr. noticed their son acting strange during a family dinner.

“He was saying ‘hi’ and ‘bye’ to the walls,” said Wilson’s mother, Taylor Dill-Reese, 18. “He laid his head down like he was sleepy, then woke up and got really hyper.”

At first, Dill-Reese blamed his odd behavior on lack of sleep. But at the end of the meal, she said Wilson’s father was stunned by what he tasted after taking a sip of his son’s juice.

The juice was an alcoholic concoction that was stored in a mislabeled container, according to a Madison Heights Police Department news release.

“The container was apple juice but it had margarita mix in it,” Dill-Reese said.

Wilson was immediately rushed to the hospital, where his blood alcohol content was measured at 0.10, Dill-Reese said.

“They said if he had drank that whole cup he would have died,” she said, adding that she and her family will never return to the eatery.

“It was unreal,” she said. “You don’t expect to go to a family restaurant, and your 15-month-old gets served alcohol.”

Dill-Reese said the child is doing OK but they are taking him to see a doctor because he’s “not eating like he used to.”

Dill-Reese said she and her boyfriend — both of whom are under 21 and not legally allowed to drink — were both drinking smoothies during the meal.

“Obviously any situation like this is unacceptable,” Applebee’s officials said in a statement. “We are working with local authorities and conducting our own investigation to assess exactly what happened.”

Police have deemed the incident an accident.

Now I understand that both parents are young, but if it were me I think I would be sitting in a lawyer’s office right about now.  I understand it was an accident but, accidents do not just happen they are caused!

WHAT WOULD YOU DO??

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shae
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 18:41:01

    I would have been at the lawyer’s office first thing this morning. That’s crazy. I’m glad the baby is OK.

  2. easylifestyles
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 01:24:42

    Another excellent post thanks for sharing! I enjoy reading your blog very much. Spending time with my family is something I love to do.

    Fun Family Activities

  3. pbus1
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 08:01:11

    Hi Regina,

    I am a new visitor to your blog. Wow, what an opening story! I agree with you! This is absolutely unacceptable! Hopefully, the parents of the couple will give them sound advice! They should definitely be seeing a lawyer right about now! This is not an incident which should be swept under the rug! No apologies from the establishment would suffice! If it happened to them, who knows how many times it has happened to other children, or could happen to others in the future?

    I stumbled across your tweets earlier, and liked what you had to say. That is how I found my way here. May God bless you, and keep you in His care! I will definitely bookmark your blog.

    Paulette

  4. http://Www.Hiswordevangelized.com/2011/02/10-day-battle-to-subdue-mind-day-1.html
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 04:18:30

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so
    much about this, like you wrote the book in it or
    something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but
    other than that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

  5. athletic trainer education schools
    Jun 30, 2013 @ 03:00:38

    This article gives clear idea in support of the new visitors of blogging, that really how to do blogging and
    site-building.

  6. weblink
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 05:25:01

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get
    actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  7. it jobs work from home
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 02:56:02

    Hi colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you want to say concerning this
    article, in my view its genuinely awesome designed for me.

  8. Source
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 19:58:51

    Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless
    I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe
    guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My website covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I
    think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel
    free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Terrific blog by the way!

  9. Ruth
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 23:04:44

    Would sue the Applebee’s! Both parents are under 21 and can’t drink so how in the word did the kid get alcohol on his drink? Sounds to me someone tried to harm the baby

  10. Tatiana
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 19:18:01

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and
    I hope you write again very soon!

  11. Trinidad
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 17:21:21

    Hey There. I found your weblog using msn. This is an extremely smartly written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  12. Krishna Katha
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 10:12:38

    I think you have a great page here… today was my first time coming here.. I just happened to find it doing a google search. anyway, good post.. I’ll be bookmarking this page for sure.

Leave a Reply

